We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #57 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Gresham hotel bank holiday weekend , arriving on Friday night at about 9.30 we did not expect the restaurant to still be serving , but the staff there went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was wonderful and we ate in the hotel every night.
We were not disappointed with our room, It was spotless. The reason I have not given 5 stars was the noise from O'Connell street through the ill fitting window , it was like sleeping with the window open , you could see daylight through it. We did complain the next morning and were told it would be fixed .Having said all that we would go back to the Gresham and recommend it to family and friends .

Room Tip: The back of the hotel does not have the view but you will get a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natalie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear natalie f

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel in Dublin.

We do thank you for your comments and i apologise if the window had give no any issue, however, I am glad to read it has been fixed.

We shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham on any future visits to Dublin and please do not hesitate to contact me so I may ensure you receive our very best rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 4,464 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very disappointing from the time we arrived until we left. Staff not helpfully at all, food appalling served cold. The room was also terrible. Would not recommend this hotel to any one.
This was our first time in Dublin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Since this review was posted, we have tried to contact the reviewer directly to get some further justification for the review.

Whilst we do respect the freedom of our guests to post reviews regarding The Gresham, it is also possible to post such reviews without experiencing this or any hotel.

As we have not heard back from the reviewer, we do treat it as suspicious.

We welcome all feedback from our guests, whether good or bad, as it does allow us to appraise our current standards and shows areas for improvement. In areas of negative feedback, we do appreciate some information of what affected the experience.

I shall be delighted to speak to any of our guests prior to, during or after their stay.

Yours Faithfully
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights last week, and we could not praise it enough. "The Gresham" is all about the quality of service provided by all the staff. Their attitude is always helpful and friendly, without ever being obsequious. Even the chambermaids, if you met them in the hallway, always greeted you with a "good morning/afternoon" and a pleasant smile.
As for the hotel itself, it has everything and more , that you could wish from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms a thing of beauty, and every extra you could imagine is provided. The breakfasts cater to every taste, and the food is of the highest quality.
The location is perfect for easily getting to all the main Dublin attractions, either on foot or by bus.
For a little balance, I did find our room a bit too warm, if this is a fault during a cool Irish spring. There is also some noisy from machinery at the back of the hotel, but is mostly blanked out by closing the windows.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone, as an opportunity to experience the service and quality, that a true 4 star hotel can provide.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Cathal G

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I do appreciate your comments and i am delighted you had enjoyed your stay.

We shall be delighted to welcome you back on any future visits to Dublin and please contact myself, so we may arrange the very best room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have travelled to Dublin many times but have never stayed here as we had heard it was "run down"....what a load of nonsense.
It was beautiful and in a great location. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that let it down slightly was the bar staff. We returned late and wanted a night cap...there were lots of staff behind the bar but not a lot of work getting done. But despite that, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milosgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Milosgran

Many thanks for taking the time and effort to complete your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I do appreciate and thank you for your comments and I pass your comments regarding the bar, to the relevant department, to action.

I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again and please do not hesitate to contact me so I may oversee your reservation details.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is a wonderful hotel and in a perfect location to explore Dublin. We had a really lovely room, it was spotless and without fault. The hotel staff were courteous at all times and nothing was any bother. Good Irish hospitality and a great hotel. Will definitely book again when I am next in Dublin and hope to get to use the Spa!

Room Tip: You cannot beat this hotel for location. It's also a great hotel too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylynchmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear ladylynchmere

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gresham following your stay with us.

We all really do appreciate your comments and we are delighted to read you had enjoyed your stay.

We'll be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham and please do not hesitate to contact myself so I may offer you our very best rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stay for 4 nights in Gresham Hotel in Dublin and it is a very good location for city trip. The room was big and clean, helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast. Everything was OK.


Ovidiu, Bucharest, Romania

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Gresham Hotel at 11pm on Friday 2nd May for a 3 night stay. The staff were really friendly & the hotel was spotlessly clean.
We were booked into the Grace Kelly suite which is Amazing, huge lounge with balcony, large bedroom with walk in closet & en-suite bathroom with whirlpool bath & shower.
There was a well stocked mini-bar (chargeable) & tea/coffee supplied.
Breakfast was €19.50 each but the quality & quantity of the food was more than reflected in the price.
We would highly recommend this hotel & will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank taishan2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £82 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing