We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while enjoying the fun atmosphere of Temple Bar. Our flight was an early morning flight which meant we arrived early and tired. Although check-in is not until the afternoon, we were checked in before 9am and so could have a shower and a rest before heading out for the day. Our room was large, clean, air conditioned and had an opening window. The location is brilliant; right on the Temple Bar strip, easy walking access to Dublin City attractions. Very close to airport coach transfer stops. Breakfast was good value for money, and provided a variety of choices although the hot selection was only just warm. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose this hotel again. The only issue for us was the bed was a little too hard for our liking.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltzinTilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, WaltzinTilder, its great to hear such positivity from our guests. Our location is great for visitors from overseas because you literally walk out the door and there you are... Dublin. The warm weather was really a joy in recent weeks and I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan. We're delighted you enjoyed breakfast and the staff just love to be happy. Thanks again for the review and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,878)
There are newer reviews for The Morgan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,878 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

After one unbearable night with no a/c and a window that couldn't open more than 10cm wide we were lucky enough to move to another spacious and cool room for a small fee. There seems to be a problem with the ventilation in this place, i.e: it's cool outside but very hot in the halls and rooms themselves. Room and carpet in the room had a rather outdated and worn quality. When visiting Dublin again I would skip this place for the reason mentioned above but also that there is a nightclub downstairs. Had one look at the breakfast on display and decided against it.

Room Tip: Any with air conditioning
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aotearoakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Aotearoakid, Hi and Hello. Really appreciate the review and your honest feedback. Great to see a person that calls it as they see it. The weather in Dublin lately and has been fantastic alright. Our breakfast offering is one the main things we pride ourselves on at the Morgan. We offer almost everything you could possibly want, from Local sourced produce and Coeliac dishes to waffles and maple syrup. We wish you would have given it a go!! Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back for a cocktail on your next visit.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff friendly. Easy commute from the airport as the airlink shuttle stops nearby. The best part is the location, in the heart of Temple Bar neighborhood. Close to almost everything, tons of bars and pubs too. Guinness Factory a 15-20 minute walk. The hotel is next door to the Hard Rock Cafe, so if you're a light sleeper, it might be a problem. But for 2 20 something singles, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivefamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi and Hello, Olivefamily09, its great to hear such positivity from our guests. Smile and be smiled on we say. The warm weather was really a joy in recent weeks and I hope you had times to sip a cocktail or two in The Morgan. Thanks again for the review and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the Dublin leg of our trip. It has a great location, right on the main strip on Temple Bar.

The room: Walked down a very dark hallway to our room (forget the number, floor 3 I believe). It was clean, but strange. Strange carpet, strange bathroom, strange fixtures. There was no A/C, and the windows do not open. It was HOT in the room, almost unbearable.

The bathroom: Seemed large and fine, until we had to shower. They only gave us two large towels, and it was like a prison shower (not tub), with a drain in the floor, and nothing to stop the water from going all over the place. There was water over the entire bathroom floor, which was leaking onto the carpet (despite the towel barrier we tried to make). It is not enjoyable to go to the bathroom and get wet feet, and since it was so hot and humid in the room, the bathroom floor wasn't drying.

The continental breakfast in the main restaurant was insanely pricey for what they were offering, so we skipped down the road.

Would not return to this hotel, although the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a/c, and a tub.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Kris M, Hi and Hello from all at the Morgan Hotel. I'm so disappointed to hear about your recent stay at the Morgan. The Morgan Vibe is the cool and funky experience that makes us stand out from a noramally beige crowd. We try and have everything as its own little mini feature from chairs to mirrors and everything in between.
We wish you could have experienced breakfast, especially since the price starts from 5euro and you can get a full irsh breakfast with cereals, juices, meats etc. etc. for an incredible 10euro in the heart of a city.

Thanks again for the honest feedback, the team and I are very greatful.

Be well.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at the Morgan for my husbands 40th birthday. Had the most amazing time, couldn't fault a thing. Beautiful room, friendly staff and credit to Jhonnatan who made the best cocktails I have ever had. Thanks Kerry & Paul x

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morrison2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Kerry and Paul,

Thank you so much for the lovely and thoughtful review. The cocktails and amazing, especially Jhonnatan's. He is a class act alright. He is actually due to compete in the Cocktail World Championships in South Africa in September. We're delighted we could help make your trip a little special. Until next time.. enjoy life!!

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel lies in the middle of Temple Bar district, which can be good or bad depending on what you want to do. It was very noicy at night inside as well as outside the hotel. But this was to be expected. It is very modern and the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was great. The room was very small but clean. We had been travelling for two weeks so we had a lot of luggage and therefore the size of the room was a bit of a problem for us. The bed was comfortable but small (140 cm) but luckily we are very slim. The price is too high for this kind of room. The mirror in the bathroom was "blind" and you could only see yourself clearly in the corners. There was not enough space to put your things. Wifi did not work properly at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have more than weekend luggage and define the size of the bed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

MarieEli, Hi and Hello, We are delighted that you took the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at the Morgan. I'm delighted to here that you enjoyed the most importnat meal of the day...Breakfast. You can't go wrong with a good breakfast.
We offer several types of rooms from the dainty one that you stayed in to luxury deluxe suites. We try our best to upgrade where possible as other people have testified to. Unfortunately we could not do that during you recent stay.
I hope you had a great time visiting Dublin and that we see you again soon and have the opportuinty to get you that upgrade. Thanks and be well.

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Morgan toward the end of November last year. We paid for a package which entitled us to cocktails, a bottle of wine, nibbles, etc, plus late checkout till 2pm which was perfect for us as we were planning on a relatively late night!
On arrival we had our key pretty much thrown at us, no indication of whereabouts our room was (and reception wasn't busy at that point). Our "luxury kingsize room" was in fact two single mattresses zipped together, meaning that you couldn't get comfy for a cuddle as someone was always lying in the gap! Service in the bar was great, and the food was tasty, which was about the only saving grace. Shower was either roasting or freezing, and at 11.05am the next day we were phoned and asked if we were "planning on checking out sometime today"! When I explained we had late checkout I was hung up on, and received another phone call after 12 again asking if we were checking out. At checkout we weren't asked how our stay was by the reception staff, although Dave was very friendly when sorting our parking, etc, and he put me in a slightly better mood again. The general manager got in touch and offered us a free upgrade next time we stayed, and I was willing to give another shot, but conveniently there's never been availability for when we've wanted to come down and now the reservations team just don't respond to emails any more. Highly disappointing from a supposedly 4 star hotel. We're down again at the end of this month and we've booked to stay elsewhere! Might pop in for a drink as the bar staff were great but that would be as far as we'd go!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Susan C, Hi and Hello.
from all the team at the Morgan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review regarding your recent stay.
I completely understand that we have let you down and every guest getting a great nights rest is our absolute priority.
This obviously was not the case and for this please accept my sincerest apologies. I will contact you off-line so we may discuss your stay further as this is not the appropriate forum to try and rectify the situation.
Please come back and visit us in the Morgan Bar: if I will be on duty, I will receive you at all times and offer personally a special deal for your next stay here, and obviously drinks will be on Me.

Until then,
Be well

Joe Foran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,301 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,551 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,431 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £119 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing