We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #57 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This Hotel is well placed and gives great access to all of the cities attractions. The Hotel bar and lounges are very plush and relaxing. I stayed in the fifth floor and the room was ok. Small and a little dated. I was not there to sit in my room however. It was a family get together and I have some musts for vsistors.

1. Go to Jonnie Foxes. Bus picks you up outside the hotel (10 euro) return, Best night out in Dublin. Great meal and Great Show.

2.Go to the Italian Corner over the penny bridge. (Best Italian Meal I have ever had)

The tour buses sit outside the Gresham so you cannot go wrong.

Thanks to Charlie and Eugene who were staff at the Hotel. Great advice on where to eat,drink and pray!!.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,022 - 3,028 of 4,462 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

From checkin to checkout this hotel is excellent. We had a fabulous big room with double and single beds plus sitting area. Staff were all very efficient and friendly. Good buzz in Toddys bar.
Will definately stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneH212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Already one month ago and had forgotten to write a review. This indicates the hotel: it is OK, but not great; it is easy to forget. I remember the staff being very friendly and the breakfast being very good. For the rest the place is a bit run down although it has most of the basics. Don't expect luxuries, although the location is reasonably ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Super location. Right in the middle of things. Great welcome. Super staff. We didn't have a main meal, but the sandwiches, soups etc we did have were fresh and tasty.We've only visited twice, but we'll be back. No comment re pool or spa as we didn't frequent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We arrived at what we thought was a 4* hotel. Reception was good, checking in simple.. All that changed when arrived at our room( Room 111 ). The panel was falling off the bath, the room was small and dated.. I complained to reception, and we were upgraded to a deluxe room. This was very nice, airy and on the new side of the hotel.. (Room 560) no extra charge..
Staff were hit and miss, some ok, some not so ok!
In my honest opinion, do not stay here if you are after a 4* hotel.. Stay at the Westbury !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Only stay in a room on the 5th floor, the rest are dated....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at the Gresham hotel.

I arrived a couple of hours before check-in and they explained that they had been really busy the night before and didn't have any rooms ready but that the concierge would take care of my luggage. Then the receptionist saw that I was from Canada and asked me if I had travelled that day and I said I'd been travelling for 24 hours! Immediately one of the other receptionists got on the phone to housekeeping and they located me an upgraded room that was ready. The first receptionist then promptly got back onto housekeeping and got them to 'VIP' the room.

I checked in 2 hours early and enjoyed the extras that the receptionist had arranged for me, like a bathrobe, slippers, chocolates and sparkling water. I was so extremely tired and so very grateful for their thoughtfulness and was able to get into the room and get some rest so that I could then enjoy the rest of the day in Dublin.

I don't think you could wish for a more conveniently located hotel for everything in Dublin. I loved being able to pop out for shopping, etc.

The hotel and room was great and I loved dining in the Bistro.

After checking out I found a minor error with my bill which they immediately rectified when I e-mailled.

I enjoyed the Gresham and thanks particularly receptionists for your thoughtfulness!!

Room Tip: Upgrade and back of hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Three days at the Dublin Gresham from where we managed a game of golf, a night at the theatre and a day's shopping and sightseeing was as good as it gets.
The food was great, the room was clean and bright, the bed and linen had quality and choice, the staff were efficient and friendly and the central location of the hotel made travelling easy.
Despite the recession the Hotel offered good value for money without cutting corners.
On our next trip to Ireland we shall return to the Gresham for another helping of the good life.
John & Anne Walshe
A Hampshire Couple

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking OConnell Street combine interest and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £82 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing