We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Excellent Service, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed last weekend for my mum's birthday. We received complimentary upgrades with chocs and cupcakes in our room which my mum loved !! We also had dressing gown and slippers which was great. The rooms were beautiful and very spacious. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful & courteous. We had a meal in the hotel bar - Toddy's Bar. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Great value for money and great central location for shopping and nightlife. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend. We will definitely be back again !!

Rita, Lurgan

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RITAMG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,347)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 4,347 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in the Gresham as a treat for my biirthday at the weekend..
On arrival the receptionist was very helpfefull, especially when i asked for a room facing O'Connell Street.
My room was on the 1st floor, and was quite big and newly refurbished. Had all the little extras in the bathroom that can be so easily forgotten. It also had the dressing gowns and slippers, which was a nice touch, the beds were very comfortable and i had a great nights sleep. My only fault about the room, was the hairdryer, I like hairdryers to have a nozzle, but it still did the job, so not too big an issue.
The Gresham, has the pefect location, right on O'Connell Street, really handy for shopping and nightlife..
I will definitely be back and stay for longer next time. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in march with friends who had recommended the hotel. great location, very friendly staff and good food. Really good value for money, will defiantly stay next time we are in Dublin hopefully later this year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

J Walsh

We stayed in the hotel over Easter far from a 5 star experience. The room was small nothing like what was shown on their site. Extractor fan not working in a dated bathroom, the cover of the fan hanging down from ceiling. The view from the first floor room was into outside walls and roofs of sheds littered with cigarette butts. The handle of kettle over heated when boiled....I could go on Francis Brennan would have field day. They did move us next day but got no apology. Manager didn't even address problem. Very disappointing

Room Tip: The room they moved us to was on 3rd floor far better, no chocs or bottled water but bathroom had a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Joanne W

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel in Dublin.

I do apologise if you felt inconvenienced during your stay, however, I hope to be able to answer some of your queries

The room you stayed in was 23 square metres in area. The room was equipped with a Queen size bed and a standard single bed to accommodate the numbers you had requested. The standard rooms, as you had reserved, are from 18 square metres.

We unfortunately do not offer or advertise any views in The Gresham. This is due to our city centre location and the majority of rooms overlook our neighbouring buildings. Only a limited number of double rooms and our terrace suites would offer a view of the city.

I have checked the room following your review and I can advise the extractor fan is operational and the cover is firmly fixed. The extractor fan is a quiet fan as it is designed this way, so not to disturb other room occupants, especially at night time.

I can confirm the kettle is working also.

I am delighted we were able to upgrade and change your room the following day. Chocolates and bottled water would be a feature in our Lavery bedrooms which are available as a room upgrade, however, they do cater for a maximum of 2 people.

I do thank you for your comments and we shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My mother and I stayed midweek for 1 evening; our first visit but certainly not our last. The staff at reception could not be more helpful and even allowed us to check in early at no additional charge as we had arrived well before the 3pm check in time. The room was superb; a suite on the 1st floor, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and stocked aplenty with chocolates and bottled water. The turn down service was an added bonus. The Writer's Lounge was a lovely retreat away from the hustle and bustle of O'Connell Street and the staff were very helpful; they even made a cocktail for me that wasn't detailed on their menu, to which my mother and I were very impressed by. We dined in Toddy's bar and the food was excellent although the service was very very slow unfortunately. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, the perfect start to a busy day in Dublin. The cream tea & prosecco before departing was a real treat although it would have been nicer to have it in within the main hotel rather than in Toddy's. All in all, we had a most enjoyable stay and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Room 119!! Ask for this room; it was fantastic!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear laura_francis

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

It was a delight to read your review and that you had enjoyed your stay at The Gresham.

I will ensure all your comments are passed to the relevant departments and to Roberto, our award winning mixologist!

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you be staying at The Gresham in the future, so I may oversee your reservation details and ensure you receive our very best rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel was fine. the staff could not have been more helpful both before in helping me get a quiet room and at the time in giving directions to places to see. It is the room that leads to just give an OK rating .. just very plain . poor TV dreadful channel selection .. no water in the room... just OK

Room Tip: Well I asked for one high up as there were a lot of road works in the main street .. but apart from...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueSpencerKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear SueSpencerKnight

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel in Dublin.

Thanks for your comments regarding the staff in the hotel, however, I will be happy to speak with your concerning the room. The standard rooms have 21 TV channels including the Ireland and UK terrestrial channels, 3 news channels (including CNN), 4 foreign language channels and satellite channels plus 4 radio channels. Accompanying this, each TV has Quadriga Genesis TV system loaded, offering guests access to pay per view movies and music.

Bottled water is not a feature in our standard rooms, however, it is available in our Lavery rooms and suites, which are available as upgrades.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on any future occasions at The Gresham, so I may ensure you receive our very best room rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Gresham for a couple of nights until Good Friday - not our first visit, and it won't be our last. The location is, of course, great for everything and its such a relaxing and comfortable place to come back to after a full day in and around fantastic Dublin. The staff are always very helpful, we had a really fabulous room which was exceptionally comfortable - a real oasis. Heartily recommend to everyone - the Gresham makes a short city break the pleasure it should be.

Room Tip: Though noise insulation is good, being away from the front street is best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ian S

I would like to thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your stay and we shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham on any future visits to Dublin.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £101 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing