We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buswells Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Merrion Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Alex(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveller rating
791
597
157
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
597
157
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrinity collegegrafton streetgreat locationirish parliamentleinster housenational librarygovernment buildingscharming hotelquiet streettriple roomwithin walking distancetemple barpublic areasrooms are smallthree nightscentral locationbar food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you like the type of hotel where you can play badminton in your bathroom, then this isn't for you. If you like a bit of Georgian charm, with a real old Dublin feel, then give it a go. It's a really handy place and has nearby parking. The bar is a warm and friendly place and the dining room is lovely. We had a table looking out at the National Museum on Kildare Street and is was very pleasant. Breakfast is cooked to order, rather than congealing in a buffet and was also very good. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Peter G,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us recently and loved the view of the National Museum.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

An old hotel that could do with some serious upgrading. The room at the head of the stairs is fine for a single but very cramped for a couple. If we had had more than two carry-ons, we would have been in more trouble. The safe at the bottom of the open, solitary wardrobe requires you to get down on your hands and knees to operate it. On top of it us the coffee/tea supplies, under your hanging clothes. The hot water took literal minutes to reach the room.
On the plus side, the breakfast was tasty; the group dinner was good; the bed was comfortable; and the location in downtown Dublin can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Carrie808,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us earlier this month. We have taken on board your comments regarding the facilities in your room.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your welcome dinner in Trumans Restaurant with your group and that you found our location so great for your stay.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around Ireland and had a pleasant journey home.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very good location, but the hotel is one of the older ones in Dublin. It was originally a large home so the rooms are very different and sometimes difficult to reach. We had to go through the dining room to get to the stairs nearest our room, and go up and then down again. Not so convenient. The room was also small, although the furnishings were nice and the bathroom was modern. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was quite good. And the restaurant in the hotel also serves good bar food. Reasonable value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Don't get Room 400! You need a GPS to find it and lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MessaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear MessaM,

Thank you for taking the time to your review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you found our location just right for you and our staff so helpful.

It is disappointing to read that your room was not as you expected. As an older building and not a purpose built hotel, one of the unique features of Buswells is that all rooms are different.
I would hope that should you return for another stay, we will ensure you have a more accessible room.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really enjoyed Buswells. I loved the décor and atmosphere of place. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and although the triple bedroom was snug, it was still comfortable. The location was perfect--it was walking distance to so many things and close to many buses. I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jimhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Jimhere,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us last month. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location so perfect.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful hotel with amazing location for exploring Dublin. With Mary and Vicki at the front desk and Aiden in the bar, we received excellent information about all things Irish. Comfortable, updated and quiet - it exceeded our expectations. Free WiFi, too. This lovely hotel has it all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Suzanne H,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us and our staff were able to give you some great information.

We trust you had a pleasant journey home and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews