We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Surprise”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Geneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First time in Dublin. Difficult to find by road as it is in the deep center of the city: walk only area.
However the room where big, nice, clean. Located very well, and quet, and the staff absolutely perfect.
Will get defitively back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review following your first visit to Dublin and for taking the time to tell other about your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am genuinely thrilled that you thought the experience was so good and thank you for your recommendation to other travellers.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to what I hope is now your home away from home in Dublin.

Best wishes

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    723
    194
    63
    39
See reviews for
663
1,670
147
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin 6w
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The service from all staff at The Westbury was five star from reservation to check out - nothing was too much trouble and all with a friendly smile. The hotel is fantastically located just off Grafton St and we loved our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted following your recent visit to us and for taking the time to tell other about your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to enjoy the facilities and amazing service here at The Westbury Hotel.

Thanking you again.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Friendly staff, helpful and cheerful. Location is excellent for shopping, restaurants and pubs. Taxis always available and presentable. Lobby very , very nice , rich furniture, and quite accommodating . Free internet and drinking water .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ghassoub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you had such a great time when you visited us recently and thank you for you’re wonderful review.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am genuinely thrilled that you thought the experience was so good and thank you for your recommendation to other travellers.

Thank you for choosing us and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having stayed at the Westbury Hotel, I believe it has to be one of the best located hotels in the Dublin city centre. It is commensurate with other Leading Hotels of the World (all five star properties), in terms of both service and decor (as well as amenities), yet not in terms of price. Even taking into account the somewhat miserable Euro/U.S. dollar exchange rate, the Westbury, while pricey, is a better value than other five stars I have stayed at in other countries.

The rooms are lovely, with quality linens and elegant but contemporary decor. The bathroom is clean and modern. I was upgraded-twice!-to an awesome, spacious suite (don't expect or demand this as hotels upgrade based on availability and/or loyalty programs, etc; many hotels don't upgrade). This was done by the nicest, most professional manager I've met in my travels-Joseph Downing, guest relations manager. He, as well as all staff encountered, was friendly and gracious. I was even given an ice pack for my back while I had delicious tea and scones (I regret not having the full tea- it is supposed to be wonderful-but had already pigged out on one in London!).

If you get a chance to stay at The Westbury, Dublin, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimmchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The Westbury Hotel. I must say we get a great “buzz” when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was looking forward to treating myself to a luxury weekend at a 5 star hotel in the middle of the city. I had visions of a large comfortable room with all the little lovely extras of other five star hotels I have stayed in – one of my favorites being the Merrion ( who were full that weekend).

I was greatly disappointed. All the rooms in this hotel are in need of a major refurbishment. At nearly Euro 300 per night one would expect a certain standard of accommodation. This was sadly lacking in all aspects except a good bed and a nice view. The double room was small, the windows were dirty, the furniture extremely tired looking. The dark somber woodwork was chipped, the ice bucket was tarnished and there were no shelves for one’s clothes.

The small fridge was poorly stocked and one could not accommodate a jug of fresh milk which I had to request so that I could enjoy a cup of tea. They had those awful little milk punnets you get in 2 and 3 star hotels. The coffee machine did not work properly.

The bathroom was tiny with ( horrors!) a shower over the narrow bath which is my pet hate.

I went to have a look at the Deluxe Room ( I had the standard Superior Room) and it was huge- drab looking with again a tiny bathroom with a shower over the bath!

So here are the positives: The place is very central and just off Grafton street very convenient. The lounge area is lovely and large- has lots of atmosphere and the service is somewhat slow but very friendly. There is a charming bar off the lounge which can get very full over tea time where the public come for their famous ‘high tea’ which looked inviting. There is also a coffee bar/ light meal restaurant on the street level next to the main entrance. It is very light and airy with very friendly service. The cups are a bit small and the coffee slightly too bitter for my taste, but a good enough place to have a light breakfast or lunch. I did not taste the food however so cannot comment on that.

The staff at this hotel are all very professional , warm, friendly and helpful especially the Assistant Director of Sales, Ken Lyons who could not do enough for me when I complained bitterly about the room as well as Guest Relations, Lindsay White, from a free glass of wine , coffee to a late checkout. Kudos to them for trying to please me as best they could and to make my stay more pleasant. However the fact remains that this hotel is overpriced and just NOT up to standard. I certainly would not stay here again until they have refurbished the place!

Room Tip: Beware rooms overlooking the front entrance if you want to have open windows as it noise and music e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripper032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I am incredibly sorry and disappointed that you felt your stay was not up to our usual high standards. May I start by apologizing unreservedly for failing to meet your expectations, it is unacceptable and I can assure you we take your feedback very seriously indeed. I will review the points you have raised with the wider management team here at the Hotel and address them accordingly.

I know that Ken and Lindsey have reached out to you and I hope that you will give us another opportunity, at some point in the future, to show you the high standards of service we can and do deliver.

Thank you again for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westbury again.

With renewed apologies,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We would never stay anywhere else in Dublin. What a lovely hotel, on the best street in Dublin. Close to St. Stephen's Green, and Trinity College. A very safe area, and right off of Grafton Street. The hotel is very clean, safe, and away from the rowdy parts of Dublin. Would definitely stay here again, and have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Grafton Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahmurphy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted that you had such a great time while visiting us recently.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am genuinely thrilled that you thought the experience was so good and thank you for rating us as the Best Hotel in Dublin.

I hope to welcome you back very soon and thank you for your recommendations.


Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Westbury was exceptional! Every small detail was taken care off (We even got some birthday chocolates & a handwritten card)! Staff were extremely pleasant and professional.

The room was modern, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was impeccably designed. The minibar was big enough to stash two bottles of wine also!

But most of all, the location is brilliant. The ability to step out of the hotel straight onto Grafton Street was extremely handy. Although expensive, a stay at the Westbury is a great treat and my experience was perfect!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review following your recent visit to The Westbury and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly honoured that you chose to spend your special celebrations with us and congratulations on your recent birthday. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you great review.

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.


Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing