We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel & Service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was on a business trip with a colleague and we loved this hotel. Wonderful service - from the front desk, to the concierge, to the cleaning staff, bar and finally at the restaurant. The rooms are smaller than the usual American hotel rooms, but it has all the amenities (shampoo, conditioner, nice towels and soaps). The staff even loaned us a converter for our powerful hairdryer and curling iron as we brought the wrong ones! The evening concierge gave us a wonderful recommendation for local places to eat (and he was spot on). The hotel is centrally located and across the street from Trinity College. We paid a bit extra upfront and online to get a daily hot breakfast (the usual pastries, fruit, yogurt plus wonderful Irish sausage or bacon and eggs) - so glad we did as it made our mornings much easier. Dublin is such a walkable city - we were next to Grafton Street and the hip fun Temple Bar area. We didn't need public transportation as we just walked everywhere. The hotel even has free loaner umbrellas!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sile365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Sile354,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the hotel so much from the wonderful service you received to the room facilities and the location.

I am really pleased you enjoyed the recommendations of the concierge team and I have passed you kind comment on to them.

We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and I am delighted that you enjoyed the variety and quality of items available.

Sile365, when business or leisure next brings you to Dublin, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    635
    222
    69
    44
See reviews for
402
1,218
117
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found this hotel has a great location with very friendly staff with the Concierge standing out.
The room was a little disappointing for the price, we found the room was very warm and small,
when you turned on the air conditioning it was very noisy. Bathroom was small with a shower in the bath. Shower gel and Shampoo could be better quality and the hotel could do with been
a little more generous with same. The Bar in the hotel is very nice and we were given a voucher on check in for a free cocktail, this was very thoughtful and kind. The lobby area is a little worn especially the leather seats which need attention. Overall great location, room a little small but the
staff are very helpful and are always willing to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent size room as they could not be all as small as the room we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Damian044,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased you found the team very friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge team.

I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations; we have several room types and sizes available and we would be delighted to discuss the various, more spacious options available to you. I have noted your comments regarding the bathroom amenities.

We have an on-going programme of maintenance and our lobby chairs are scheduled for replacement over the coming month.

I am delighted you had an opportunity to have a drink in the bar and that you found the team friendly and helpful.

Damian044, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

All in all a very good night in a hotel: Very central, great staff, spacious and clean rooms.

Breakfast not included in normal room price, had it anyway, it was ok, not great.

Point for improvement:
A bit of a queue on check-out, which is always annoying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familiyguy4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Familyguy4fun,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am glad that you had a very good night's stay with us and that you found your room spacious and clean. I am really pleased that the team provided great service.

I am sorry that you experienced a bit of a queue on check-out; we have an express check-out facility with allows you to avoiding any queuing and to depart without delay.

I have noted your comments regarding breakfast and I would greatly appreciate some more detailed feedback.

Familyguy4fun, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a three-night (May 4-6) stay at the Fitzwilliam Hotel in Dublin. It's located in the heart of Dublin, just across the street from St. Stephen's Green - up from Grafton street. We (my wife and me) came to the Fitzwilliam after spending three days on tour, arriving mid-day on Sunday. We were greeted by Cora Caples, Service Manager, who took another of our group to her room personally. She told us our room was not ready yet, so come to the bar and have some tea and talk. When our room was ready in half-hour she escorted to our room, showed us all - AC controls, lights, TV, Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe, etc. She was our first of many delights at the Fitzwilliam. The room was very good - clean and quiet. The costs reasonable for the room and location.

The next morning my wife and I came to downstairs to find that a hot breakfast was included with our room stay. Two of the waiters, Peter and Olesea did an outstanding job on service refilling our coffee/tea, bringing toast while it was still hot, checking in often to see if there was anything else we wanted. We were so impressed with the service (unlike a recent experience in the US) I talked to the department manager, Ivan, telling him about the excellent service and quality of the food. He asked us where we were from, had we been to Dublin, where else had we stayed. In our discussion he found that we had an early (5:30AM) cab ride to the airport and arranged breakfast to-go, three hard-boiled eggs, rolls, two sandwiches, and two bottles of water. That all arrived on time the day we left.

We arranged with the Dublin visitor center to have two tickets for a Dublin Green bus tour sent to us at the Fitzwilliam, on Sunday, but only one ticket arrived. It was a Sunday so no one answered the phone at the tourist office. We then spoke to concierge, Tony, who said "no worries" I'll call them tomorrow to get your tickets. He was not able to get them (Monday was a bank holiday), but he got us Dublin Red tour bus tickets and we were off for the day as planned with no delay.

We were also trying to see a play while staying in Dublin, so asked Patrick (the other concierge) and Tony if they could arrange two tickets. The next day they had good news - two tickets in the best seats in the house had been arranged. They also booked a cab for our airport trip.

So our first experience a the Fitzwilliam was excellent! Excellent location, room, and staff. They all went beyond what we expected to make us happy with the hotel.

Ross.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which was quiet and a quick trip on the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Alice & Ross,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really delighted to read both of you enjoyed your stay so much. I was a pleasure to meet both of you and spend some time chatting with you. I am so pleased that you managed to complete all the sightseeing you planned and that you have an opportunity to see the play you so wanted to go to.

I am delighted that all the team members you encountered went beyond your expectations in terms of the service you received from them. I have passed your kind comments on to everyone and in particular those you have named; such feedback makes everyone's efforts so worthwhile!

Alice & Ross, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I booked this hotel for a HS graduation trip for a niece, so we would be close to shopping and other activities in Dublin. It couldn't have worked out better. We were steps away from Grafton Street and shopping; great food; theater; park and more.

Every room is wonderfully designed by Sir Terence Conran and perhaps was one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in -- largely due to serene park/grassy views.

Although we didn't stick around much to use the hotels restaurants, we found the service to be warm, friendly and with great suggestions. You feel a little like home. And one of the doormen even hugged us goodbye. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Pjhan,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel; it certainly makes exploring the city exceptionally easy.

I am delighted that you encountered warm friendly service from the team and that they provided you with great suggestions. I have passed you kind comments on to everyone as such feedback makes everyone's day.

Pjhahn, when your travels next bring you to Dublin we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay at the Fitzwilliam was very nice; overall I can't complain about the hotel which was extremely modern and beautifully appointed. They seemed under-staffed during our stay with them which caused some delays with the concierge and check in process. The hotel is extremely convenient and provides a great central location to all sites in Dublin. There were just a few things missing to make this an outstanding 5 star experience in my opinion and that simply may be a mismatch in expectations on my part. My minor complaints were simply that there was nothing special that stood out to welcome guests upon arrival or a desire to go above and beyond on the service front. The corridors were long and dark, the rooms were fairly narrow (though fine for the few days we stayed there). Overall though great location, extremely clean and modern chic hotel, just not quite in the world class 5 star level. Solid 4 stars though and definitely worth a stay at the right price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Nicola C,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the quality and cleanliness of the rooms.

I am sorry that you experienced some delays at concierge and check-in and that our service levels did not exceed your expectations. It is not clear from your review what time you arrived. We fully staff all areas to meet business needs. However at peak times, even with full staffing, occasional delays can occur.

Nicola C, when your travels next bring you to Dublin I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam so that you can experience the levels of exceptional service that our guests regularly comment on. Please feel free to contact me directly I would be delighted to personally deal with your reservation.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here at the start of May.
I have experienced other 5* hotels in Dublin and have to say that the Fitzwilliam is not near on par with them. Its more akin to an average four star hotel.
I ordered room service at approximately 02:30 asking for a ham sandwich only to be told that "We've no ham !" ok how about a cheese sandwich ? Nah sorry mate...no cheese. so what have you got. I can give you chicken. Now a chicken sandwich should be fairly straight forward but it still took 40 minutes to get it. I thought being a 5* hotel butter would be included in the price of a sandwich however I was wrong, Two pieces of dry bread and a few "lumps" of chicken constitute a sandwich here apparently ! -
Two glasses of milk and a miserable chicken sandwich I found myself relived to the tune of €18.50. Seriously ! 5* prices for a 2* service.
Would I recommend the Fitzwilliam......
The location is excellent however, It shouldn't be a 5* and when compared with the competition. it falls far behind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madmax25000,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. It is clear from your review that your room service experience did not live up to your or my expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for such an inexcusable experience.

Madmax25000 I would greatly appreciate you contacting me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss this matter in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,941 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing