We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just a huge big thanks to all the staff at the Westbury, but in particular Hazel and her colleague at reception, for their warm welcome, and in making us feel very welcome and sorting out a problem cause by last minute.com with the reservation. They more than sorted it out and went above and beyond the call of duty .We had a fantastic stay, and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear DesH

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor and also for your call to my office earlier this week to pass your compliments to my colleagues on reception.

Thank you or choosing the Westbury to celebrate your anniversary and I am delighted that Hazel and her colleagues were able to go the extra mile to sort out the difficulties you experienced with your reservation. It is the best type of feedback we can ask for and is truly a motivation to all the team and this is what we try to achieve for all our guests.

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and I hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,735
    716
    194
    62
    39
See reviews for
650
1,646
144
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

my husband and i have just come back from an overnight stay at the Westbury, Dublin and it has to be said that after a month of looking forward to this trip at the popular 5 star hotel we were left feeling quite disappointed when faced with reality. Upon arrival we were told our room was not yet ready- despite arriving at 2pm in the day. The lady at reception took my mobile number and suggested we "walk around" for a while and when our room became available she would give us a call. We took this opportunity to grab some lunch and browse Grafton Street. However 2.5hours later we still had no phone call from reception informing us of the room availability so we went back to enquire. The new lady at reception provided us with our room keys immediately with no explanation as to why we had not been called as promised. Our room was a lovely space on the 3rd floor , bright and airy , bathroom was a little on the small side but other than that it was very nice. Our frustration quickly began to grow however as after having waited over 3 hours to be given our room key , when we eventually tried to get into our room the electronic key cards did not work- during our stay at the hotel we had to visit reception twice to have these cards reactivated, i believe we were not the only guest who experienced this problem as i saw another couple grapple with their cards trying to gain entry to their room on our floor. As we wanted to enjoy our night in the Capital we quickly tried to brush these errors off and continue to have a nice time. We decided on having a drink in Cafe Novo - when no one came to our table to take an order, my husband approaced the Austrailian waitress and asked for a glass of rose - without even turning round to face him she called from over her shoulder "we dont do rose by the glass" and then walked into the kitchen area without so much as a glance in our direction. While i found it strange they didnt offer rose by the glass, we accepted defeat and ordered some Champagne, i was however annoyed to find that half an hour later a lady was sitting at the tables outside having none other than a glass of rose brought to her with lunch!!!!!!!???? Lastly we asked the hotel a month in advance to book us a table at the best indian in the town that they could reccommend, we were assured by Concierge that we had been booked a table at the award winning Jaipur on George Street- which we were- but if this is the best indian in Dublin there is little hope of the rest! To think that the Westbury would send well paying guests to such a dive is unthinkable! the decor was dated and old, my starter was wrong, there was an old radiator lying aimlessly at the bottom of the stairs and we could barely get a waiters attention to order some wine. All in all we were very annoyed with the stay at the Westbury, we had so looked forward to it for a month before our stay and we had heard great things from family and friend who had stayed before. While i am sure our experience was a one off, it was enough to ensure that our next time in Dublin will be spent at The Shelbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Danielle B

I am sorry to hear you that you were unhappy with your recent experience, as a team we always strive to leave only the very best impression with all our guests and I am disappointed that this was not the case.

We always do our very best to have rooms ready whenever our guests arrive whether early in the morning or after our official check in time of 1500 hrs. However, on very rare occasions, there are situations, such as late departing guests and the odd technical in-room issue, which prevents us from having a guest room ready on time. I absolutely understand the frustration this must have caused and then the add the issues with the key card to the unavailability of the room I fully understand the frustrations that this caused. I am genuinely sorry that these issued were further compounded by the standards and service you experienced in Novo. I would like to assure you that this matter has been dealt with as a matter of urgency. I am somewhat taken aback that you did not enjoy the restaurant recommended to you. We have a listing of restaurants at our concierge desk and they range from Mitchelin Star to informal dining to suit all tastes and I regret that you did not enjoy the suggested one.

We clearly did not get it right from the start and once again I apologise for the frustration and annoyance caused. We get many wonderful comments about our staff and our service and whilst I know your arrival was far from the experience so many of our guests comment on so positively, I do want to assure you that your experience is not indicative of the high standards of service we set for ourselves.

Despite the fact that you were unhappy with us I am still grateful for your feedback, we will use your comments constructively in our efforts to continually improve.


Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was an excellent weekend experience with friends.
We were a group of 6 senior adults.
Location - almost perfect
Public Rooms - really spacious and well appointed. Staff here excellent, a very attentive waitress provided tea, while waiting for friends to join us before going into Breakfast.
Rooms - Well appointed, but maybe a little on the small size for a Superior defined room.
Food - only had Breakfasts, but again a very high quality.
Staff - Maybe the best part of the stay, all incredibly friendly and helpful. My wife and I travel the world quite a bit and I would put this team up as one of the best ever encountered.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your great review following your stay with us.

I am delighted that you had an excellent experience and that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. I am so happy that our team made your time with us memorable and truly special, it is the very best feedback we could ever ask for and exactly what we strive to achieve for all our guests.

Thank you for writing such a great review about us, I am delighted you had such a good time and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again.

Regards

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

From the start to finish our stay was exceptional!
The staff from the door man, to the front desk, to the housekeepers and the restaurant staff were all extremely courteous, professional, genuine and accommodating.
The location is simply the best as you are right in the center of all the action while being ever so slightly on a side street so you don't hear all the action.
The mattress, linens and pillows are of exceptional quality which enabled us to skip jet leg since we had quality sleep:) The continental breakfast was delicious! Fresh fruit, fresh croissants, a wonderful chees selection, fresh juice, homemade granola with yogurt and the perfect coffee! We were so content and full that we didn't eat lunch:)
One of the highlights was when we would enter our room to turn down service at the end of a busy tourist day;) Butlers chocolate on the bed, water on the bedside table and classical music playing added a little fanciness to the day and was the perfect welcome to wind down.
This is The Place to stay in Dublin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitilin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Caitilin C,

I am so thrilled that your stay with us was exceptional from start to finish, thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review.

I am so happy that our team made your time with us memorable and truly special, it is the very best feedback we could ever ask for and exactly what we strive to achieve for all our guests.

Thank you for writing such a glowing review about us, I am delighted you had such a good time and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here for 7 night well in town on Business. It happed to be the week that included March 17th so really experienced the festivities of St Patty's day. The Hotel is located perfectly to take in the many sites of the city. They have many restaurant’s to eat from and each was a pleasure with a great selection of foods and wine as well as outstanding staff. The staff throughout the Hotel were fantastic, they made sure that my needs were meet and are very helpful. You must stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NzCRMguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear NzCRMguy,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Westbury Hotel.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and that we helped make your visit to Dublin and enjoyable and memorable occasion.

I hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for your great review.

Regards,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great weekend in this wonderful hotel, efficient, friendly service from start to finish. excellent location to enjoy dublin and all its delights. breakfast was very nice.only wish i could have stayed longer ….. maybe next time

Room Tip: request a deluxe room they are much larger than the superior rooms, worth the extra. Last stay had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestguest-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Honestguest-7

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us!

I am thrilled that you described your overall experience as efficient friendly service from start to finish and I am delighted that we made you feel special.

Thank you for writing your review and for recommending us to others it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back maybe next time you can stay longer.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Something of a tradition is to go here for Christmas drinks after a hard day shopping in BTs.
A great spot for photo opps!
Didn't get to stay in the hotel unfortunately. Maybe Elaine G and I will next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10James_G10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear 10James_G10,

Thanking you for your great review following your visit to us at Christmas.

It is a tradition for so many people to come to The Westbury and have drinks to relax and enjoy the Christmas ambiance, while at the same time do some people watching. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing