We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Beautiful Rooms, and Friendly Front Desk....”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

January 2014 - The Westbury is definitely the place to stay in Dublin, centrally located, within steps of Trinity College and the main shopping area (Grafton Street). The rooms were beautifully appointed and the front desk staff was amazing, constantly offering us water to take on our journeys and answering any and all questions we may have had. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The only complaint I have would be their wait staff in, The Gallery; not very pleasant nor accommodating. Afternoon Tea was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenyReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear JenyReg,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay in January.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our locations worked for you and you managed to get out an about and visit the many lovely areas that are all within walking distance from the hotel. I am also thrilled that our front office team were able to make your stay extra special and that they were on hand to offer you assistance with directions and recommendations.

I am however disappointed that you were not made to feel welcome on The Gallery and that you did not enjoy Afternoon Tea. This is simply not good enough as we want to exceed every guests’ expectations and deliver unparalleled service experiences that evolve into long term relationships with our customers. We clearly did not manage to do this and I wish to apologise unreservedly for not looking after you whilst in our care.

I will digest every aspect of your feedback with my team and can assure you we will firstly learn from your experience and secondly make concerted decisions with appropriate actions to ensure we close the service and standards gaps you highlighted.

I hope that this will not deter your from visiting us in the future and I hope you will give us the opportunity to showcase the high standards of service we strive to achieve.

With renewed apologies.

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,996)
There are newer reviews for The Westbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,212 - 2,218 of 3,996 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

"Stayed here with my boyfriend over Valentine's weekend & honestly can't speak highly enough of the hotel and in particular the staff. From the friendly welcome upon checking-in, to the fabulous room complete with hand-made Irish chocolates, to the sumptuous 3 course dinner & a breakfast feast fit for a queen the following morning. While the hotel itself is beautiful, the staff really are the crown jewel here - Daniel, the restaurant manager when we had dinner - couldn't do enough for us and was fantastic when I informed him that I'm both gluten free and lactose intolerant. I had my choice of courses & they worked around me throughout the meal. The finishing touch was the chocolate covered strawberries after dessert - which were dipped in gluten free chocolate so I could have them as well. Would highly recommend a stay here and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali3084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Ali3084.

We could not ask for a better review, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and for telling others about our beautiful tranquil and elegant hotel.

I am glad that we managed to tick all the right boxes and that you enjoyed your Valentine’s celebrations. Our staff are indeed a great asset to the hotel and they will always go the extra mile to make our guest feel special. I am delighted that you enjoyed the little special treats of chocolate and that that Daniel was able to facilitate your dietary requirements.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and thank you again for your great review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here! Hotel is very plush. The rooms are very comfortable and beds are amazing, decor is very tasteful but the rooms are a bit on the small size! Breakfast was fantastic a huge selection and we'll presented! Staff very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Lemon 1980,

I am delighted to read you had such a great stay with us, thank you for telling others about your experience at the Westbury.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thought everything was plush. I am so happy that you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast and that my colleagues made you feel so welcome. The team here at The Westbury genuinely care about our guests and will be delighted to hear that you thought they were truly welcoming and helpful.

However, I note your comments regarding the room size, we do have a variety of room types from superior to suites and I appreciate that not all types work for all guests, we will be happy to talk you through the various options when you next travel to Dublin.

I hope that you can come back and stay with us soon again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Spent the week end in Dublin and stayed at the Westbury as a special treat for my partner whose birthday it was.
Unbelievable service and hospitality throughout. They even placed beautiful sweet treats with card from the general manager in our room which was a lovely surprise.
Loved the ambience and food in both the cafe Novo and on the main lounge was delicious. Especially loved the fois gras.
Cocktails in the bar were also amazing.
Staff were very efficient and genuinely helpful at arriving and during our stay there.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone wanting Class "A" Service.
Thank you to all at the Westbury. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poligeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Poligeo,

We simply cannot ask for a better rating than Class A Service thank you for your great review.

I am simply thrilled that you had such a great visit to The Westbury and that we managed to impress you and exceed your expectations. We like to mark each celebration with some special treats and I am delighted that you enjoyed the little surprise.

Thank you again for your great review and I hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you back at The Westbury again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I recently stayed in The Westbury for a romantic one night stay(valentines treat) & from the moment we arrived , we were treated to the kind of service you expect from such a highly rated hotel. From the helpful doorman to the very efficent receptionist , we hadn't book a meal and the receptionist pulled a few strings and got us a last minute reservation in the brilliant Fade Street Social.From start to finish the staff couldn't do enough for us . The room was spotless and decorated to an extremely high standard & the in room Nespresso machine, meant tasty coffee on hand anytime. After our meal we came back to the hotel and had a few cocktails in the main foyer , the mojitos were particularly good , maybe to good.......... but the huge breakfast we had the next morning helped with any sore heads from the night before. My wife had the pancakes and I had a full Irish breakfast along with some scones and jam , this is how breakfast should be , plenty of choice and everything had a unique little twist , we were served by Shannon ( a very helpful and efficient waiter ) he had everything under control and waited on us hand and foot. Overall I can't fault our stay & I would highly recommend The Westbury , you will not be disappointed with any aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Onesean,

I am delighted to read your brilliant review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your break to celebrate a Valentines Treat.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and I am thrilled you were so impressed with our staff and our service and that my colleagues pulled out all the stops to assist your every request. Our team really cares and enjoys being part of our guests’ experiences; we believe this makes all the difference and thank your for recognising them.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived on Friday afternoon, greet by a smartly dressed door man followed by Rachel who took us to our room and gave us some great tips for the evening. The gallery was a really nice space and we truly enjoyed our afternoon tea followed by a glass of bubbles before getting ready for dinner. The staff throughout the stay was very polite the service was exceptional.... Breakfast was a delight and a great way to end a wonderful night in Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozkabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Ozkabele,

Thank you for your 5 star review and I am delighted that you have an exceptional time with us.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff really stood out for you especially Rachel, she was delighted to have assisted you and thank you for recognising her.

I hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again and thank you again for telling others about your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for one night over the weekend. Friendly staff on check-in and the room was just great. The food was superb in Wilde restaurant and the cocktails in the marble bar were yummy. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVPster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear PVPster,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and that you thought we were amazing. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience.

I am very happy that our staff really stood to for you, I am very fortunate to have a great team who genuinely love looking after our guests and I think this makes all the difference.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am very pleased that you enjoyed Wilde restaurant and the “yummy” cocktails.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £242 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing