We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in the beautiful old Gresham Dublin for a one night city break - hotel is fabulous though our room was a little on the small side -it was spotless and very comfortable & it suited us perfectly - we did not sample the breakfast (@
€25pp we thought it was a little steep) - highly recommended as a central city break!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,379 - 2,385 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I have just spent a long weekend at the Gresham in Dublin celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary.
The hotel was excellent all round and allowed us to check in early to our room which was a great bonus as we had been on the go since 05:30am. (Thanks to Jamie in reception)
We had a very spacious, quiet and very clean room in the Lavery quarter, the room and hotel in general was in excellent decorative order throughout.
All the staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly on all occasions and the general feel of the hotel was one of old world comfort, service & looking after their guests without the 'stuffiness' or coldness sometimes encountered in large hotels.
We are not planning on waiting for our 50th Wedding anniversary to return, in fact I would say that it will be our priority to figure out how/when we can return to this lovely hotel sooner rather than later!!
Thanks for making this a very pleasant stay!
Norrie & Sarah Waddell

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bladerunner1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very good "Lavery" Room -Very clean and everything was as one would expect. Great central Dublin location - Lobby and Bar very spacious and relaxing - very attentive service here - very good breakfast Excellent overall

Room Tip: Lavery Rooms are very good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay in this hotel in centre of Dublin. Warm , cosy and very friendly , excellent food , secure car parking , had a standard room which was beautiful , well furnished complete with all items required. More to the standard of superior rooms in other hotels. Will be back again , in essence,a tranquil relaxed time.
Thanks to all the staff
E P. N I.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11libby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We staying at the Gresham for a 2 night weekend break, location was perfect for shopping in Henry Street and Grafton Street. Breakfast was a real treat fresh hot food at the buffet and an array of breads etc, crossiants were like they had just been defrosted though, definately not just fresh & crispy out of a hot oven which was a bit of a let-down.
We booked our stay directly with the hotel a couple of months before our stay, & i had contacted the hotel before our arrival to confirm a room that would be on the quite side this was not the room we received, room was just average, extremely small all i can say it was clean and somewhere to put your head down not luxury or exciting at all. Saying this if i was going on another girly weekend i would stay here for the location. Staff was very friendly and really tried their best to make sure you had everything you needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerbomb_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very grand looking and everybody looked the part. However, service was very slow. Everything was grossly over priced. Breakfast was no different from more base hotels. Its a shame they don't try harder with customer satisfaction. It seems they hire too few people but charge the customer as though the level of service is no more than average at best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank RoyalNavy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked in to the Gresham as part of my partners 40th birthday celebrations and upon arrival were treated to a room upgrade ( fabulous) and later '40th birthday' muffins were delivered to our room (what a lovely touch). This personalised treatment is the best way to describe our stay at The Gresham, we were made to feel special, very welcome, relaxed, and extremely well looked after. Looking forward to staying there again and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a perfect, central location to explore Dublin.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £101 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing