We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked to stay Christmas period! Great location right at the city center, very clean with excellent quality of service. What really makes this hotel different and special apart from the 5 star rating is the great attention on details and at the same time the unique decoration of the rooms. Very clean and fully equipped. I recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior Room was a pleasant surprise! Excellent quality and comfort, spacious room with a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Nick K,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city over the Christmas period.

I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the excellent quality of service. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

Nick K, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    592
    203
    65
    42
See reviews for
365
1,136
109
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Excellent hotel with amazing service.
The rooms are good and quite large. We were there for a conference and the service was perfect with all involved.
Breakfast and lunch we very good.
The location is very good right across from the park and beside Grafton St. with all the shopping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear SadieTO,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city for your conference. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service amazing. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

Our central location certainly makes exploring the city very easy and I am really please that you had an opportunity to do so.

SadieTO, should business or leisure bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Booked a stay here for a special occasion and was not disappointed. Warm welcome and great service, right down to the little things such as chocolates with the optional turn down, door men opening the doors, porters calling the lifts, and more. Car parking was conveniently located in the basement. The central location gives you lots of options for going out.

Room Tip: Spend that little bit extra to get a superior room, and be sure to check out the options if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoneOfYoBizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear NoneOFYoBizness,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

Our central location certainly means you can leave your car in our car park and walk out the front doors onto St. Stephen's Green and all that the city centre has to offer.

I sincerely hope that when you next travel to Dublin that we will have an opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Can't imagine a hotel in Dublin with a better location? The FitzWilliam is really in the best spot and the rooms, service and personnel are really nice. My only concern was the access on St Stephens Green, as there are major road works currently in progress, installing a tram or something, and finding the hotel with all the temporary one way roads was a bit confusing. But if coming in by taxi absolutely no problem!

On the bright side, I thought the front desk staff were extremely helpful and the pub was fun. Did not eat in the famous Michelin star restaurant but will save that for next time!

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th or 6th floor if I remember correctly, and it was very quiet. I think the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Hilly B,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, rooms and service.

The Luas (Tram) works are taking place on a phased basis; access to the hotel is maintained at all times and our concierge team are more than happy to assist with directions to the hotel.

I am delighted you found the front desk team extremely helpful and I have passed your kind comments on to them.

Hopefully you will get an opportunity to dine in Thornton's on your next visit to Dublin. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights this December having stayed in the Westin in Dublin last Christmas. Although the service is probably 5 star, the rest of the hotel definitely isn't - the rooms are just ok (not much better than a Jury's and incredibly warm) and the bar is awful! It's like a 3 star cafe! Back to the Westin next time...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Vegas06-08,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you experienced five star service during your stay.

I am sorry that you did not like the décor of the rooms or bar and I have passed your comments on the relevant parties for review.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am truly astonished that anybody could review this hotel badly.

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our first weekend in Dublin, and I can honestly say we were extremely impressed with the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

From the moment we arrived, the door was opened for us, we were greeted with warming smiles and treated like royalty. The lobby area was very inviting with a lovely fire and Christmas tree. The receptionist was very welcoming on our arrival and assisted us to our room on the third floor and made us feel instantly at home. We were also given two vouchers for a complimentary glass of mulled wine in the hotel bar - a very nice touch.

The decor was beautiful, unique and modern. Also, the room was very clean.

I loved how flexible this hotel is with breakfast - they allow you to have a long lie, with Saturday's breakfast finishing at 11am and Sunday's at 12. The choice at breakfast was great - continental and Irish (sausages, bacon, eggs etc). I had poached eggs made for me both mornings, and my boyfriend had porridge. Despite rocking up both mornings 5 minutes before breakfast was due to finish, we never felt rushed and the selection was still available (unlike some hotels where you only get food if you get there early!).

Other nice touches were the turn down service in the evening with chocolates, and the fact the hotel gives you shampoo and conditioner rather than just shampoo (definitely helpful as a girl!). Bottled water (still and sparkling) complimentary in the mini fridge. No hesitation in looking after our bags the whole day Sunday as we were flying very late in the evening. The central location is perfect as well - everything is walking distance.

For the price we paid, I was very happy with the Fitzwilliam. It really was smiles from start to finish. RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconut174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Coconut174,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am delighted that both of you enjoyed your stay so much and that you felt like royalty from the moment you arrived.

We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I am really pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast selection and longer opening times at the weekend!

Coconut174, I have passed your kind comments on to the team as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day! We look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A truly awful hotel unless you have no need for sleep. We live in a London so used to noise but this is a constant loud plumbing/air conditioning noise, like a fan in a bathroom that when it stops it's a great feeling but this does not stop! I am certain this is not isolated to room 414. Made a complaint but they could do nothing, concierge tried to assist but what could he do in reality? He looked surprised but it seemed an act of a man who was well used to this issue. No room change offered as apparently full - offered a night cap to help us relax not so useful for a pregnant partner. Hotel states 'our world revolves around you' this applies as long as you do not have an issue. To be honest from the very start I was not impressed as the hotel has an obsession on getting all your credit card details so you do not take anything even though the mini bar automatically charges you for anything you may touch. An Iceland supermarket of the 5 star world of hotels. Trip advisors please take this seriously as I am normally a positive reviewer, so if I say it is bad it is! I have asked for a complaints log when I leave so the hotel cannot deny these have been made as they have apparently so in the past!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear NeilR74,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views whilst resident in the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise unreservedly for the noise disturbance you experienced. I know that the team made every effort to resolve the matter, however it was completely beyond our control.

NeilR74, please contact me directly so that I can discuss the matter in more detail with you and bring the matter to resolution.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing