We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to freshen up after all those late nights”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Morgan Hotel looks really great in photos. Cool, modern, and stylish, it’s got lots of contemporary furniture in a variety of fun shapes and sizes. Looking very much like a hip hair salon, the colourful lobby looks dressed for a party.

However, look past the trendy décor, and the place looks tired. The elevator, once we were behind the closed door, was grimy – the handprints on the white tufted leather being the least worrisome blemish. Our bedroom carpet had cigarette burns on the floor, and the pretty balcony had fresh looking butts on the table. Whoever had cleaned the room must have done so in a hurry. Neither the toilet paper nor the tissues had been replenished, and the shower door, which didn’t close properly, was dirty. We felt as though we were hot on the heels of someone else’s late night.

Regardless, we slept well. The bed was wonderful, and noise from the downstairs bar, which we’d expected, wasn’t a big deal. What was more disappointing was the staff, who shouted through the hallways on early weekend mornings. I don’t mind that it was a noisy party hotel, but I expected a bit more courtesy from the staff.

Like I said, the place looks great in pics. But the Morgan is sort of like a fancy party guest who has partied too late and too hard. Striking from a distance, but up close, simply average, and in need of a little freshening up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear frontseatdriver,

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed to read that your bedroom was not at the standard we normally deliver. I will be contacting you through tripadvisor to get more information from you on the date of your stay etc. so I can address the matter more effectively.

We continuously carry out rigorous rejuvenations of our rooms and invest a lot of time in staff training with respect to product and service delivery in particular. We are sorry that you had this isolated experience with us.

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,260 - 2,266 of 2,956 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The decor was a surprise and very relacing, just what was needed after a hectic day of business meetings. The bedroom was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom and power shower were equally excellent. One to visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear jkj1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us.

We are delighted to read that our decor, bedrooms and bathrooms were what you needed after a hectic day of business meetings!

Also, thanks for recognising our location, excellent service and staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Dublin.

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I went to Dublin on a business trip. I stayed at The Morgan Hotel for five days and I really enjoyed my visit. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom also, the bed really comfortable, and service could not have been better. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions. The surrounding area offers many places to eat, pubs with live Irish music and many shops.
Both the city and the hotel are some of the most friendly places I have visited so I will definitely return to both Dublin and The Morgan Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 504mia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear 504mia2011,

Thank you for your lovely review,

We are delighted that while you were with us on a five day business trip that our team looked after you so well and you enjoyed your accommodation with us so much.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Morgan the next time you are in Dublin.

Kindest regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I travelled to Dublin with a friend over the bank holiday weekend. We had not originally booked to stay at the Morgan Hotel but due to an error with our original booking and no room availability at our original choice of hotel we were relocated to the Morgan. I cannot really comment on the value for money as we had actually paid for a more expensive hotel via the travel agent and were relocated to the Morgan (so did not really get the value for money we had paid for).

We had originally selected a hotel away from the main bar area to avoid the noise and activity at night. When we were relocated to the Morgan hotel located right in the main bar area and allocated a room right at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street our concerns about the level of noise were well founded. If you plan to visit the hotel to get a good nights sleep- do not stay in a room at the front of the hotel (especially at a weekend). That said, when we requested a change of room for our second night the reception staff were extremely helpful and reallocated us a room at the back of the hotel which was much quieter. The standard of the room also appeared better than our original room both in terms of size and decor. The pillows were quite uncomfortable (very soft), however I recognise that this is a matter of personal choice.

The hotel is in a very good location to access all the major sights of Dublin and there are numerous places to eat in the surrounding area. The staff appeared friendly and professional at all times and reflected the overall welcoming atmosphere we experienced in Dublin as a whole.There was a reasonable selection of both hot and cold food for breakfast and there was a nice atmosphere in the bar and restaurant both day and night. The hotel decor was quite quirky and if you are looking for something a little bit different this is the place. The hotel is easy to access from the airport via the airport bus (bus stop is within walking distance of the hotel).

Overall, I would probably stay at this hotel again but I would ensure that I book one of the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear MKM2011,

Thank you for posting a review for us on tripadvisor.

Even though you did not plan on staying with us, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our location.

Thank you for commending the assistance our reception team extended to you and for noticing our uniqueness that sets us apart from other Hotels.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Morgan.

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

!st trip to Dublin in years. Receptionist couldnt have been nicer great local knowledge and steered us in the right direction. We were upgraded at no charge. room was massive, great buzz about the hotel in general and food was fantastic.. Cant wait for next stay

Room Tip: Room was very warm but we were supplied with a fan within mins of commenting on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear bernie w,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Dublin with us.

Thank you for mentioning that reception helped you with our local knowledge and that you
enjoyed the Hotel, your room, and the food so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Morgan & Dublin!

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just stayed in The Morgan for a short stay 20th anniversary break - reception staff excellent and so helpful, not just with our stay but with eating out and things to do - well over and above the call of duty! Room, bar and entertainment was top class. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Ann M,

We are delighted that you chose The Morgan for your 20th anniversary break.

I was pleased to read that the reception team was very helpful and that your entire experience with us was so good.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at The Morgan!

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Having stayed in many city centre boutique hotels this was a disappointment. I've always liked the Morgan bar, if a bit pricey the decor and atmosphere and the service are very good. I was looking forward to experiencing the hotel, but our room was dark and bar a nice mirror and sink, ordinary. The White furniture was dirty, the television was small - ud need to wear your glasses in bed to watch it. I still don't know if there was wifi available and I've never stayed in a hotel before where I haven't been shown to my room. Having recently paid similar if not less for style conscious hotels in Biarritz, Athens and New York I am realising that Irish hoteliers need to raise their standards by a long shot.
From a disappointed Dubliner

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaDavidEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear LisaDavidEire,

I am disappointed to read that you did not like the bedroom you were staying in.

Normally we get favourable comments about our bedrooms and we are sorry you were dissapointed. I will be contacting you through Tripadvisor to find out what room you were in.

Kind regards,

Edward Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,392 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#58 of 150 in Dublin
1,225 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,416 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#48 of 150 in Dublin
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £195 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing