We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip to Dublin. Ideally located in central Dublin. Rooms spacious, clean and tidy. Friendly staff, good food, would highly recommend a stay here. Well located for Airport Coach, which stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    1,268
    612
    301
    146
See reviews for
590
1,931
222
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The exterior of the once grand Gresham belies the interior.We stayed for one night on a stop off before a family wedding and were 'upgraded' to a superior room in an annexed part of the hotel.
Very underwhelmed by how average it all was and can only wonder at what the standard rooms are like.
The buffet style breakfast was very poor and at 20 euros a head serously overpriced.
Stayed an extra night in Dublin as it is a great city and would highly recommend the Kingfisher townhouse B&B- very clean, good breakfast in the adjoining restaurant and only 60 euros a night

Room Tip: Ask to be put in main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear matt m

Thank you for comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I am sorry if you were not happy with your room. I will be more than happy to talk regarding the room and what made you underwhelmed.

The room you had stayed in was in our Lavery wing. Although it is not in an annex, it is part of The Gresham Hotel, this section houses 96 Lavery bedrooms, each measuring 33 square metres, separate bath and shower and a host of many features.

Breakfast can be added to your booking for €15 person. When purchased on the day, fill Irish breakfast is charged at €19.50 per person.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. Chose to stay somewhere nice for a birthday treat and thought this hotel offered a bit if luxury just a five min walk from temple bar. Well it was well located with airport bus stopping right outside, but we were let down from the moment we arrived. We had booked a double room sux weeks before but when we arrived we were told they were full and we would have to have a twin. When we complained we were finally given a family room which appeared at first to be a bonus but it turned out to be undergoing a refurb! The toilet didn't flush , there was a hole in the ceiling above shower, the phone was not connected and the lamp had a missing lightbulb! All in all disappointing and the staff attitude to us was far from friendly even though we didn't complain about any of the minor things, just the fact the toilet was not working. At least somehow they got the toilet to work! Best thing about this hotel is the location and the wee traditional pub next door which boasted wonderfully friendly staff and a great atmosphere. No wonder so many of the hotel guests could be found enjoying the atmosphere next door! Too bad they were probably not allowed to lie in beyond 7am as the morning cleaning staff sounded like a steel band going up and down the corridors!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Laasiesonthemove

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I do apologise for the issues you had experienced around the room. Your reservation was delivered to us as a standard twin bedroom, however, it is the further issues I am more concerned with.

I shall, be delighted to speak with you about this matter and I have sent you a private message concerning this, as I will be honest and say we did make an error.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just getting ready to check out of the hotel after another fantastic stay. Thanks to Andrew for our room upgrade it was fabulous we had a luxury suite... FIRST CLASS. Again the service was brilliant th food in Toddys bar was gorgeous from start to finish.. breakfast was delicious got us ready for our day out and about in Dublin City. Already trying to think of a reason to return to the hotel.. hopefully it will be in the near future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my 2 sisters stayed here last weekend and loved the hotel, we had a spacious twin room with comfortable beds and a great shower, friendly staff and a great breakfast to start off each day, within walking distance to pubs and shops too, would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We bought a deal voucher for this place (a bit surprised to get one for somewhere like this) but weren't complaining!
I would most definitely go back, the staff here are very professional and helpful.
We treated ourselves to fish and chips in the lounge, delicious! we were served by a lovely girl from Poland.
Our room was spotless, the air conditioning was a nice addition. We arrived early and the lady on the desk gave us a room well before check in time.
We are saving to come back and keeping an eye on those voucher sites!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed overnight in this hotel last year. We were upgraded to a room in the Lavery Wing and found it to be extremely comfortable and clean. We love this hotel because of its very enviable location on Dublins main street making it very convenient to bus and train and pubs with Irish music most nights of the week are literally on the doorstep. The foyer is very ornate and a pleasant place to sit and relax or meet up with friends. We found staff at all points very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a delight. The Gresham has that little extra something that other more modern hotels find hard to replicate. Look forward to returning to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMck_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing