We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

such friendly staff! hallways are a little dim, but the rooms are amazing. they upgraded my room for free, without me even asking. front facing rooms can be a little loud on a saturday night, but excellent quality hotel. concierge was extremely knowledgeable and friendly, and gave tailored advice for my very short dublin trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Lauren D,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your recommendation following your recent short visit. I am really pleased you enjoyed your complimentary upgraded room.

I am delighted to read you found the staff friendly and knowledgeable and in particular the Concierge team. I have passed your kind comments on to everyone as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day.

Lauren D, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    591
    202
    64
    42
See reviews for
364
1,131
109
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a fantastic night away at this hotel. When I booked I mentioned on the reservation that it was our wedding anniversary. They upgraded our room and gave us lovely chocolates on check in. The room was gorgeous if a little small, valet parking for just €10 and location is amazing. I would highly recommend for a hassle free stay with high standards and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Jane M,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your recommendation following your recent wedding anniversary visit to the city. I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay.

I was equally pleased to read you enjoyed the upgraded room, valet parking and central location of the hotel. It is great you found the team very friendly; I have passed you kind comments on to everyone as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day.

Jane M, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We started our week in Ireland at the Fitzwilliam Hotel and it was just perfect! Our flight got in at 8am and our room was all ready for us! Additionally- when we returned after exploring the city that afternoon, a personal note and chocolates were waiting for us for our wedding anniversary! This hotel is DEFINITELY worth every cent!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear LPM2014,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent wedding anniversary visit to the city. I am delighted that you found everything just perfect.

If we have a room ready and available we will always do our utmost to accommodate our early arriving guests; I am glad we were able to do so for you.

LPM2014, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I am a big fan of TripAdvisor and previous reviews of this hotel proved correct. Great location - we walked everywhere and room was good if a little less roomy than I had imagined. Car park under hotel at very reasonable rate. Staff were most helpful and professional at all times and breakfast I thought was great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jude085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Jude085,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring all that the city has to offer exceptionally easy. If you arrive by car, which you did, once parked in our car park, you can forget your car whilst staying with us and explore the city on foot. I was equally pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast and that you thought it was great.

I am delighted that you found the staff most helpful and professional at all times; I have passed your kind comments on to all of the team.

Jude085, I look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam when your travels next bring you to Dublin.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustihaveone
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here in Nov 2013 with my wife, who had business at the RCS, which is right next door and therefore for us, it was a great location. The check-in was smooth, even though we came in at 1 am; the room was facing the inner-courtyard, presumably because we had asked for a quiet room. I don't know how old the property is, but the room was really well done inside - contemporary, smart. We did not dine at the hotel at all, but they were just generally super nice, even bringing up free steamed milk for my wife, who brings her own coffee everywhere.

It is walkable to Temple Bar, Trinity College etc but at the same time away from all those. The park across the street was very nice, and probably will be nicer in the spring. The mall at the corner of the street (as you turn left from the main hotel entrance) had a comprehensive supermarket, if you need anything.

The only shortcoming -and this is a nit, which is why I'd still give this hotel 5 stars - was the shower. It was very difficult to control the temperature, and the shower head pointed vertically downward but had such a large radius of spray that some of it would bounce off the wall and dribble down the side of the tub, eventually making the bathroom constantly wet.

That aside, loved the place and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for an inner room facing the courtyard, which is really rather nice and proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Mustihaveone,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring all that the city has to offer exceptionally easy. You're quite correct - St. Stephen's Green is looking particularly well with all the spring flowers.

I am really pleased you enjoyed a smooth check-in. I am sorry that you found the shower temperature difficult to control and I have forwarded your feedback to the maintenance team for review.

Mustihaveone, I look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam when your travels next bring you to Dublin.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to this trip for ages and there is no doubt that it is in a great location.

But room 513 is very small for a premium price and our small window looks out to a concrete wall, we have to stretch to see the courtyard downstairs and there is a questionable stain in the toilet.

We have spent most of the night awake because we are in the same corridor as a hen party and finally the room seems to be next to the main water pipes as that kicked in at 6:30am as people started having showers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Scottish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Scottish 19,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring all that the city has to offer exceptionally easy.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the room allocated to you and that it did not live up to your expectations. I note that the room you refer to is one of our entry level rooms. We have several room types available, which vary in size and position (overlooking St. Stephen's Green or our courtyard garden).

It is not clear from your feedback, whether or not you alerted a member of the team to the noise disturbance you experienced, as they would have immediately addressed and resolved the matter.

Scottish 19, I truly regret your poor experience and should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail, please contact me directly at the hotel.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on the 27th March and it was well worth the added expense. Great staff, beautiful rooms and immaculately kept. The hotel is very central, around 100 metres from the top of Grafton Street. We are looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colind66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Colind66,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring all that the city has to offer exceptionally easy, particularly shopping!

We stayed one night on the 27th March and it was well worth the added expense. Great staff, beautiful rooms and immaculately kept. The hotel is very central, around 100 metres from the top of Grafton Street. We are looking forward to our next stay.

I am delighted you found the team great and the rooms immaculately maintained; I have passed your kind comments on to the team as such feedback makes everyone's day.

Colind66, we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing