We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Loved staying here. Ever since I booked it I was excited. Beautiful hotel, staff are so helpful and friendly, room was lovely and spotless and the location of the hotel couldn't be any better. Great place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren Maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Lauren Maguire
hank you for taking the time to review The Gresham Hotel.

All my colleagues at The Gresham thank you for your kinds words and we do hope to welcome you back to The Gresham again in the future.

Please let me know if you will be staying again, so I may ensure you eclipse our best available room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,213 of 4,496 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel at the beginning of June as a special treat. The hotel was fabulous with very well trained staff they were always available for service but never over intrusive. The spacious lobby and bar areas were great to relax and have a chat. The hotel is within walling distance to most attractions but there is a taxi rank just outside

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear tweetypix

Thank you for writing your review following your stay at the Gresham Hotel.

I do thank you for your kinds words and I am delighted to, pass your comments onto our staff.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Gresham once again and please do not hesitate to contact myself where I may ensure you receive our most competitive room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed in most of the grand hotels in Dublin, I often come back to the Gresham. It is very good for value for money, considering its location, size of rooms, etc. I feel that customer service can certainly be improved though, had quite a few incidents that were resolved but not very efficiently. The breakfast is more than satisfactory it can get busy on the weekends and the service is lacking, they all seem to be moving around but the tables never seem to be cleared, all the left over still on tables isn't conducive to a enjoyable start to the day. Overall this is still a good value hotel, but does need improvement with customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Ian S

Thank you for your review for The Gresham Hotel.

I am please to read you found the hotel represented good value for money, excellent location and our facilities.

I have taken you points on board regarding breakfast. As we are one of the only hotels in Dublin to offer breakfast until 12 noon on the weekends, he do find it gets very busy from 10am onwards. On weekends, we have welcome letters available at reception, ag check in, to notify our guests of the various facilities available, but also to advise of the breakfast times and how it can get busy at this time.

I do thank you for your comments once more and we shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham on any future occasions you are in Dublin.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself, where I may ensure your receive our most competitive room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed June bank holiday Monday for one night. Despite informing lady at check-in it was first time at hotel was not directed which lift to use and ended up dragging suitcase long way round corridors to room.

Room reasonably comfortable and clean but air conditioning not working and badly missed.

Overall good enough stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Helen2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Helen2345

Thank you for your review for The Gresham Hotel.

I do apologise if you were not directed to the elevator. This is something I shall investigate internally, however, in a hotel of 300 rooms, there would be a walk to some rooms and the corridors can be long.

Without knowing which room you had stayed in, as tripadvisor do not verify the reviews, I am unsure of the air conditioning. Perhaps a room was booked without air conditioning, which would explain why it was not available. Our staff could also have investigated this, should we have been made aware.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here two weekends in a row. Dublin was very busy, but our rooms, located in the rear of the hotel, were nice and quiet. Staff at front desk and in dining room were courteous and helpful. Easy location to get buses and cabs, and a short walk to the major sites in town. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: quieter in rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear M B

Many thanks for your review of The Gresham Hotel.

I am delighted to read you had enjoyed both your stays and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Please let me know of any return visits and I will ensue you receive our most competitive rates and complimentary upgrade.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here on business and my room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The only downside was that I got very little sleep due to the street noise, refuse collection early in the morning etc. The bathroom was fine and products are supplied, the shower was good with plenty of hot water. I am not a big breakfast person myself but there seemed to be a good selection of food but I only had the coffee which was fine. In terms of location it's not the best part of town by all accounts but I felt safe enough - note you have to show your room key when entering the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Fourtyke

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gresham Hotel.

I do appreciate your comments and I am delighted you were pleased with the hotel.

As with many city centre hotels, there may be external noises which are beyond our control. I will be delighted to arrange a quiet room for you on any future occasions.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £118 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing