We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It's right across the street from St. Steven's Green which is an amazing park. It's very close to Trinity College, Grafton Street, etc. The rooms were small but comfortable. The staff was great...they went out of their way to help us find places to eat and recommended some really charming pubs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear HeidiLoo,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and for your recommendation.

Our location certainly makes it very easy to explore all that the city has to offer. St. Stephen's Green is particularly wonderful at this time of year and it is great you had an opportunity to visit it.

We have several room type and sizes available, so when you are next planning a trip to Dublin please contact us directly and we would be delighted to go through the various options with you.

I am really pleased that the team went out of their way to assist you in recommendations for restaurants and pubs. I have passed you kind comments on to everyone as such feedback makes everyone's day.

HeidiLoo, when your travels next bring you to Dublin, we would look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Fitzwilliam!

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    603
    208
    66
    42
See reviews for
371
1,159
112
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After traveling around Ireland all week by car, I decided to pick a luxury hotel for two nights in Dublin, no matter the cost. In other words, my goal was to splurge and not to look for a good bargain. Our suite was wonderful and very comfortable. The bath tub was huge. Sometimes it was hard to pull ourselves away because we just wanted to relax in our room. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very helpful to a couple of neophytes. I felt safe and new we could find someone to help us if we ever had questions or needed advice. Our room was spacious but there was not view to speak of. I was able to ditch the rental car early and take a taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: Our suite had ample room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GribblyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear GribblyS,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your last days in Ireland so much and that you felt you could ditch the rental car early and explore Dublin without it!

It is great that you found the team so helpful and that there was always someone available to assist you with your queries; I have passed you kind comments on to the team as such feedback makes everyone's day.

Gribbly S, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome both of you back to the Fitzwilliam!

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Starting with the positive - the location was simply amazing. Right in the heart of Dublin, walking distance to all the great places to visit. However, this is not a hotel I would stay at again. Nothing was terrible, but everything was less than satisfactory - the room was nice but small, the bathroom was clean but the faucet leaked, the in-room hot beverage was instant coffee and cheap teabags (beautiful cups and teapot, though), and the minibar malfunctioned. The worst part of the experience was being charged 10 Euros for one local phone call, which the check-out staff wasn't able to resolve. If this were a budget hotel, I would not have complained, but it was definitely not worth the luxury hotel rate we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Yvonne L,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and thought your room was nice.

We have a number of different room categories and sizes; it is not immediately clear from the review which room type you reserved. I can only assume it was an entry level room, which would not have the same floor space as higher category rooms.

The in-room tea coffee facility is complimentary and should any guest prefer a loose leaf tea or freshly brewed coffee, we are only too delighted to deliver it to the room.

I regret that the faucet was leaking in your room as all rooms are inspected on a daily basis to ensure they are fault free. I have also noted your feedback regarding your telephone call. Should you wish to discuss your review in more detail, please contact me directly at the hotel and I shall be delighted to take your call.

Yvonne L, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel right beside the main shopping area in Dublin (Grafton St. etc.) and also many attractions. Staff really friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere in the lobby. Room was not as spacious as I would have thought but plenty for 2 people. I liked the seated area beside the window. Bathroom lovely and clean though I noticed quite a bad crack in a tile which took away from the presentation. Didn't have breakfast included which was fine since there are many beautiful places for breakfast nearby. Parking facilities and price was superb. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Alpini,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and for your recommendation.

I am delighted you found the team friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the comfort and décor of the hotel.

Our on-site car park does provide excellent value for anyone arriving to the hotel by car and I am pleased that you availed of that facility.

Alpini, when your travels bring you to Dublin again, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great hotel and location. We were in walking distance to many attractions, and the location is safe. Service was outstanding and our plan included breakfast which offered many options and was delicious. Someday we plan to return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jeanine F,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and for your recommendation. I am delighted you found the service outstanding and that you enjoyed the extensive range on offer for breakfast.

Jeanine F, when your travels bring you to Dublin again, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Would not say there was anything particular good or bad about the Fitzwilliam. It was just pretty averagely nice! Staff friendly, rooms clean, breakfast ok. I had a problem with the shower temperature which was a tad annoying - mentioned it to the check out staff who were very understanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear randj06,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you found the team friendly, rooms clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I am sorry that you had a difficulty with your shower temperature and I thank you for informing us of that matter, so that we could immediately resolve it.

randj06, should you travels bring you to Dublin again, we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diemtigen
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was three days / three nights in this hotel. First the positive aspectes: I have rarely encountered such friendly, helpful staff at the concierge desk or at the front desk of a hotel. The people there deserve an Oscar. The room was large and spacious, the bathroom as well. The central situation of the hotel may also be mentioned on the positive side.
Unfortunately, I cannot say same for the infrastructure. I did not get the quiet room with "panoramic views of the courtyard" as ordered and promised. Despite the thick double-window the noise of the street musicians could be heard. As a bonus, I could hear all night an irritating sound that I believed to come from the engine room next to it. The breakfast buffet is approximately equal to that in a three, maximum four-star hotel. The TV probably came from the nineties, foreign language programs unavailable. Unfortunately, I also had bad luck with the free Wi-Fi offered: it worked simply not in spite of the amiable and energetic help of the staff from the concierge desk and the reception. The Gym consists of three units, one of which did not work, and a pair of dumbbells. Reading at night in bed was impossible; the lamps spread an extremely dim light. Under these conditions no longer disturbed the rather uncomfortable seating.

Room Tip: If you cannot stand the coulour purple, book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meisen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear meisen45,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you have rarely encountered such a friendly and helpful Reception or Concierge team.

I was equally pleased to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of your room and bathroom.

I am sorry that you did not receive a courtyard room as requested; I cannot determine from the review whether or not you made any of the team aware; as they would have immediately moved you to a courtyard garden room.

I have noted the comments regarding breakfast, tv and wifi, fitness room and lighting levels in the room. It is not clear from your feedback, whether or not you alerted any of the team to your need for stronger lighting - as they would have immediately provided you with an additional lamp.

meisen45, I trust your onward journey was a safe one and we thank you for your feedback.

With kind regards,


Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing