We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel, but the room was a bit small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, but the room was a bit small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel on a business trip to Dublin. It was well located for the tram.

The hotel has a bit of a wow factor when you walk in, although I felt my room was a bit small for the cost – it was hard to move round the bed and would certainly have been a tight squeeze if two people had been sharing the double.

It was not the quietest room either, overlooking the main road; however there was not much road noise during the night.

I had dinner and breakfast at this hotel and both were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear BarneyB1981

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham.

The Gresham Hotel is situated in the heart of Dublin City Centre and many of Dublin attractions and places of business are within a stones throw from our front door. The drawback is some of the rooms overlooking O'Connell Street can be noisy. We do have the majority room facing the rear of the hotel which can be a little quieter.

I am delighted to read you had enjoyed the remainder of your stay and we do hope to welcome you back to The Gresham in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,848
    1,192
    582
    279
    132
See reviews for
559
1,831
212
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Loved staying here. Ever since I booked it I was excited. Beautiful hotel, staff are so helpful and friendly, room was lovely and spotless and the location of the hotel couldn't be any better. Great place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren Maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lauren Maguire
hank you for taking the time to review The Gresham Hotel.

All my colleagues at The Gresham thank you for your kinds words and we do hope to welcome you back to The Gresham again in the future.

Please let me know if you will be staying again, so I may ensure you eclipse our best available room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gresham Hotel at the beginning of June as a special treat. The hotel was fabulous with very well trained staff they were always available for service but never over intrusive. The spacious lobby and bar areas were great to relax and have a chat. The hotel is within walling distance to most attractions but there is a taxi rank just outside

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear tweetypix

Thank you for writing your review following your stay at the Gresham Hotel.

I do thank you for your kinds words and I am delighted to, pass your comments onto our staff.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Gresham once again and please do not hesitate to contact myself where I may ensure you receive our most competitive room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
338 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed in most of the grand hotels in Dublin, I often come back to the Gresham. It is very good for value for money, considering its location, size of rooms, etc. I feel that customer service can certainly be improved though, had quite a few incidents that were resolved but not very efficiently. The breakfast is more than satisfactory it can get busy on the weekends and the service is lacking, they all seem to be moving around but the tables never seem to be cleared, all the left over still on tables isn't conducive to a enjoyable start to the day. Overall this is still a good value hotel, but does need improvement with customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ian S

Thank you for your review for The Gresham Hotel.

I am please to read you found the hotel represented good value for money, excellent location and our facilities.

I have taken you points on board regarding breakfast. As we are one of the only hotels in Dublin to offer breakfast until 12 noon on the weekends, he do find it gets very busy from 10am onwards. On weekends, we have welcome letters available at reception, ag check in, to notify our guests of the various facilities available, but also to advise of the breakfast times and how it can get busy at this time.

I do thank you for your comments once more and we shall be delighted to welcome you back to The Gresham on any future occasions you are in Dublin.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself, where I may ensure your receive our most competitive room rates.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed June bank holiday Monday for one night. Despite informing lady at check-in it was first time at hotel was not directed which lift to use and ended up dragging suitcase long way round corridors to room.

Room reasonably comfortable and clean but air conditioning not working and badly missed.

Overall good enough stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Helen2345

Thank you for your review for The Gresham Hotel.

I do apologise if you were not directed to the elevator. This is something I shall investigate internally, however, in a hotel of 300 rooms, there would be a walk to some rooms and the corridors can be long.

Without knowing which room you had stayed in, as tripadvisor do not verify the reviews, I am unsure of the air conditioning. Perhaps a room was booked without air conditioning, which would explain why it was not available. Our staff could also have investigated this, should we have been made aware.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here two weekends in a row. Dublin was very busy, but our rooms, located in the rear of the hotel, were nice and quiet. Staff at front desk and in dining room were courteous and helpful. Easy location to get buses and cabs, and a short walk to the major sites in town. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: quieter in rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear M B

Many thanks for your review of The Gresham Hotel.

I am delighted to read you had enjoyed both your stays and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Please let me know of any return visits and I will ensue you receive our most competitive rates and complimentary upgrade.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing