We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, pity about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeson Inn Downtown
Ranked #129 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great location, pity about the room”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we booked in on the 14th March for one night, on arriving at the hotel the receptionist was very pleasant and gave us our room key. The room we had was up three flights of stairs (didnt see any lift). The room was basic clean and overlooking a very noisy street. That night not only was there cars and people on the streets but there seemed to be a taxi rank causing loads and loads of noise right outside. The next morning when I went to have a shower I noticed there were no shampoos or body washes so we couldnt wash ourselves, ive never ever been to a b&b without having something to wash myself with. all in all the location is near to town, but the rooms are basic and very noisy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatwaytothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    70
    85
    44
    96
See reviews for
22
139
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place is a real find. It is in the heart of Georgian Dublin, stylishly decorated, and comfortable, and a nice relaxed atmosphere. For the price, it is absolutly wonderful. You can't get that good quality for that price anywhere else in Dublin, least of all in one of the most elegant parts of the city, and within ten minutes walks from Stephen's Green. I was warned about the noise from nearby clubs at the weekends, but personally I didn't hear any noise, and my room had double glazing on the windows. Breakfast is provided, Wifi is free, and the staff are helpful and professional. I really like this place, and will go return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinzia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Couldn't fault anything about this palce - it was cheaper than any other hostel or hotel in the area when I booked. Not noisy at all, polite staff, nicely decorated. Really good location - you can get the airlink bus from the airport or it's only 20 mins walk into the city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure you make it clear if you want a double bed, as we ended up with two singles :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

So apart from a slightly weird smell in the entrance / corridors, this is a perfect low budget hotel!

We stayed for three nights in a 3 bed room and after reading all the reviews was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness (Cleaned every day!), great shower and space!

Yes this is no 4 star hotel... but its definitely very good value for the price we paid! - I plan to be checking back in next year for the Dublin Web Summit!

Room Tip: We had a three bed room on the ground floor - It was quiet and clean with a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Small old-fashion hotel not far from the center of Dublin. Affordable prices but comfort are minimized. Good for the travellers who are not spending so much time inside and prefer to see the city. Room was clean but the view was on the roof. The room was also dark inside and with a smell of wetness. The other not comforting thing is noise, you can hear all your neighbors and the floor was also noisy with its creaked floorboards.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildCrazyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Leeson Inn has one good thing going for it and that is location. While it sits in a central gentrified area that is where it's charm ends. I can only commend the staff for getting through a day of work in such a miserable excuse for 'Inn' without wanting to throw an adagio for strings and end it all.

If you fancy yourself a character in a Dicken's novel or would like to do some method acting for a role as a downtrodden scullery maid you might want to apply for a job, but otherwise I suggest you carefully review other bed and breakfast options in Dublin which are priced in the same region(not that this place includes breakfast, it if it did would likely consist of a soup made from the snot of their crying children).

In this hovel you will find:
- threadbare towels
- sheets that do not fit the bed
- dense mould all over the bathroom fans
- massive holes in the walls and ceilings of the upstairs hall
- peeling paint work
- miserable staff (understandably)

I will load some photos for your viewing pleasure.

Room Tip: Possibly more comfortable sleeping on the park bench down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ECP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Firstly, I have to say the staff were lovely and helpful but the problem is more the hotel itself and the location. If you are going to Dublin for a night out and just want a roof over your head, it would be fine. If you have a big meeting or exams, do not stay in this hotel or at least, get a room that is not on the street side.

It is not the hotels fault, but the location is awful - just a few doors down from a nightclub. All night, all I could hear was drunken people screaming and taxi's blowing their horns...most likely at the drunken people walking in the middle of the road. It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a traffic jam at rush hour in new york. I was still wide awake at 5am and had to get up at 6am so needless to say, I was not happy. As the hotel was booked out, it was not possible to move.

Also, you can hear everything from the rooms next door. When anyone in the hotel has a shower or uses hot water, all you can hear is a loud roar...and this happens all night.

The room itself was fine but tiny. You couldn't open the bathroom door fully as it hit against the foot of the bed. There was about a foot or less of space around the bed so you are falling over yourself trying to make you way anywhere. There is no extractor fan in the bathroom but the shower was good and strong at least. The rooms were like a sauna so you are caught between melting and listening to the beeping horns. The beds are very uncomfortable. It was clean enough but a very run down building.

There is wifi but this is only available in the lounge area. There are irons but you have to borrow one from reception. You do get tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and a television with the basic channels.

There is no lift available so if you have any trouble walking, it would not be possible to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the street side if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Maple Hotel
#130 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#72 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#125 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#87 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeson Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeson Inn Downtown

Property: Leeson Inn Downtown
Address: 24 Lower Leeson St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeson Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Leeson Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Inn Downtown Hotel Dublin
Leeson Hotel Downtown
Leeson Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing