We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid -week stay in the Gresham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mid -week stay in the Gresham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed very much our stay in the Gresham. From start to finish the staff at reception, dining and room were very welcoming and friendly. Ideally situated to shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment areas. We had a lovely room and we look forward to coming back to the Gresham in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,849
    1,192
    582
    279
    132
See reviews for
559
1,832
212
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is the second time I have visited Dublin but the first at this hotel and it's somewhere I would return to.
It's an ideal location on the main road with a bus stop right outside. As busy as the street is the noise does not filter into the hotel, which is nice.
There is a tourist office within meters of the hotel, and several places to eat nearby.
We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, the staff were brilliant in helping, they kept our luggage without us having to check in. It meant that I could head out without carrying everything with me.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, what more could you want.
We stayed on a B&B basis, which I would highly recommend, it's definitely value for money and caters for all diets and all ages. I don't think I have yet discovered a hotel that offers so much choice for breakfast alone. The staff that work there are really friendly and are always happy to help.
The building itself is beautifully decorated and very well maintained giving it a very grand feel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roshni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Dublin . The stately building in the center of Dublin still exudes a certain class. Friendly staff at the front desk , but in the bar or lounge you have to wait a long time before you can get a drink. During the busy periods there is not enough staff available to serve you .
But most important : watch out for thieves ...... One evening we were sitting in the salon/bar when suddenly an older and rather messy lady sat down next to us. We found this woman rather mysterious and suspicious. Suddenly she placed her handbag right next to my wife 's handbag . After a few moments she left again, and she took her handbag together with my wife 's handbag .
She tried to walk out immediately, but fortunately one of the waiters had seen this and he could stop her , and he could give us back my wife's handbag. Everything went very fast that we did not really realize immediately what had happened .
So beware if you sit in the lounge / bar for the thieves ! !

Furthermore, this hotel was O.K. Renovation would perhaps be necessary

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peters188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The Gresham is a beautiful old building with a grand foyer and lobby. My room, 308 was facing out onto O'Connoll st and had a great view. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was spacious and modern. My only regret was the furniture was flat pack and not at all fitting of a grand old hotel. I had room service which was adequate and hot. Close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

It is in the RIGHT centre of Dublin. Very easy to get to the city tout buses, coaches to the airport, railway station and all attractions. It's a good choice and a smart choice. By the way, the service and staff are all excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived early and asked if we could leave luggage until check in time.The young lady said she would check if a room was available which it was,Good start.The room was spacious and spotlessly clean.Staff on daek and on duty in foyer were really helpful at all times.The Writers Lounge is a great place to eat or have a drink,.Get a window table and watch Dublin go by.Have stayed here on several occasions mostly to go to theatre and the Gresham has always come up trumps. Will be back

Room Tip: ask for large quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just returned from a weekend at the Gresham hotel and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, accommodation and the food. Everyone went out of their way to make sure there was nothing we needed or wanted especially at Toddy's restaurant.

I can't wait for an opportunity to return

Room Tip: Request a room near a lift. Can be a lengthy walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Hazel W

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel in Dublin.

I am delighted to read you had enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly upon any future stays, so I may ensure you receive our best room rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing