We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasure”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the westbury for one night recently for a concert with our teenage son. We had a deluxe room which had 2 double beds. Perfect for our requirements,lovely and clean, spacious and comfortable. 2 things make the westbury stand out from the rest. 1. the location, right on grafton street, great for getting around to all the sights, and 2. the service. The staff are so good they really do stand out from other 5 star hotels They simply cant do enough for you, it makes all the difference to have such excellent service and makes the stay much more comfortable. Prices have certainly reduced in recent years but service hasnt diminished as a result, We will definately be staying again, the only things i dislike is how difficult it can be to access the hotel with the one way system around dublin but u can get over that, thanks for the great stay

Room Tip: deluxe room is very spacious makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear rossi461,

Thank you for having stayed with us once again and thank you for the most favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to rad that you and your family had a most enjoyable stay and that our levels of service and care made you feel most comfortable.
Your comments are most appreciated by all of the team here at the hotel.
I do hope to have the honour of welcoming you and your family back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your kind comments and valuable custom.

Best regards,

Joseph Downinig
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    730
    197
    64
    39
See reviews for
672
1,682
149
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

If you want to be in the heart of Dublin and enjoy a top notch hotel...the Westbury is a must. Beautiful decor, great lounge and bars. Staff couldn't be more on top of their game. Rooms were well appointed with great AC. Walking distance to shopping, sites, Bistros...and people walking the streets watching the side shows.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear ezwedge,

Thank you for your custom and for your favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is delightful and most encouraging to read your review and note that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled to read that our exquisitely appointed hotel, wonderful staff and unbeatable location more than met your needs while you were visiting Dublin.
"Top notch" is the kind of rating which make everyone here most proud and most appreciative too.

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel to other visitors on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed recently at the Westbury, have to say I really enjoyed our break there. We got a very good price. We brought our 1 year old girl with us. Our room came with breakfast which was great. I have stayed in several '5 star hotels' in recent years in Ireland an while they are all nice the most notable thing about the Westbury is that it is a 'real 5 star'. It has '5 star' service. We were greeted at the curb by staff who took our car and bags, they walked us to a very busy reception which checked us in immediately. The porter walked us with our luggage to the room, another porter arrived simultaneously with the cot for our baby. We had some drinks and food that evening in the lobby, service again top class. Breakfast was served very promptly, several staff descended on our table. When I checked out my car was already out front and the bags in the back. Location wise it is probably the best in Dublin as it is just off Grafton Street. We went shopping there before we checked out.The one piece of advice I would give travelers is if you are driving research it first. It is very tricky to navigate as it is in the very center of town and Grafton street is pedestrianized. Their car park is underneath and it is best if you have them park the car for you. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear PatrickIrl,

Thank you for your positive review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your much-appreciated custom.

I am delighted to read your review and to note that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. It is most encouraging to read your comments with regard to the extremely high level of service provided by our dedicated team throughout and the convenience afforded to you by their efficiency and not to mention by the hotel's fabulous location.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our establishment in the not too distant future.

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A group of us stayed in the Westbury for 5 nights and would recommend this hotel. It is right in the heart of Dublin, close to everything. Having stayed in numberous hotels in Dublin, I would have to say that this is the best located. The staff here are exceptional and could not do any more for us. The hotel itself is beautiful and facilities great. I was travelling with elderly relatives and the hotel was very suitable for them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto Harry Street can be noisy as the pubs there are very busy and open late, particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graniaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear graniaobrien,

Thank you for favourably reviewing The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for being one of our customers.

I am delighted to read in your review that you enjoyed your five-day stay in our establishment and that our hotel exceeded your expectations and made you and your relatives most comfortable during your time with us.
I do hope that I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel to other visitors to Dublin on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Westbury Hotel for two nights. It was the first stop of many in our tour around Southern Ireland. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and very helpful and the service was great. The location (right on Grafton Street) is ideal and central to everything you would pretty much want to see. Dublin is not a large city so mostly ever sight can we walked to if chosen. We booked a standard room which was clean and comfortable. My only issue is that we did not have a great view but for the amount of time we spent in the hotel, it did not matter too much. I would definitely recommend The Westbury for anyone who is visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear 2NYtraveler,

A sincere thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for having reviewed The Westbury Hotel in such a favourable light after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our establishment and that you you were pleased with the product and service which we provide.
As The Westbury Hotel is extremely centrally located thus affording our guests to comfortably stroll to most locations of interest, we do not offer wide panoramic views of Dublin but instead streetscape views from our rooms.
I am pleased to note that the tremendous convenience of our location was advantageous to you during your visit.
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel to other travellers on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early august and enjoyed every minute of our stay. From the doorman to the cleaning staff everyone was kind and helpfull going out of there way to make us feel comfortable and relaxed during our stay in wonderful ,eccentric Dublin.The room was faultless with a large beautifully decorated bathroom and buckets of space to spread out and unwind.The breakfast was included in the rate and I would particularly recommend it as it was one of those memorable experiences that you shouldn't miss if possible....all up a great stay in a top class hotel !

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors for interesting Dublin views*
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazeadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear blazeadelaide,

Thank you for your most kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your custom.

Your comments are greatly appreciated by everyone here on the team and it is delightful to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations on every level.
I sincerely hope that I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your comments and for having recommended The Westbury Hotel to other visitors to Dublin.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Westbury. We loved the location - right of Grafton St and all the shopping. We found our room quiet spacious, and there were 4 of us. Bedding and mattress very comfortable, nice bathroom. Staff was friendly, very helpful. Highly recommend. Didn't try the champagne bar or the high tea area but they looked beautiful and luxurious

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear ilasik,

Thank you for your most positive review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for having stayed with us.

I am thrilled to read that you had a wonderful stay and that all aspects of our hotel more than met your needs.
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by everyone here and I do hope that it will not be too long before you return to our establishment.

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,192 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing