We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who spoke about a concert we were attending to me little things like that mean a lot. The hotel was stunning and central to bars an restraunts, the room was simple but beautiful, checkout time is at 12 which is perfect as it gives u the time to have a shower get breakfast etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting dublin as the price was extremely reasonable, the location was perfect and the hotel itself was beautiful. Next time I go to dublin I will be booking again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,848
    1,192
    582
    279
    132
See reviews for
559
1,831
212
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed in the Gresham before, and keep returning because it fits in exactly with the interests my wife and I have when we come to visit Dublin. I have a particular interest in Joyce and in the early years of the 20th Century. Most of the places I love are within easy walking distance. My wife loves to potter about, and there is no better base for pottering than the Writers' Lounge in the Gresham. Here the staff are friendly without being forward and are anxious to ensure that the visitor - no better place to relax between expeditions. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you might want.(except, sometimes, for a view). Breakfast was delicious. We did not have a meal in the hotel on this visit, but we have had in the past and have enjoyed our meals very much. For anyone interested in malt whisky (or whiskey), Toddy's Bar is a must. From the check-in staff to the porter as we left, we couldn't have been looked after by a frriendlier group of people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect right in the centre of the city.
Stunning hotel with everything on your door step. the staff are exceptional, very helpfully and pleasant . The food and service in the restaurant is excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a pleasure staying in such beautifully surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed very much our stay in the Gresham. From start to finish the staff at reception, dining and room were very welcoming and friendly. Ideally situated to shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment areas. We had a lovely room and we look forward to coming back to the Gresham in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is the second time I have visited Dublin but the first at this hotel and it's somewhere I would return to.
It's an ideal location on the main road with a bus stop right outside. As busy as the street is the noise does not filter into the hotel, which is nice.
There is a tourist office within meters of the hotel, and several places to eat nearby.
We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning, the staff were brilliant in helping, they kept our luggage without us having to check in. It meant that I could head out without carrying everything with me.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, what more could you want.
We stayed on a B&B basis, which I would highly recommend, it's definitely value for money and caters for all diets and all ages. I don't think I have yet discovered a hotel that offers so much choice for breakfast alone. The staff that work there are really friendly and are always happy to help.
The building itself is beautifully decorated and very well maintained giving it a very grand feel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roshni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Dublin . The stately building in the center of Dublin still exudes a certain class. Friendly staff at the front desk , but in the bar or lounge you have to wait a long time before you can get a drink. During the busy periods there is not enough staff available to serve you .
But most important : watch out for thieves ...... One evening we were sitting in the salon/bar when suddenly an older and rather messy lady sat down next to us. We found this woman rather mysterious and suspicious. Suddenly she placed her handbag right next to my wife 's handbag . After a few moments she left again, and she took her handbag together with my wife 's handbag .
She tried to walk out immediately, but fortunately one of the waiters had seen this and he could stop her , and he could give us back my wife's handbag. Everything went very fast that we did not really realize immediately what had happened .
So beware if you sit in the lounge / bar for the thieves ! !

Furthermore, this hotel was O.K. Renovation would perhaps be necessary

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peters188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The Gresham is a beautiful old building with a grand foyer and lobby. My room, 308 was facing out onto O'Connoll st and had a great view. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was spacious and modern. My only regret was the furniture was flat pack and not at all fitting of a grand old hotel. I had room service which was adequate and hot. Close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing