We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #35 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bizarre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the Dublin leg of our trip. It has a great location, right on the main strip on Temple Bar.

The room: Walked down a very dark hallway to our room (forget the number, floor 3 I believe). It was clean, but strange. Strange carpet, strange bathroom, strange fixtures. There was no A/C, and the windows do not open. It was HOT in the room, almost unbearable.

The bathroom: Seemed large and fine, until we had to shower. They only gave us two large towels, and it was like a prison shower (not tub), with a drain in the floor, and nothing to stop the water from going all over the place. There was water over the entire bathroom floor, which was leaking onto the carpet (despite the towel barrier we tried to make). It is not enjoyable to go to the bathroom and get wet feet, and since it was so hot and humid in the room, the bathroom floor wasn't drying.

The continental breakfast in the main restaurant was insanely pricey for what they were offering, so we skipped down the road.

Would not return to this hotel, although the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a/c, and a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Kris M, Hi and Hello from all at the Morgan Hotel. I'm so disappointed to hear about your recent stay at the Morgan. The Morgan Vibe is the cool and funky experience that makes us stand out from a noramally beige crowd. We try and have everything as its own little mini feature from chairs to mirrors and everything in between.
We wish you could have experienced breakfast, especially since the price starts from 5euro and you can get a full irsh breakfast with cereals, juices, meats etc. etc. for an incredible 10euro in the heart of a city.

Thanks again for the honest feedback, the team and I are very greatful.

Be well.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    779
    325
    144
    101
See reviews for
158
1,206
97
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at the Morgan for my husbands 40th birthday. Had the most amazing time, couldn't fault a thing. Beautiful room, friendly staff and credit to Jhonnatan who made the best cocktails I have ever had. Thanks Kerry & Paul x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrison2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Kerry and Paul,

Thank you so much for the lovely and thoughtful review. The cocktails and amazing, especially Jhonnatan's. He is a class act alright. He is actually due to compete in the Cocktail World Championships in South Africa in September. We're delighted we could help make your trip a little special. Until next time.. enjoy life!!

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenkendorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel lies in the middle of Temple Bar district, which can be good or bad depending on what you want to do. It was very noicy at night inside as well as outside the hotel. But this was to be expected. It is very modern and the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was great. The room was very small but clean. We had been travelling for two weeks so we had a lot of luggage and therefore the size of the room was a bit of a problem for us. The bed was comfortable but small (140 cm) but luckily we are very slim. The price is too high for this kind of room. The mirror in the bathroom was "blind" and you could only see yourself clearly in the corners. There was not enough space to put your things. Wifi did not work properly at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have more than weekend luggage and define the size of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
MarieEli, Hi and Hello, We are delighted that you took the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Morgan. I'm delighted to here that you enjoyed the most importnat meal of the day...Breakfast. You can't go wrong with a good breakfast.
We offer several types of rooms from the dainty one that you stayed in to luxury deluxe suites. We try our best to upgrade where possible as other people have testified to. Unfortunately we could not do that during you recent stay.
I hope you had a great time visiting Dublin and that we see you again soon and have the opportuinty to get you that upgrade. Thanks and be well.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Morgan toward the end of November last year. We paid for a package which entitled us to cocktails, a bottle of wine, nibbles, etc, plus late checkout till 2pm which was perfect for us as we were planning on a relatively late night!
On arrival we had our key pretty much thrown at us, no indication of whereabouts our room was (and reception wasn't busy at that point). Our "luxury kingsize room" was in fact two single mattresses zipped together, meaning that you couldn't get comfy for a cuddle as someone was always lying in the gap! Service in the bar was great, and the food was tasty, which was about the only saving grace. Shower was either roasting or freezing, and at 11.05am the next day we were phoned and asked if we were "planning on checking out sometime today"! When I explained we had late checkout I was hung up on, and received another phone call after 12 again asking if we were checking out. At checkout we weren't asked how our stay was by the reception staff, although Dave was very friendly when sorting our parking, etc, and he put me in a slightly better mood again. The general manager got in touch and offered us a free upgrade next time we stayed, and I was willing to give another shot, but conveniently there's never been availability for when we've wanted to come down and now the reservations team just don't respond to emails any more. Highly disappointing from a supposedly 4 star hotel. We're down again at the end of this month and we've booked to stay elsewhere! Might pop in for a drink as the bar staff were great but that would be as far as we'd go!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Susan C, Hi and Hello.
from all the team at the Morgan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review regarding your recent stay.
I completely understand that we have let you down and every guest getting a great nights rest is our absolute priority.
This obviously was not the case and for this please accept my sincerest apologies. I will contact you off-line so we may discuss your stay further as this is not the appropriate forum to try and rectify the situation.
Please come back and visit us in the Morgan Bar: if I will be on duty, I will receive you at all times and offer personally a special deal for your next stay here, and obviously drinks will be on Me.

Until then,
Be well

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at The Morgan 3 times now, and each trip has been perfect.

The hotel is beautiful, so conveniently located and I would always try and stay at The Morgan whenever I visited Dublin from now on.

Room Tip: The Morgan is in the middle of all of the night-life in Dublin, and has a lively bar downstairs, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica9326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi and Hello, Jessica9326, Wow!! Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. Its great to know that we made your stay really comfortable and you enjoyed your visit to Dublin and The Morgan. Comments and a review like this really help my team and spur us on to welcome and serve all that come to The Morgan. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just returned from 2 nights at the morgan in dublin,
this was our 2nd trip there and we weren't dissapointed. We arrived at 8pm and the guy on reception was very friendly and asked if we had been before, so we told him we came the same weekend last year and loved the hotel... and we were planning to makeit a tradition for my birthday, he then said he would have to look after us and upgraded our room to a suite.

(the normal room we had the year before was perfect, nice and big and good facilities)

the suite was lovely huge bed and bedroom, 2 tv's, lounge with 2 sofas and a kitchen (with a fridge we could use to keep drinks in without disturbing the mini bar)

the room was in the new building at the back right at the rear of the hotel on the 3rd floor (so no noise from the bar/club at front of the hotel)... our first stay we had a room nearer the front and could hear the music but too many pints of the black stuff meant we slept through it.

its right in temple bar and we got a cab to and from the airport (20-25 euros each way but depends on traffic and the local sporting events)

we walked everywhere from the hotel including the guinness tour and croke park for some gaelic football... loads of restaurants nearby for whatever food you want as well.

we will be staying here again and cant fault the staff

(only point would be aircon in the rooms and needed a full length mirror)

Room Tip: for less noise a room high up and towards the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrezsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi and Hello, BrezsTravels, its great to hear such positivity from our guests. Smile and be smiled on we say. The warm weather was really a joy in recent weeks and I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan. Thanks again for the review and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. I hope you enjoyed the Birthday celebrations!! See you next year.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at the Morgan an hour before we were expected. The Morgan is easily accessable by public transport, we took the Dublin airport bus which dropped us off a few hundred meters from the hotel. We got a very friendly and warm welcome, and they apologised for not having our room ready, even though it wasn't their fault as we were early. They asked us to take a walk and get our first impressions of Dublin, while they would ready our room and look after our luggage.

Upon return one hour later, our room was not only ready, but due to us letting the Morgan know it was our second attempt on having a honeymoon, they upgraded us! We went from a queen room to a king room, and while I don't really felt the need for a bigger room, it came with a balcony which totally made my stay! Our luggage was already in the room as well. The room was clean, but the chairs in the room had spots, and the seat fabric didn't cover the chairs fully. It seemed like they had been unsuccessfully washed, shrunk, and still put back on the chairs. The carpet also had some spots, and the minibar wasn't fully stocked, yet one of those were you can't put your own stuff in. We like to have chilled drinks in our room, so we made use of it anyway, but be aware if you trigger the sensors in there, they might charge you. It worked out fine for us.

Clean bathroom, but seemed half finished, as the finishing around the room just wasn't there, like the missing star tops on top of the screws on the mirror, and the poor plastering job done both in the bathroom and the room itself didn't convince us that The Morgan is a five star property. It did nothing to dampen our stay, but it is those small things that make a place really shine and The Morgan really didn't cut it here. What were five star worthy was the fantastic staff, I cannot stress this enough so I'll repeat it: FANTASTIC STAFF! The bed was super comfy and the breakfast was full english/irish breakfast, so we were very happy. The cold cuts and other breakfast offers were not on the huge side, but sufficient. They also have a cute backyard, which is a bit confused designwise, but it kind off works.

Then it was the balcony... The balcony was upon first eyesight great, but upon closer inspection you could easily see the wear and tear on the building. There were also a very dead plant out there. During our stay we had both rain and sunshine, which made mould grow on the chairs out there.... I have to apologize that I didn't tell the staff about it, as it really didn't bother us (the weather wasn't warm enough to really enjoy a balcony anyway) and I also felt that since the cleaning people did remove the mould when washing also should be the ones to report it to the management.

The location of our room was towards the back, so we didn't experience any noise, but truly, if noise bothers you, don't choose a hotel in Temple bar. And that's what I'll say on that subject. That the hotel provided ear plugs amongst the amenities in the bathroom was also a nice touch. It wasn't particularly warm in Dublin when we stayed there, so the lack of aircon didn't bother us except for one night were I had to open a window. So get a room with aircon if that's a must for you. The hotel lighting is quite dark at nighttime, and the elevator has a weird funky blue light and nothing else, which makes it really hard finding the right button to press, but quite charming in its own way.

All in all we had a fantastic stay, and would definitely return if ever in Dublin again without kids. But can't give it a five star review as it needs to work on the smaller details to fully make it a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back seems more quiet, but again, if quiet is a must, don't choose a hotel in T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frureiseglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi and Hello, Frureiseglad its a real treat to hear such positivity from our guests. Smile and be smiled upon we say. I delighted to hear that the team made you feel right at home. We just love Norweigans... I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan Bar while seeing the sites. Thanks again for the review and the honest feedback, it is genuinely appreciated. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Joe Foran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Property: The Morgan
Address: 10 Fleet Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, crazy outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse with rooftop garden. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines, uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing