We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had stayed here 20 years ago but was so jet-lagged, I barely remembered it. Oddly, it seemed not to have changed much in 20 years from what little I could remember. This hotel is in great need of some modernization. Let's just say the bathroom plumbing left much to be desired. The rooms are tiny and like someone else said, the "view" from our room was pretty ghastly. They need new beds. Ours was not comfortable. Overpriced for the actual room and hotel itself. There are two things that save Buswell's from getting a really bad review. 1) The staff was really wonderful. They were so nice and so willing to do whatever they could to accommodate us. It's hard not to like a hotel where the people are so kind and friendly. 2) It's a phenomenal location. Walking distance to all the great sites - Trinity College (Book of Kells), St. Stephen's Square, Grafton Street, Temple Bar, the museums, etc. If you are someone who really needs a nice room with great amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you just want to be out all day exploring Dublin and just have a room to crash in, then Buswell's will accommodate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcapnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Barcapnett,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us recently at Buswells Hotel.
It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with our fantastic location and our friendly staff were on hand to assist you. It is disappointing to read that your room was not as you expected. As an older building, one of the unique features of Buswells is that all rooms are different is size.
I hope that should you return to Dublin, you would consider Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    527
    142
    34
    14
See reviews for
293
587
87
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My group of 25 stayed at Buswell's while touring Ireland. It is a lovely boutique hotel with a large bar area and nice restaurant that served us an exceptional Irish Breakfast each morning. This hotel is at a great location in Dublin. We walked to many historical sights, restaurants and stores for shopping. The staff were very kind and helpful. I plan on staying at Buswell's again.
Susan B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Susan B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you and your group enjoyed your stay at Buswells and found our location so perfect for your sightseeing and shopping.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

To be fair, the Staff are great for the most part. Front desk and Restaurant very good housekeeping questionable. We stayed in room 224 frost 2 nights of our honeymoon - don't stay in that room! Loud as all h---l.
Got in on a Saturday. We travelled overnight from NYC and then went all over the city. Buswells is a great location! We decided to sleep in on Sunday - I mean SLEEP IN! Housekeeping knocked on our door (do not disturb sign up and all) and I yelled we are not ready. Then they called and said the front desk said he has to change towels and give us fresh water - I mean really!
Our room was right next to a very loud fan or some thing that ran until about 1AM and that started again around 7AM.
It is in a great location and the service for the most part was great, but the room was small and noisy. All and all for our first honeymoon night in Dublin we were not happy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hockeygump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Hockeygump,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us recently. I am disappointed to read you were less than happy with the room allocated to you.
I apologise for the early morning disturbance by our housekeeping staff which was entirely our fault - they were sent to the wrong room with additional towels & water.
It is great to read that you found our location so great.

I would hope that you would come and stay again on your next visit and I can assure you we will restore your faith in Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A group of 12 of us stayed here at the weekend. Its a perfect location, just a stones throw away from Grafton Street. Bedrooms had everything you need and very clean. The staff were really pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roscaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Roscaro,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us at Buswells Hotel recently. We are delighted to read how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

In Dublin, location is the most important and Buswells has it. Fantastic location near the Nat'l Museum (Archaeology), St. Stephen's Green and Trinity College. An easy walk to Temple Bar, etc. Staff was amazing, especially upon our arrival at 6:30 am. They welcomed us to rest in the lounge, and we did -- for several hours. They were able to check us in early, and were absolutely wonderful to our daughter.

The room was a bit small, but we had a triple so the double rooms might be more roomy. The room had all we needed, including a nice shower and comfortable beds.

I'd stay at Buswells again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jason K,

Thank you for taking the time to your review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you found our location just right for you and our staff so helpful.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. Due to the location of the hotel, we were expecting a small room. We were very surprised that the room was of nice size. It included the bed, a small table and 2 chairs and an extra chair for seating. The bathroom was of decent size as well. The room was clean. The receptionist was helpful with any questions we had. the breakfast consisted of normal continental breakfast goodies along with fresh pastries, meat and cheese as well as anything of the hot food menu.

The location was perfect for us and no car was needed to get around. There was no A/C but it was not needed as the windows all opened.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JC-2kids,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us at Buswells Hotel last month. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you had a pleasant flight home and we look forward to welcoming you should you return to Dublin again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel within walking distance of all the main attractions. Our room had everything we could possibly need and the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in a morning!! The hotel had a restaurant and bar with very reasonable prices and the staff were fantastic,nothing too much trouble. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us last month and made use of our facilities.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing