We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always first choice”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at The Morgan 3 times now, and each trip has been perfect.

The hotel is beautiful, so conveniently located and I would always try and stay at The Morgan whenever I visited Dublin from now on.

Room Tip: The Morgan is in the middle of all of the night-life in Dublin, and has a lively bar downstairs, don...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica9326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, Jessica9326, Wow!! Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. Its great to know that we made your stay really comfortable and you enjoyed your visit to Dublin and The Morgan. Comments and a review like this really help my team and spur us on to welcome and serve all that come to The Morgan. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
There are newer reviews for The Morgan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,281 - 1,287 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just returned from 2 nights at the morgan in dublin,
this was our 2nd trip there and we weren't dissapointed. We arrived at 8pm and the guy on reception was very friendly and asked if we had been before, so we told him we came the same weekend last year and loved the hotel... and we were planning to makeit a tradition for my birthday, he then said he would have to look after us and upgraded our room to a suite.

(the normal room we had the year before was perfect, nice and big and good facilities)

the suite was lovely huge bed and bedroom, 2 tv's, lounge with 2 sofas and a kitchen (with a fridge we could use to keep drinks in without disturbing the mini bar)

the room was in the new building at the back right at the rear of the hotel on the 3rd floor (so no noise from the bar/club at front of the hotel)... our first stay we had a room nearer the front and could hear the music but too many pints of the black stuff meant we slept through it.

its right in temple bar and we got a cab to and from the airport (20-25 euros each way but depends on traffic and the local sporting events)

we walked everywhere from the hotel including the guinness tour and croke park for some gaelic football... loads of restaurants nearby for whatever food you want as well.

we will be staying here again and cant fault the staff

(only point would be aircon in the rooms and needed a full length mirror)

Room Tip: for less noise a room high up and towards the back of the hotel...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrezsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, BrezsTravels, its great to hear such positivity from our guests. Smile and be smiled on we say. The warm weather was really a joy in recent weeks and I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan. Thanks again for the review and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. I hope you enjoyed the Birthday celebrations!! See you next year.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at the Morgan an hour before we were expected. The Morgan is easily accessable by public transport, we took the Dublin airport bus which dropped us off a few hundred meters from the hotel. We got a very friendly and warm welcome, and they apologised for not having our room ready, even though it wasn't their fault as we were early. They asked us to take a walk and get our first impressions of Dublin, while they would ready our room and look after our luggage.

Upon return one hour later, our room was not only ready, but due to us letting the Morgan know it was our second attempt on having a honeymoon, they upgraded us! We went from a queen room to a king room, and while I don't really felt the need for a bigger room, it came with a balcony which totally made my stay! Our luggage was already in the room as well. The room was clean, but the chairs in the room had spots, and the seat fabric didn't cover the chairs fully. It seemed like they had been unsuccessfully washed, shrunk, and still put back on the chairs. The carpet also had some spots, and the minibar wasn't fully stocked, yet one of those were you can't put your own stuff in. We like to have chilled drinks in our room, so we made use of it anyway, but be aware if you trigger the sensors in there, they might charge you. It worked out fine for us.

Clean bathroom, but seemed half finished, as the finishing around the room just wasn't there, like the missing star tops on top of the screws on the mirror, and the poor plastering job done both in the bathroom and the room itself didn't convince us that The Morgan is a five star property. It did nothing to dampen our stay, but it is those small things that make a place really shine and The Morgan really didn't cut it here. What were five star worthy was the fantastic staff, I cannot stress this enough so I'll repeat it: FANTASTIC STAFF! The bed was super comfy and the breakfast was full english/irish breakfast, so we were very happy. The cold cuts and other breakfast offers were not on the huge side, but sufficient. They also have a cute backyard, which is a bit confused designwise, but it kind off works.

Then it was the balcony... The balcony was upon first eyesight great, but upon closer inspection you could easily see the wear and tear on the building. There were also a very dead plant out there. During our stay we had both rain and sunshine, which made mould grow on the chairs out there.... I have to apologize that I didn't tell the staff about it, as it really didn't bother us (the weather wasn't warm enough to really enjoy a balcony anyway) and I also felt that since the cleaning people did remove the mould when washing also should be the ones to report it to the management.

The location of our room was towards the back, so we didn't experience any noise, but truly, if noise bothers you, don't choose a hotel in Temple bar. And that's what I'll say on that subject. That the hotel provided ear plugs amongst the amenities in the bathroom was also a nice touch. It wasn't particularly warm in Dublin when we stayed there, so the lack of aircon didn't bother us except for one night were I had to open a window. So get a room with aircon if that's a must for you. The hotel lighting is quite dark at nighttime, and the elevator has a weird funky blue light and nothing else, which makes it really hard finding the right button to press, but quite charming in its own way.

All in all we had a fantastic stay, and would definitely return if ever in Dublin again without kids. But can't give it a five star review as it needs to work on the smaller details to fully make it a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back seems more quiet, but again, if quiet is a must, don't choose a hotel in T...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frureiseglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, Frureiseglad its a real treat to hear such positivity from our guests. Smile and be smiled upon we say. I delighted to hear that the team made you feel right at home. We just love Norweigans... I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan Bar while seeing the sites. Thanks again for the review and the honest feedback, it is genuinely appreciated. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just stayed in the penthouse suite for 1 night as a suprise from my boyfriend who decided to propose on the terrace after making a surprise trip to Dublin! The hotel staff went above and beyond to help him arrange the surprise and did whatever possible to make it an incredible stay for us, would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheals137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, Cheals Wow!! Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. Its great to know that we made your stay really memorable and you enjoyed your visit to The Morgan.

To be honest we only helped on the little things and it was your Fiancee that did all the hard work. We have witnessed a fair few proposals here at the Morgan but I can't remember one that more work was put into and every detail was checked and double checked.
I truly hope that you both have an incredible life together and if his efforts on this night are anything to go by... then you have a good one there!!!

Continued happines to both of you.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a modern hotel in a great location. The location in the Temple Bar can be noisy on weekends as it is a great drinking locale with many fine pubs. Our room did not have AC, it was also small but very stylish. The staff was great and there was plenty to do just feet from the front door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank laser20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Laser20814, Hi and hello I hope this email finds you well and that the land of Oz is as wonderful as ever. laser28014, what a fantastic review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for the kindness. It's always such a nice feeling reading such positive, uplifting, no messing around, life's too short to complain reviews such as your's. Thank you for making our day. Our location is amazing isn't it. Located in the exact heart of Dublin's Temple Bar, surrounded by all of it's wildlife and adventures. A must see, do , try and experience in one's lifetime. I am delighted that your name is now on this list. laser20814, once again thank you for the kindness and I look forward to welcoming you back with us sooner rather than later

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Valentine's Day this year. I love the funky vibe in this hotel! Decor throughout the hotel is so cool and unique, unlike any other hotel in Dublin. You will find really quirky pieces of furniture all over the hotel.

Our room was fabulous and again, very modern and funky.

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect for exploring Dublin as this hotel is right in the middle of temple bar and within walking distance to all areas of Dublin city.

I really enjoyed the entertainment in the bar too. It was live saxophone/bongos players with house music. I think this is on a lot of Friday nights, definitely worth a visit. Only downside was the price of the drinks! Soooo expensive but it's like that in a lot of places in temple bar. Quality of cocktails was not great either.

But overall, a really cool hotel that will particularly appeal to younger clientele who want to party or chill in a really unique environment.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emerbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Emerbc, Hi and Hello, or should I say bonjour!! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and thoughtful review. its great to cast the mind back to those great memories from from little trips that turn out to be amazing.
We spend ages trying to find all those funky and unique pieces of furniture just to put a little smile on peoples faces. We would love to see you again before Valentines day if you can get away. In the mean time be well and have a great summer.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We got the opportunity to stay in the Morgan for a second time. We checked in on Friday 25th July for two nights. Check in was stress free as normal and the hotel agreed to allocate us a room with air conditioning upon request with no issues. Our stay was fantastic. Breakfast was top class and plenty of everything, with a great fruit selection! We ordered room service and this was fast, but did disappoint a little as all we wanted was sandwiches but they were unable to assist. Apart from this I would definitely rate this hotel. It's that good we have already booked again for October :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MISS-BB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi and Hello MISS-BB1, Thank you so much for the great feedback and I'm delighted you enjoyed another long weekend in the centre of things here at the Morgan. We will be trying out several new ideas and menu options in the coming weeks like our delicious belgian waffles with maple syrup and fresh fruit, so do keep an eye out for them in October when you come back to visit. Ask for me at the desk and I'll treat you to one of our signature cocktails made specially for you.
Until then, have a great summer and be well.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,307 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,553 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,432 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#59 of 150 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £120 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, LateRooms, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing