We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star hotel??” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Star hotel??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a night stay at Fitzwilliam hotel, really disappointed!! I would not rate this as a 5 star hotel. Concierge staff were very helpful on arrival taking care of our bag and parking our car. We had booked a superior room but I don't think it was superior, I even wondered had we been given the wrong room type by mistake. The room was tiny felt cramped don't even think it was a queen sized bed. As for the bathroom there were two tiles about to fall of the side of the bath. The house keeper arrived to do the turn down service at 6:30 did not even give me time to answer the door just barged in and said here handing me the chocolates!! So disappointed it was our wedding anniversary an thought I would book us a luxury hotel, do not feel that we got value for our money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna2014788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Donna2014788,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you found the concierge team very helpful on arrival.

I regret that the room did not live up to your expectations or mine. We have a full maintenance team and a standard in place that should ensure that no room is "available for a guest" if it is not perfectly maintained. Clearly this criteria was not met prior to your arrival.

Your feedback regarding turndown service have been noted and addressed with the relevant team members.

Donna20144788, I truly regret that your stay did not live up to either of our expectations and should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail with me, I would be delighted to speak with you.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    578
    200
    61
    41
See reviews for
345
1,110
105
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night weekend stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Generally we were treated quite well and courteously by the staff and our deluxe premium room was clean and spacious. Only by reading other reviews do I now realise how big a problem the noise from the nightclub below must be. Unfortunately this overshadowed all the good points.

We stayed a Fri and Sat night, obviously busy for the club, and we're treated to thumping dance music late both nights. A patience-stretching 3:30am finish on the Sun a.m when the occupants spilled out onto the street below our window, who shouted, fought (and even got arrested) until well after 4am. I think some revellers were staying on our floor, lucky us, as loud conversations and lots of door banging went on in hallway for another half an hour. I think around 5ish I fell asleep for an hour or so until the days work began for the maids (who's store cupboard was beside our door). We were offered to move rooms at 1:30 am, which we declined as my husband had felt unwell for most of the evening and didn't want to get up and move rooms at that time, and we were told it should be over at around 2:30.

If there are quiet rooms available to move people to in the middle of the night, why aren't we put in them in the first place? It would seem to make sense to give guests and staff as little grief as possible in this seemingly ongoing situation. If you value your sleep as much as I do I would not recommend a weekend here, not sure if weeknights are as bad. We have returned home feeling extremely tired and dreading Monday morning!

Room Tip: Stay away from lower floors at the front of the hotel, unless you're an all night clubber! (Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbruce72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear sbruce72,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your deluxe premium room and the courteous service you received fro the team.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise unreservedly for the noise disturbance you experienced from a neighbouring business. There is a strict agreement in place to ensure that noise from this club does not reach a level that it impacts on our guests; clearly this agreement was breached on the Saturday night you refer to. The matter is being addressed at the highest levels as our key priority is to ensure that all our guests receive a good night's sleep.

sbruce72, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss this matter in more detail.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel in a great location! Staff is amazing! We approached the front desk just to ask if all rooms and beds were the same size as we got a queen size and my husband is super tall and Joanna took it upon herself to move us to a king size bed room free of charge! She went above and beyond and we were not really requesting an upgrade but just asking! Will definitely come back and recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ana P,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel.

I am delighted that you encountered amazing staff and in particular Joanna, who provided you with a room that met your requirements. . I have passed your kind comments on to all the team, as such feedback makes everyone's day!

Ana P, thank you so much for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Perfection in every area at this hotel. From the moment of arriving to be met by concierge who took charge of luggage, the reception very professional and helpful. The room, on fifth floor excellent situated facing courtyard. Chambermaid very good, one of the many behind the scenes staff who contribute to this hotels excellence and finally the breakfast area managed most professional and efficiently by staff.

An altogether excellent stay made most enjoyable by all staff concerned.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1939northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 1939northeast,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and found perfection in every area of the hotel.


I am equally pleased to read you found the team friendly, efficient and professional. I have passed your kind comments on to everyone, as such feedback makes everyone's day!

1939northeast, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night at the Fitzwilliam on a mid-April weekend in a 5th floor room facing the back court yard. From the minute we arrived outside the door of the hotel, bags in hand, we were helped by attentive, engaging and professional staff. It had been a long day traveling so being relieved of all concerns immediately upon entering was much appreciated. Standard but adequate size room for a downtown hotel with very comfortable queen bed and lovely, well equipped shower/ bath. It was quiet as well for sleeping. Breakfast offered a huge selection and abundance of food. They also kept our luggage in storage while we visited Dublin the next day. For its convenience, well trained and professional staff and for its comfort, we are very happy to have chosen this hotel. All downtown Dublin hotels are pricey and this is no exception. I give it a 4-star only because of the briefness of our visit. Otherwise, wonderful place to stay in Dublin.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Janier22,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, from the moment you arrived to when you collected your luggage after your day exploring the city.

I was particularly pleased to read you found the team attentive, engaging and professional. I have passed your kind comments on to everyone, as such feedback makes everyone's day!

Janier22, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to welcoming both of you back to The Fitzwilliam for a longer and more leisurely stay.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Extremely Disappointed. Ordered food in the bar that took ages to come. The experience was like Faulty Towers, saw one guest open his own bottle of wine as bar man was unable to open it. Other guests did not receive expresso after asking for them three times. Don't know how this is a five star hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Pat C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city.

There are many aspects of a hotel, other than it's bar, that go towards a five star rating. I note that you have made no reference to other hotel, facilities, such as guest room; therefore it is unclear from your review whether or not you were resident in the hotel and had an opportunity to experience the hotel in it's entirety.

However, it is clear from your feedback that your meal experience in the bar did not live up to your expectations and I would like to extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. Should you wish to discus the matter in further detail, I would be delighted to speak with you.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Wonderful hotel,Excellent staff. Our stay was enjoyable from start to finish. From our daughter coming home to an Easter egg on her bed to the bar staff making her her own apple martinis. Staff couldn't have been more attentive to all our needs we couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Carolyn C,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. I have taken the liberty of passing on your wonderful feedback to all the team, as such comments make everyone's day.

Carolyn C, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing