We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here on business and my room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The only downside was that I got very little sleep due to the street noise, refuse collection early in the morning etc. The bathroom was fine and products are supplied, the shower was good with plenty of hot water. I am not a big breakfast person myself but there seemed to be a good selection of food but I only had the coffee which was fine. In terms of location it's not the best part of town by all accounts but I felt safe enough - note you have to show your room key when entering the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Fourtyke

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gresham Hotel.

I do appreciate your comments and I am delighted you were pleased with the hotel.

As with many city centre hotels, there may be external noises which are beyond our control. I will be delighted to arrange a quiet room for you on any future occasions.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,185 - 2,191 of 4,461 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Spending 3 nights in this 4 star hotel in the city centre of Dublin I can say that this hotel met my expectations. I had a very nice and spacious room which was well furnished. Wi-Fi is for free and the connection is OK. Breakfast served is tasty with adequte choice. The only reservation I have is the differentness between rooms, because my colleague had a half size& and not so well furnished room for the same price!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mojmir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mojmir B

Thank you for reviewing The Gresham Hotel following your stay with us.

We do appreciate your kind comments and I will ensure all our staff see them.

You may send me your reservation details. So I may check the rooms. This situation could occur if guests check in at different time etc. But I will look into this for you.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My friend and I got a very good deal months ago, so that we could stay overnight after The Eagles gig at the O2, namely €60 per head for B&B. The room was small, but clean and, as the saying goes, fit for purpose. The Gresham is, of course, an iconic hotel with a firm place in Dublin's history and the building itself is quite grand and quaint.
Staff were friendly. But oh dear, the breakfast. We asked for a tea and a coffee and got a stewed, almost stone cold cup of each, by which time we had been up to collect our breakfast from the buffet and were almost finished eating before a staff member could be alerted. Some parts of the breakfast were lukewarm too, i.e. the mushrooms and scrambled eggs.
We were glad we weren't paying full whack, and will investigate somewhere else the next time we are staying over.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WicklowHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear WicklowHil

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel and thank you for your comment regarding the room.

To be honest, the room size that was allocated to you was the room size that was booked. We do have on our confirmations, which you received, the room size on this, so I am a little concerned as to why it was a shock to feel it was small. Our standard rooms range from 18 square metres, the Lavery bedrooms are 33 square metres and our penthouses are from 130 square metres.

I do apologise for the inconvenience you have described at breakfast. Last Thursday morning, the restaurant had adequate numbers of staff on duty and the restaurant supervisor. We would have been more than delighted to change your tea and coffee, if you were not satisfied.

Rather than not be satisfied and endure a substandard cup of tea, we do appreciate if you could inform us of this, so we may rectify. Therefore, it may not be necessary to post an anonymous complaint on a review website for something that would have been simple to fix.

Regards
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed this June bank holiday at the Gresham Dublin and I have to say we were less than impressed with 50% of the staff being rude or just dismissive, the rooms are only ok, they are somewhat clean as in the corners and edges of floors were not clean, the carpets in the corridors are very tired, this hotel does well because of its status and location but honestly you will find way better in Dublin than this. 1st room we checked into the Air conditioning was not working so they told us to wait an hour or so and they would find one with working Air conditioning, they called us back and said someone would come with the new key card and help with luggage, they came but no help was given, no directions to the new room and no assistance with bags, the next room was no better but at this stage we just accepted the lack of Air con. The most surprising part of out stay was upon check out, the lady at the desk took my key card, checked bill and said that is all ok, no good bye, no how was your stay and when i asked for assistance with leaving our bags she said "he" will help, pointing to a group of three gentlemen in suites. Felt like I was disturbing her day by checking out and having the neck to ask for a place to leave my luggage. All in all I would not visit the Gresham again, I have stayed in many Dublin city centre hotels and this rates way down my list of stays. Oh I must add the pillows and the bed are not great, pillows are like wafers and the beds way too soft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Following except of this review, we have made contact with the reviewer so we may investigate the issues described.

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I loved the Gresham. Perfect central location for shopping, tourist sites and nightlife. Excellent staff, lovely lobby area. Room service at 3.30 in the morning was great! Only downside was the size of the bedroom, but we had a good deal so didn't mind. Breakfast was excellent!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Busybrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

While the hotel was nice over all the staff were a bit challenging. I encountered a night staff at the front desk that was rude beyond belief. He refused to assist me with an issue I had. I asked for a room with a mini-fridge so I could purchase things from the market to have on hand to snack on which included cheese and meats. The fridge did not cool anything..it did not work, in fact it was hotter than the room. On no less than 3 occasions we asked for it to be checked and was told over and over it was to cool not to freeze...exactly...COOL but no it heated and spoiled our purchased nosh. I had purchased a glass from the Guinness Factory and left it out near my things and the cleaning staff took it thinking it belonged to the bar. I did get a glass back but not the one that I purchased. Parking was a bit odd as they had a garage but it closed nightly at 11 pm and was difficult to get an attendant to open it for parking. I went to enjoy the bar one evening and sat at the bar and waited nearly 20 minutes before one of the barkeeps would wait on me. Overall a bit of a disappointment. While the room was fresh, clean and comfortable the staff and busy location would make me choose not to stay there again. Upon check out several items had been charged to our room on the day prior to check-in. They did credit the card back but didn't seem to understand we had not checked in during the time the charges had been made. I would certainly look at other options before staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCOS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Following except of this review, we have made contact with the reviewer so we may investigate the issues described.

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Due to air strike I had a night at the Gresham
Yes it we'll located near the famous Post Office and around the corner is the Hop on Hop Off Bus.
Location Location Location.
The room was clean and airy. Room was over heated but a call to housekeeper was followed up pretty quickly by maintenance. All was fixed.
No complaints. The reception guys were helpful and it was a pleasant stay.
Taxi ride to airport was $20. All in all a good stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank johnsteele507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £83 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing