We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning our next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We bought a deal voucher for this place (a bit surprised to get one for somewhere like this) but weren't complaining!
I would most definitely go back, the staff here are very professional and helpful.
We treated ourselves to fish and chips in the lounge, delicious! we were served by a lovely girl from Poland.
Our room was spotless, the air conditioning was a nice addition. We arrived early and the lady on the desk gave us a room well before check in time.
We are saving to come back and keeping an eye on those voucher sites!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,430 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed overnight in this hotel last year. We were upgraded to a room in the Lavery Wing and found it to be extremely comfortable and clean. We love this hotel because of its very enviable location on Dublins main street making it very convenient to bus and train and pubs with Irish music most nights of the week are literally on the doorstep. The foyer is very ornate and a pleasant place to sit and relax or meet up with friends. We found staff at all points very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a delight. The Gresham has that little extra something that other more modern hotels find hard to replicate. Look forward to returning to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMck_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were greeted ( using that term loosely) by very rude reception staff and shown to a really terrible room. If you do insist on staying here do not book a twin!!!! They are uncomfortably hot also. Lunch was average and had a sign on every table saying ' be careful of your belongings'??!! While its a central location we had been warned about the area, sadly only after arrival by friends who live in Dublin. I normally stay in nicer hotels when in Dublin but stayed here on a girls weekend Travelzoo trip. And we were very much made to feel like 'voucher' people. Breakfast was very busy and people had to wait for tables. Once we were seated it was ok. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: do not choose a twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear MissLuxe
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I do apologise for any inconvenience during your stay and I have sent you a message privately to obtain further information.

When I do receive your information, I shall be delighted to provide you with a more thorough response.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Staff are very professional and accommodating. Room was nice and clean. This hotel is probably not as glamorous as it used to be in the past, but all the same has some grandeur about it. It is a superb location for city centre, as everything is within walking distance.
The room was nice and quiet, despite the city centre location,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snoodiemctockish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is grand on a small scale but still very friendly. We were seated straight away and the afternoon tea was a typical one but on a larger scale. When the stand arrived we thought it was for two but we had one each. Fresh filled sandwiches, cake, scones and more. We started from the bottom and worked our way to the top. Everything was delicious and all for under €20. Five stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend break as part of a Travelzoo special deal and backed up with good Tripadvisor reviews. We can only add to those good reviews with another one. Everything was perfect. Friendly staff, clean room and a good range of restaurants inside the hotel. Probably the best hotel breakfast we have had and on our first morning it was very helpful to be told the layout of the breakfast room and where everything was. Location was perfect, right in the middle of the city and very close to Dublin's 120m high spire, making it easy to navigate back to the hotel if you are on foot and are without a map! If you fly into Dublin airport, the Aircoach (www.aircoach.ie) stops right outside making it a very convenient shuttle choice. If you are flying with Ryanair you can buy tickets onboard at a discount. We also bought tickets for the hop on, hop off sightseeing tour buses through Ryanair, again with a discount. These too stop right outside the hotel. Perfect weekend and delighted with hotel choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N1gel_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days in the Gresham and enjoyed every minute there.
The breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant is great. We love the freshly squeezed orange juice.
The breakfast staff are very helpful especially Julie and Anna.
Our room was spacious and comfortable.
This is out second stay in the Gresham and we intend to stay her again.

Room Tip: We didn't have a good view, but the room was lovely and that was the important thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Splitty, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing