We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of luxury and quality with friendly proffessional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We spent a night in the FitzWilliam Hotel as a treat. The reason that I had chosen it was due to a recommendation by a friend, and due to a competitive price despite its 5 star rating. Its central location was terrific, our lovely room was overlooking St Stephens Green. The food was absolutely delicious, some of the best food I have ever tasted in Ireland. My highest praise is for the staff, they were so warm and friendly whilst being professional and discreet. We had a marvelous Irish waitress in the dining room, who told us she was from Galway, who made our meal so special with her warmth and cheerfulness. She was a little gem! The only thing better than the dinner was the breakfast, fantastic. I highly recommend the hotel for the style, luxury and quality of food, service and affordability. Great value for money, a real treat !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DetriotHagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,237 - 2,243 of 2,828 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

I picked this hotel because of the reviews on here & because of it's great location. I wasn't disappointed! The location is superb, on St Stephen's Green you are centrally located for shops, bars & restaurants, all within walking distance. Staff were friendly & helpful. My one complaint is that there was a peculiar smell on our floor, not sure what it was, but couldn't smell it in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsVAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

so the first room i go to the TV doesnt work and the wifi doesnt connect me, Get changed to a new room - and the TV doesnt work and the Wifi doesnt connect me - get the drift - Then the door falls off the mini bar, room looks ok albeit a bit small but the electrics are dodgy - light keeps flickering an and off, too tired to try and ring down to get someone to fix it,
go to bar and gin and toninc is warm, and expensive, and the bar food - dont bother- watery steak like it had been stewed. I just dont understand why people pay to stay here - because probably they are like me and the company does. Staff are ok - but all European - you know what i mean - no one really speaks english,. OK up to a point, Then the breakfast arrives 20 minutes late in my room - so have to rush before a meeting,

I wouldnt bother staying here if it was my own money., Rip off Britain - woops sorry Ireland, .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorahCaples, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear jcqhill,

Thank you for posting your review during your stay at the hotel. Having investigated the matter I have determined that there was a poor picture quality in your first room; however the wifi and wired connections were and are, in full working order. The Manager on Duty, who came to your assistance, actually demonstrated on your own laptop how to use the system. Due to the picture quality, he immediately moved you to another room, where all fixtures and fittings were in perfect working order. We maintain the hotel to a very high standard and this includes all lights and electrics. If fact we have re-inspected your room to ensure that lights, electrics and wifi are in perfect working order – they are.

I further understand that the same Manager on Duty assisted you in the use of your United Kingdom mobile and explained that for Irish telecom users, you need to provide them with the UK prefix of “+44”, so that they can contact you during your stay in Dublin as the UK and Republic of Ireland are two separate countries with independent dialing codes.

All our gin and tonics are served with plenty of ice, unless otherwise requested by our customers. I understand from my bar team, that they checked on your meal and you indicated that everything was ok and that you completely finished your meal. Clearly it wasn’t and had you informed the team of your dissatisfaction, they would have more than happily offered you an alternative.

We have a mix of nationalities working in the hotel and all have proficient levels of spoken English. In fact, the Duty Manager that assisted you is from Dublin and like most Irish people, English is his first language and Gaelic is his second language.

As a gesture of goodwill, we have already placed a bottle of your preferred wine in your room and also two complimentary drinks vouchers. I sincerely hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay at The Fitzwilliam Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin and Ireland in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Right on Stephen's Green. Right near the main shopping area. Christmas lights abounded. It ended up perfectly as we were there for lots of snow.. got to walk around the Green in that perfect early morning still of fresh snow. Cool little bar area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janit368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

fantastic hotel, great amenities not to mention the perfect central location. the staff was welcoming, very helpful and made us feel right at home. favorite hotel in dublin

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Cleanliness
Thank etepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed here for my new years eve with my young child and boyfriend. We stayed in a "average room" but there was "average" about it, the style was modern and flawless. on our first night we arrived late, so we ordered room service. The portions were perfect amount, and they had no problem for me to offer off menu for my young son. The young man who served it to our room as a sweetheart who made me and my boyfriend feel in great hands. For our new years eve celebration we went to the restaurant for your meal. It was FABULOUS! At first the service as scattery when a young (Polish? or Russian?) man was rushed about as it was very busy but by the starters a Irish girl came and stayed as our waitress, and from then there was no such thing as no! our glasses were never empty and our bellys were kept full. My son became a huge fan of hers when she showed him a magic trick, and some how got him to eat his potatoes..I don't know how she did it but what i do know is that this hotel has amazing five star service.. I would recommend it to the Queen! I'll be back !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaMay2008Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

On arrival at the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin we were very warmly greated. The checkin receptionist took us up to our room, which had a lovely four poster bed with a little balcony overlooking St Stephens Green.
Chocolate covered Strawberrys were also left in our room and a birthday wish from the manager.
The dinner in the restaurant was lovely and over looked reception area. The bar was lively with great service.
Breakfasts were fantastic, so much choice.
The only recommendation I would give to the hotel would be for some biscuits to be available to have with coffee/tea in room.
Could here music coming from the niteclub next door, but soon fell asleep so not too annoying.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortysomething15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 HE18, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £170 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing