We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Excellent Service”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Arrived around 13.00 with my wife. Check in was speedy and courteous. Room was standard size but well fitted out. Room had tea & coffee making facilities along with flat screen TV, hair drier, iron and board, fridge & free in-room safe and free bottled water.
Had breakfast each morning which was excellent and also had one evening meal in the lounge which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also had coffee mid morning and also afternoon in the large beautifully decorated lounge.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Westbury Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear James M

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review following your recent visit to The Westbury.

We are delighted that we managed to impress you so much and thank you for your comments on our service and our team.

We hope that you visit us again soon and thank you for your review. I wish you a wonderful Christmas and a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,879
    752
    201
    68
    41
See reviews for
702
1,717
151
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in central Dublin but now only stay at the Westbury as it meets all of our requirements. It's location is right beside the Grafton Street shopping area and walking distance from anywhere else we want to go, such as Arts Centre, St. Stephens Green and Nassau Street, not to mention the many fantastic restaurants such as Trocadero, etc.

On arrival, give your car keys to the Concierge for safe underground parking, reception is exceptionally customer focused and make you feel special. The rooms are high standard and very comfortable with all one might need.

A change made this autumn was to extend the Dining Room evening menu into the Lounge area which was a great move as far as we were concerned. Both normal Dining Rooms have an excellent range of dishes and great service.

Overall an excellent hotel which I reccommend to any of my friends visiting Dublin. This hotel has location, atmosphere and style.

Robert A
Coleraine

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are now a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 990RobertA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear 990RobertA,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review on Trip Advisor.

I am thrilled that you only stay at the Westbury and that we meet all your requirements. Our location is a great bonus and is great to stroll down Grafton Street and browse the shops, bars, restaurants and the many other facilities which are literally on our door step.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again and thank you again for your review.

I wish you a very Happy Christmas and a great New Year.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

In a difficult to reach location, the room was just about standard. Car parking was full, not included and overpriced. When asking for directions to the hotel through the one way streets was recommend to rent a GPS from hertz. Staff were dismissive of parking issues and were unable to help with an hour early check in after a long trip to Dublin. I'd recommend the Fitzwilliam for a much better experience in the same area of town after a recent visit there.

Room Tip: Go to the fitzwilliam with a view of the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Johnscully

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor.

I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We strive to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations and it is incredibly disappointing that we failed to do so on this occasion.
Only through comments such as yours can we constantly strive to improve our operation and thank you for taking the time to pass these on to us.

I would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again and if I can ever be of any assistance in the future please do let me know.

I hope that you have a very Happy Christmas and New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Gallery in the Westbury has been a favourite of mine for many years as a good place to have morning coffee, a light lunch, afternoon tea or early evening drinks in the centre of the city. My most recent visit was last Tuesday. The Gallery was less than a third full and it was lunchtime. My friend and I ordered drinks and then I asked if I could have a plain chicken or ham sandwich. No was the response. Apparently I was only 'allowed' to have a club sandwich, no other kind. I was also told that I could also have a bowl of soup, a scone or something from the lunch menu. I did not want any of these things, I just wanted a simple sandwich. After such a reception I didn't bother to order any food. Perhaps we were just unlucky with the service but it was very disappointing - I will go to the Shelbourne or Westin in future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank WalshDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear WalshDublinIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to The Westbury.

I hope you will allow me to start by apologizing unreservedly for what was undoubtedly an unacceptable and understandably frustrating experience we clearly failed to deliver the service levels we pride ourselves on and this is simply inexcusable.

We have recently changed our menu on The Gallery however we always try to facilitate special requests but clearly we failed on this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies. Only through comments such as yours can we constantly strive to improve our operation and thank you for taking the time to pass these on to us. I sincerely hope that my apology and assurance that we take your comments seriously will restore some of your faith and allow you to give us another opportunity to show you what we can and do deliver at the Westbury. I would be very grateful if you would contact me personally when you are next planning to visit us so I can restore your faith in us.

I wish you a wonderful Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Beautiful and great hotel. Everything was espectacular, the decoration, the reception, the staff, the room, I recomended because is difficult to have all the attention you need been satisfied for people being well prepare. I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Rosa M,

Thank you for your great review following your stay in October.

I am delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and that we made you feel special and that you love us.

As a team we strive to deliver the highest levels of personalized service that will hopefully ensure our customers always return.

Thank you for recommending us so highly, for taking the time to write about your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

I wish you a wonderful Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.


Kind regards,


Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancee and i stayed here for three nights in November to enjoy a city break in Dublin. We decided to pay a bit extra for a hotel and reading online the Westbury seemed to fit the bill. We were so glad that we did as this was one of the best hotels we had ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were attentive, professional and most importantly so friendly. Every person who we came into contact with would smile and say hello.

The interior of the hotel was superb, we had afternoon tea in the gallery, we had drinks in the marble bar, and had a meal in the restaurant, and the food, drinks and service were all excellent and all in luxury surroundings that you would expect from a five star hotel.

Our room was also top notch, it was nice after a long day in the city to come back to your room in the evening, and the sheets had been turned down and there was a bottle of water and slippers by the bed. And in the morning you could have a coffee from the nespresso machine and order a (huge!) full irish breakfast to the room knowing that when you went out for the day your room would be impeccably clean when you got back.

On checking out we both agreed that our choice of hotel had made our city break special and if we are ever in Dublin again we would not hesitate to book at the westbury again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Craig S,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your visit to The Westbury and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that our service was excellent.
To know that our team made you feel truly special is indeed wonderful and that all the staff that you were in contact with made you feel so welcome.

I hope we will be have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon and may I to wish you a wonderful Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed last saturday night with a large group of colleagues and friends.
I thought from our initial greeting it was going to be wonderful.
It was for the most part but unfortunately on Sunday morning we had to wait for almost an hour for a table for breakfast,
Yes it was busy but a hotel such as the Westbury should be able to cater for the numbers.
There were no bowls available for fresh fruit and it was all a little rushed.
However the staff couldnt have been more pleasant but I feel a little let down

Room Tip: Didnt use the spa and dont think they had a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binks15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Binks 15,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit.

I am very appreciative of your feedback, despite obviously being disappointed that we did not manage to deliver the perfect service experience during breakfast please accept my sincere apologies for the delay you experienced. We clearly did not manage to achieve unparalleled service to you and it is simply not good enough that we failed to deliver.

I hope that this experience will not prevent you for returning to us in the future and hopefully we will have the opportunity to showcase the high standards of service we strive to achieve.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you return to visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing