We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming georgian hotel”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #22 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming georgian hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Amazing location, take Aircoach €8.50 from airport to Kildare St stop & hotel is just across the St. Great bar & restaurant ; thoughtful & considerate staff, especially Fionoula at reception. Wonderful breakfast, be sure to get it included w your room... otherwise it's €17pp. Only drawback no a/c, which could be a factor IF it's hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Terri G,

Thank you for lovely review following your stay with us last month. It is a pleasure to read now much you enjoyed your stay and made use of our great location near the AirCoach stop.

I hope you had a pleasant journey back to Florida and we look forward to welcoming you to Buswells on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    548
    147
    35
    14
See reviews for
302
619
89
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blocked
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Traditional style, impecable location, Fireplace in the lobby! Spacious rooms close to the best of Dublin. upholstry needs a little attention. Pub downstairs is really oldschool! Nice to have hot chocolate and biscuits in the room. Great value.

Room Tip: Stairs are nearby for quick daily excursions, but elevator available from lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Brenda Q,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us last year. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I can advise that our reception area was refurbished earlier this year with all upholstery changed.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here two separate times last month on a Rick Steve's tour. Both times our rooms were clausterphobically small. So small that we could not unload our two small carry on suitcases and walk around the room at the same time. I am used to small rooms in older hotels in bigger European cities, but this was closet sized and reminded me of a jail cell (a 'charming' jail cell.)
The Good:
-The lobby, restaurant and public areas were very nice and comfortable.
-We arrived early for check in and were provided complimentary tea in the dining room while we waited for our rooms to be ready. Very good customer service in general.
-Breakfast in the restaurant was plentiful and decent quality with very good service.
-Bottled water was provided for drinking in the rooms.
-Location of the hotel is great for sightseeing and getting around Dublin.
The Less Good:
-It was hard to get past the tiny size of the rooms that we had. I offered to pay more for a larger room but was told that there was no availability. Apparently, they do have comfortable sized rooms in their inventory, but we were not lucky enough to get one of those on either try. On the plus side, both rooms were faultlessly clean.

Would we stay here again? No.

Room Tip: I wish I knew....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear MarkOrmondBeach,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stays with us recently at Buswells Hotel.
It is disappointing to read that your room was not as you expected. As an older building and not a purpose built hotel, one of the unique features of Buswells is that all rooms are different.
It is great to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and our great location.

I would hope that should you return for another stay, we will ensure you have a larger room.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was just here with 20 of my family members from the states for my son's wedding. We couldn't have been happier to see that the old charm still exists!! The hotel is warm, friendly, clean and locatation is spectacular!! Walking distance to Grafton, temple bar, Trinity college, guiness brewery, Jameson distillery!!! What more can you want. When we were able to get a sandwhich at 2 am after late night party I was sold!! You will love it!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear MCPayme,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us last month. I am delighted that you and your family all enjoyed your stay so much for your son's wedding. Our location is so perfect for guests as we are so central and guests can see so many of our lovely cities attractions.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First - loved our dinner server who confirmed my story that in hotels we do, in fact, use blowtorches to caramelize the sugar on crème brulee. I digress...If you aren't driving, you can hop the Aircoach from the the airport and take the bus that goes to Leopardstown - you want the Kildare Street stop - the hotel is just across the street. My sister, friend and I had a dormer style room up on the 2nd or 3rd floor - it was perfect for us. The hotel has lots of historical décor, the bar and dining room feel very formal, but you don't have to be. A modest continental breakfast is available in the morning, if your rate has the full Irish breakfast, you can order a hot entrée. I can't speak to the cost as this stay was a part of our Ireland tour (a small tour with family and friends). The hotel is within walking distance to Merrion Square park, the National Museum of Ireland - Archeology, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerForGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear TravelerForGood,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor of your stay with us last month. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, from our great location to quaint style and even finding out some of our 'trade' secrets.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Ireland tour and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived from the states well before check in time and the manager whisked us over to the lounge and fed us tea and toast. Just what we needed! And the room was lovely. Nice bed, terrific bathroom. Very stylish, comfy and quiet. We slept with windows wide open. The location is convenient to Grafton St. With all its pubs, shops, and cafés. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 225 is a good non smoking room. No view, but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Amanda B,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us earlier this month. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and all the great attractions so near the hotel.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We paid approx 180 euros to stay overnight in a triple room (3rd floor) with breakfast. The staff, without exception, were wonderful: attentive, friendly, helpful. The room however, was nowhere near worth the rate charged. The walls were paper thin, to the extent that the couple next door who were talking (loudly, but still just talking) woke me up 3 times during the night and the noise from the generator outside the window went on from the early hours into the evening. There was a cable hanging over the window and the 'view' was ..... well, metal pipes and generators. The room was clean but very shabby. The wallpaper was scuffed, torn and grubby. There was a frayed, ugly TV wire-covering in dire need of replacing, a cracked socket in the bathroom and the double-bed creaked when you sat on it as if it was about to give way any second. Overall, feel of the room was 'tired' and 'worn out'. Breakfast was nothing to shout about (although again, the staff were brilliant). Little choice for the continental breakfast and stale pastries ... and no hash browns or other potato products on the cooked breakfast. It would be so easy to smarten the place up a bit - clean the mucky 'phone in the lift for a start? Overall, not worth the money and not worthy of the staff employed there. Went for my birthday, hugely disappointing experience, won't return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Gemmaj_30,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us recently. It is disappointing to read that you were less than satisfied with your stay.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the room you stayed in and we have rectified the issues and have replaced the phone in the lift.
As a city centre hotel it is not possible to have a view from all the rooms. Our central location and service provided by a genuinely warm and attentive staff does compensate for a diminished view.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to restore your faith in Buswells Hotel. You might contact me personally in advance so that I may afford you my personal attention.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookAssist, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing