We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We managed to get a reasonable rate for the hotel but room only. It was absolutely fantastic. The guys on Concierge were just amazing - providing every possible piece of information you could want and making a huge contribution towards a wonderful stay. The location at St Stephen's Green was just excellent for getting around the City Centre. The only reason for giving a 4 for value was the hotel's breakfast - 23 Euro each per night. I thought that was excessive however, chocolates put in the room every night, fresh apples on the landing, free sparkling water in the minibar and a room to die for...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuzeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    619
    218
    68
    43
See reviews for
391
1,190
117
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Fitzwilliam is a great hotel - a luxurious, modern feel as soon as you walk through the door. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was quite small but very comfortable and we even had a balcony with table and chairs which overlooked St. Stephen's Green. The Fitzwilliam is not cheap but I managed to find a really good deal on getroomscheaper which was fantastic. Breakfast is quite pricey but again, good quality.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Travla_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The hotel was very tastefully decorated. We had an early flight over so arrived t 11.30am. We checked in straight away and a room was available. This was great as it allowed us to explore the city straight away. The room was lovely and clean, very modern with a VERY comfortable bed! Tea and coffee provided, plus the usual things you'd expect from a hotel of this standard. The only downside was that the shower went cold once when I was showering. We found Dublin to be quite expensive to eat out. But we went to a place called Dandelion bar/restaurant almost next door to the hotel. There we had 2 for 1 on meals which was an added bonus. On a saturday night too! The food was lovely and would well recommend that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhols60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Booked a two day surprise trip to Dublin for my partner and picked the Fitzwilliam on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor. It didn't disappoint. Staff and service were courteous and incredibly friendly, from the lady who checked us in, to the concierge and lovely bar staff. The location is ideal, being right on St Stephen's Green - staggering distance from nightlife, but far enough to get a great night's sleep (which we did). We booked a standard room, which wasn't huge, but fine for our needs and very tastefully decorated. The bathroom and shower were lovely. Lots of nice touches (got to love the tasty chocs that come with the turn down service), very comfortable bed, and free wifi and gym facilities. We ate out, so I cannot comment on the standard of the food. Was sad to leave - would definitely stay again. Lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokingGnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Clare
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Fitzwilliam and besides the fantastic location, the food, our room etc etc, our favourite part was the service and you really do deserve the 5 star rating when it comes to the staff. We felt so welcome and “nothing” was problem or inconvenience. It really felt like you only hire staff that love doing what they do and even at the end of a long shift they didn’t even show how tired they were. Realistically, I know not everyone is in good form from morning to night but I am so glad that it felt like they were. Thank you all for a wonderful stay,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Dissatisfied with concierge staff over lost washing. Were not very interested in helping.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneemPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed there for three nights twice during a recent trip to Ireland. For tourists, the location is superb. Grafton Street and a host of nice restaurants are within an easy walk and St. Stephens Green is across the street. The hotel is very good, but not spectacular. The rooms are well done and nicely appointed, perhaps a trifle small. Lots of closet space for luggage so you can make good use of the space you have. Bathrooms were very modern and up to American standards for a shower. The breakfast service, which was included in our room rate, had a lot of variety and ample seating for couples and families. The clientele seemed to be both American and European. The number of rooms is larger than I thought from the internet, but it did not seem too crowded. We had two rooms and we pleased when one of them was available when we arrived around noon on a Saturday from our overnight flight. The hotel happily kept our larger bags when we went down to Cork for a couple of nights. The lobby was not appealing, creates a bad impression, and needs to be rethought, but is not a reason to stay away. Too many smokers near the open doors kept the entry way unpleasant.
There may be a couple of nicer hotels in Dublin (although not many), but the location of the Fitzwilliams is among the very best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing