We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeson Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leeson Inn Downtown
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Sheffield
1 review
“Cheap hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

So apart from a slightly weird smell in the entrance / corridors, this is a perfect low budget hotel!

We stayed for three nights in a 3 bed room and after reading all the reviews was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness (Cleaned every day!), great shower and space!

Yes this is no 4 star hotel... but its definitely very good value for the price we paid! - I plan to be checking back in next year for the Dublin Web Summit!

Room Tip: We had a three bed room on the ground floor - It was quiet and clean with a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    70
    86
    44
    92
See reviews for
22
135
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Small old-fashion hotel not far from the center of Dublin. Affordable prices but comfort are minimized. Good for the travellers who are not spending so much time inside and prefer to see the city. Room was clean but the view was on the roof. The room was also dark inside and with a smell of wetness. The other not comforting thing is noise, you can hear all your neighbors and the floor was also noisy with its creaked floorboards.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildCrazyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Leeson Inn has one good thing going for it and that is location. While it sits in a central gentrified area that is where it's charm ends. I can only commend the staff for getting through a day of work in such a miserable excuse for 'Inn' without wanting to throw an adagio for strings and end it all.

If you fancy yourself a character in a Dicken's novel or would like to do some method acting for a role as a downtrodden scullery maid you might want to apply for a job, but otherwise I suggest you carefully review other bed and breakfast options in Dublin which are priced in the same region(not that this place includes breakfast, it if it did would likely consist of a soup made from the snot of their crying children).

In this hovel you will find:
- threadbare towels
- sheets that do not fit the bed
- dense mould all over the bathroom fans
- massive holes in the walls and ceilings of the upstairs hall
- peeling paint work
- miserable staff (understandably)

I will load some photos for your viewing pleasure.

Room Tip: Possibly more comfortable sleeping on the park bench down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ECP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Firstly, I have to say the staff were lovely and helpful but the problem is more the hotel itself and the location. If you are going to Dublin for a night out and just want a roof over your head, it would be fine. If you have a big meeting or exams, do not stay in this hotel or at least, get a room that is not on the street side.

It is not the hotels fault, but the location is awful - just a few doors down from a nightclub. All night, all I could hear was drunken people screaming and taxi's blowing their horns...most likely at the drunken people walking in the middle of the road. It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a traffic jam at rush hour in new york. I was still wide awake at 5am and had to get up at 6am so needless to say, I was not happy. As the hotel was booked out, it was not possible to move.

Also, you can hear everything from the rooms next door. When anyone in the hotel has a shower or uses hot water, all you can hear is a loud roar...and this happens all night.

The room itself was fine but tiny. You couldn't open the bathroom door fully as it hit against the foot of the bed. There was about a foot or less of space around the bed so you are falling over yourself trying to make you way anywhere. There is no extractor fan in the bathroom but the shower was good and strong at least. The rooms were like a sauna so you are caught between melting and listening to the beeping horns. The beds are very uncomfortable. It was clean enough but a very run down building.

There is wifi but this is only available in the lounge area. There are irons but you have to borrow one from reception. You do get tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and a television with the basic channels.

There is no lift available so if you have any trouble walking, it would not be possible to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the street side if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stay here for three nights at the start of our trip to Ireland to see Dublin. The hotel as recommended by a friend who had lived in Dublin. The Aircoach from the airport drops you a half block from the hotel. We arrived before check-in, but we were allowed to leave our bags with the receptionist while we walked around. The hotel is 5 minutes from St Stephens Green and the rest of Dublin beyond. The hotel and rooms have seen better days. The bathroom and room furnishing were a bit beat up. There was no soap so we had to buy our own down the street. At least the bed was clean and comfortable. On the weekends there are a couple of clubs in the neighborhood which cause from late evening music being heard from the bedroom. There was no food or breakfast served.
Overall, for the weekend we were there, jet-lagged from our flight, it was a decent price in a good location to see Dublin. They staff were all very friendly and helpful. However, the hotel could use some remodeling and repair. There may be better options at other times but the All Ireland Hurling Final and a World Cup Qualifier were happening that same weekend so any hotel with a room would have been fine.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so lower floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked this accommodation to be close to the Sugar Rooms where I was going to a musical event. Only the day or so before going to I check the reviews here in Trip Advisor....and was appalled by what I read. So here goes.... our top floor room (no302) was clean, tasteful, recently refurbished I assume and I could not complain at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful, there were no unpleasant smells, the reception was attractive. Okay, there were no additional soaps in the room, but the towels were fine, and there was a phone too.

So at 114Euros perhaps a little over priced, yes there is some ongoing refurbishment but it doesn't distract from the stay, but the location is excellent and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Friendly staff, Good location however the hotel is misrepresented on their website, the pictures are very misleading, the hotel is way overpriced at full rate, you could expect more from a travel lodge.

Room Tip: avoid top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#130 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#111 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeson Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeson Inn Downtown

Property: Leeson Inn Downtown
Address: 24 Lower Leeson St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeson Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Leeson Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Inn Downtown Hotel Dublin
Leeson Hotel Downtown
Leeson Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing