We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff, spotless.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #57 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything. The staff were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was great plenty to chose from. My only fault would be with the bedroom. It was absolutely spotless and the chocolates were a lovely tough however the view was particularly bad. The room was very comfortable however the decor could be updated. Overall great stay, would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinkate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,255 - 2,261 of 4,464 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great room, clean, quiet, and reasonable price (at least the room). Very good location. Some services very expensive (tea 21 eur/person).
The worst: We stayed 5 nights and only in one ocasion we could see the automatic doors working. The rest of times we had to get in/out by a smaller door beside.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lluis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Lluis B

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel in Dublin.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

If I may explain about the automatic doors for the hotel. They remain closed at night time and when we are experiencing windy weather, as this makes the guests in the lobby uncomfortable because the colder air enters the hotel.

There are 2 side doors to enter and exit the hotel, which are 3 foot wide. Whilst they are smaller than the automatic door, there is plenty of space to comfortably enter and exit The Gresham.

The Afternoon Tea service is charged at €21.00 per person, the quantities of produce and relaxed ambience off very good value.

We shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham again upon your next Dublin visit, where I may ensure you receive our very best room rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just after enjoying another fantastic stay at the Gresham, birthday treat for my husband. Once again the staff were friendly and courteous and made us feel really welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and the food in Toddys Bar and Brasserie was superb. Our room was spotless and the bed so comfortable. It's such a pleasure to return to this gorgeous hotel time and time again and we look forward to our next stay in May which we have already booked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel was everything we expected and more, very quiet room, no noise disturbance, air conditioning wasn't switched on as it's too early in the year but we were provided with a fan which helped a lot. This minor problem was addressed immediately. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Whilst writing this review I am thinking of what I was doing this time last week. Having decided to have a wedding blessing in Christ Church Cathedral we knew where we would choose to stay as we had stayed many times at this hotel before. From booking the rooms to leaving after 3 wonderful days we could not have asked for more. There was no problem bringing in hairdressers and make up people in to the hotel. The food was good and it was a pleasure to spend our special day with people who helped to make it so. All the staff were great but I must give special thanks to Philip, Grainne in the bar and of course Andrew Walker.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This traditional hotel, one of Dublin's oldest, is perfectly located at the main shopping mile of the city. Walking distance from shops, restaurants and pubs. The rooms are nice, not very big, but clean and in a very good condition. I recommend to take a room which is not on O'Connell Street, it can be quite noisy in the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £82 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing