We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples weekend in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I spent a weekend at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by super friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help us. The concierge Patrick is great - he booked our restaurant for us that evening. The bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in, the room was really quiet, and the location is just the best - walking distance to all the major sites. The only let down (and the reason I have not scored the hotel as "Excellent") is that on checking out the concierge suggested we collect our car from the car park ourselves as "it would be easier". We were annoyed at this because we paid EUR 20 for valet parking!! And it certainly wasn't easier for us as we had to search for our car spot dragging our bags with us. Also, not knowing Dublin, when we exited the car park we hadn't a clue where we were. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the Fitzwilliam.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the courtyard was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kepotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Kepotim,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted you throughly enjoyed your stay, from the superfriendly staff, to the very comfortable bed in a very quiet room. I have passed you kind comments on to the team.

I am very sorry that your car was not brought to the front door for you or that you were not provided with assistance to the car park. That is certainly not the standard that we operate to.

Kepotim, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,796 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff were a great credit to the stay. From concierge to reception to room cleaning : very well looked after. Recommend trying the SPA for excellent pampering. Hotel location terrific. Shops , hop-on hop-off , park , public transport. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear travel1960,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city for New Year's Eve. I am really happy to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring the city exceptionally easy. I was delighted you found the team great and I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feeback such as yours makes everyone's day.

travel1960, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fabulous hotel from which to explore Dublin for New Year's Eve 2013/2014.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Wonderful location at bottom of Grafton Street on St Stephen's Green. Adjacent to Stephen's Green shopping centre.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Richard J,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city for New Year's Eve. I am really happy to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. I was particularly pleased to read you found the team very helpful and friendly. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feeback such as yours makes everyone's day.

Richard J should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

hotel facilities were great, upgraded on arrival , food was excellent . all staff were very helpful and friendly.everything in our room was perfect,good central location will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Katrina F,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really happy to read you enjoyed your upgraded room and the central location of the hotel. I was particularly pleased to read you enjoyed your food and that you found the team very helpful and friendly. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feeback such as yours makes everyone's day.

Katrina F should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and would highly recommend it due to the helpfulness and attitude of the staff at every level. The rooms are spotlessly clean with all the mod cons, the foyer is modern and trendy with a relaxed atmosphere, the hotel is ideally situated and there is a secure car-park which is rare in city centre hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Margaret S,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoy the facilities and location so much. It is wonderful that you are recommending the hotel due to the helpfulness and attitude of the team at every level. I have passed you kind commnets on to all of the team, as feedback such as your makes everyone's day!

Margaret S, when you travels bring you to Dublin again we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We checked in on 29th December for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary, browse the sales and enjoy New Years Eve in Dublin.
Finding the hotel is a breeze. The central location is well sign posted. Parking is directly under the hotel with a lift straight to reception and the bedrooms.
We checked in and were shown to our Executive Double room on the fourth floor. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking St Stephens Green. The view was impressive, the room, not so much. Having stayed in numerous city centre hotels in Dublin, London, Paris, New York etc we would expect that the rooms can sometimes be on the small side, but this room was actually tiny. There was no room to put the bags or buggy. You couldnt even walk between the end of the bed and the tv unit. For physical needs, we required a walk in shower too which this room did not have.
So, we requested a bigger room. One was available on the third floor for an extra €60 a night. As the room we were in was just SO small, we really had no option but to upgrade.
The new room on the third floor, on first impressions, was lovely. Considerably larger, still overlooking the green and with a sizeable seating area and a seperate walk in shower, this was much better. Or so we thought.
Our first nights sleep, or lack thereof, was a disaster. The water from the balcony above our room, ran into a blocked outlet and dripped and leaked and ran all night long. The baby didnt sleep, we didnt sleep. Considering the price we were paying, I didnt find this acceptable and was ready to move to the (more keenly priced) Shelbourne or Westbury. My wife however, didnt want the inconvenience of moving all the luggage and ourselves and so, we reported the matter to Brid in reception. She was very apologetic and offered to move us to a quieter room that afternoon with a credit of €20 applied to our rate and a voucher for the bar. We didnt mind the early hours noise and trance music from Dandelion below, we are in the city centre after all. The blocked balcony was like chinese torture though, so we moved.
When we arrived back after lunch to move to our new room, the receptionist didnt remember who we were, despite our lengthy conversations just two hours earlier. Strange. So we had to explain our situation (to the same woman) again.....!!!!
This room was ok. Although, for some reason the same price, it was a lot smaller again unfortunately, with no seating area (only a bay window) and the walk in shower was no more. A high bath/shower was literally a hurdle we couldnt manage. Still, much to my wifes annoyance this time, we stayed put, for easiness sake on my own part at this stage more than anything.
We were promised a voucher for the bar which never materialised. In fact, we never saw this receptionist again. I said no more and just got on with it.
Our first night in this new room was nice, although a bit cool as the heating wasnt working but the duvet on the bed is good and heavy. Housekeeping did a great job in cleaning the room and replenishing the towels and shampoo etc. They also didnt land in on top of you first thing in the morning which some hotels are gulity of.
On new years eve, we ordered food to the room before heading out. The food was ok. Burger and fish, but at €17 each it really was hard to justify. (Breakfast delivered to our room would have been €28 each. Each....!!!!)
We got ready to go out that night but unfortunately there was no hot water in our room this night, maybe due to the night that was in it.
While the hotel is quite nice itself, I dont think I would return. The Westbury and Shelbourne and even Brooks hotel offer much better value for money. Having spent our last anniversary in the Four Seasons, I dont think I can justify spending a larger amount of money on this hotel again and have been left disappointed that I went amd booked this instead of the aforementioned hotels. The best thing going for this hotel really is its location. If it wasnt at the top of Grafton St, I wouldnt go back unless at a far better rate than what we had to pay. There is much much better value for money in other four and five star all across Dublin.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SligoCouple1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear SligoCouple1982,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit in December. It is clear that your stay did not live up to your expectations, or indeed mine.

I would greatly appreciate you contacting me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss your feedback in more detail.

SligoCouple1982 I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Overall our stay in The Fitzwilliam was enjoyable but was let down by poor maintenance in one of the pricier rooms and the attitude of one member of the bar staff.

The gentlemen on reception greeted us warmly and was very helpful with both check in and out. His name was Jonathan if memory serves and he was a credit to the hotel.

The room, number 303 could benefit from a deep clean and maintenance. There was mould growing on the roof of the bathroom and one of the electrical light fittings right above the shower was loose, which is quite simply just plain dangerous.

We were greeted coldly by one particular member of the bar staff who made my wife feel quite unwelcome. Still, we stayed and spent over €150 on food and champagne. Settling up the bill with the same member of staff proved slightly troublesome.

Overall, The Fitzwilliam is a nice hotel but not worth the price tag and it is unlikely we'll return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Dave G,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I have passed your kind comments on to Jonathon.

In relation to your feedback on the room and bar I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly at the hotel, so the we can discuss the matter in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
596 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 HE18, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £172 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing