We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel - excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hosted a major event here last year and have only got around now to reviewing the hotel.

Staff were excellent and rooms, food and hotel professionalism was greatly appreciated.

Can recommend this for business and pleasure as it's very well located.

(The only off putting aspect concerning location is its proximity to city centre pubs, as some patrons may find this a little intimidating.)

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking Clarendon Street as this is the less noisy of the surrounding streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Westbury for your event in Dublin.

I am thrilled you enjoyed the experience and very happy that you not only found our location and overall ambience ideal, but also thought my team were courteous, friendly and helpful throughout. I have passed your kind comments on to the team to enjoy and thank your for your kind words.

I hope that you come back to visit us again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,736
    716
    194
    62
    39
See reviews for
651
1,646
144
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is in the middle of town so you don't need a car to get around. Exceptional service was provided by every staff member we met. Lovely room everything you could possible want. We had a nice view down the main street.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in The Westbury Hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am particularly pleased that our staff and the service you received was a real highlight during your stay. Your kind words serve as a wonderful motivator for us and the team here will be delighted to read your kind comments.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and thank you for choosing us for your Dublin stay.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unfortunately my guest experience of 6 nights in the westbury hotel is very bad, because of the way we have been treated. First, I would like to precise we did not reserve our trip on a booking site. At our arrival, we have been asked to give our credit card for a pre-authorization, which is very normal, but the woman at the front desk took the card, and took note of the three numbers on the back of the card!! Without our authorization!! We gave our card, trusting her, and she took note of the three numbers! The procedure of pre-authorization supposedly did not work (but we think it is wrong, and asked our banker, who confirm our credit card is working well), and we finally had to pay half of the sum.
On our last day we came on the front desk to pay the rest of which was due, and how badly surprised we were to find that 207€ have been took on our credit card…without our authorization! We did not, at any time, give to this woman, or nobody else, the authorization of taking some money directly on our credit card without us being in the front desk to tape our code! It completely is an illegal procedure ! It ruined our trip in Dublin!
This hotel, in the advertisement, speaks about “personal relationships and trust”, supposedly “building it business”… I have never read such a wrong ad!
I travel for many years, I have been in many countries…and it’s the first time I am so badly disappointed with the way I am treated in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank sinssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the moment you arrive until the time of departure, you will experience excellent treatment.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to feel valued and it's convenient for shopping, restaurant and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dublin and I appreciate the time you took to post your review.

I am delignted that you enjoyed your visit and that our service was excellent. I do hope that you come back again soon. Thank you again for your review.

,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I just finished a 7 night stay at the Westbury, the first 4 days on business and the rest on holiday. From check-in to check-out the staff could not have been more helpful. The room was clean and the turndown service was great. The complimentary wifi was reasonably fast and reliable without the hassles or daily registration some hotels subject you to. The concierge gave some spot on restaurant recommendations. The breakfast included with my rate offered a wide selection for a good value. Needing a break from Guinness, on the last night I discovered the Marble Bar on the lobby level, which served up excellent cocktails. I'd like to give a special shout out to Sean who seemed to work just about every job in the lobby at some point during my stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Westbury for your business and holiday trip.

I am thrilled you enjoyed the experience and very happy that you not only found our location and overall ambience ideal, but also thought my team were courteous, friendly and helpful throughout. I have passed your kind comments on to Sean and he is thrilled that you mentioned him, thank you.

I hope that you come back to visit us again and thank your for the lovely review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Westbury Hotel is a welcoming and comfortable hotel with accommodating and friendly staff. It is located in the city centre, about 30 minutes taxi drive from Dublin Airport.

It is wonderfully located in the centre of Dublin, with most sights and shopping just minutes away (by foot). It's not the sort of hotel you'd go to for beautiful window views, but it's great to see Dublin city in just a few days and for shopping (it's just off Grafton Street, one of Dublin's more pricey shopping areas).

The staff are friendly and accommodating, but the rooms are a bit too standard to really call it a boutique hotel or to have that waw-factor. The food is excellent and affordable, though the Wilde Restaurant was absolutely deserted at dinner time during my stay (Wednesday evening).

All in all I would recommend this hotel for sheer convenience and comfort, despite being in a more expensive price bracket. Only minor disappointments were the slightly outdated or unimaginative interior (complete with sticky doors and drawers) and technology (phones, television ("multimedia centre" - not really) and worthless hairdryer).

Few interesting points:
Rooms are air-conditioned (easily adjustable)
No balconies - windows open slightly
Sound insulation nearly nonexistent, despite claims of extra noise reduction (if you are a light sleeper, best to ask for a more isolated room)
Complementary wifi, newspaper and bottled water.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room on the front side (facing Grafton St), views from the back a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesbet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our location which is so central and within walking distrance to the many shops, coffee houses, restaurants and bars. I am also delighted that our service and the friendluness of our staff stood out as a real positive.

I regret that you had a number of issues in your room and I would like to assure you that we have rigorous maintenance and product integrity systems in place which would normally flag up any anomalies in our product and I can only assume this was a very unusual oversight on our part. I sincerely regret if you were inconvenienced in any way and can assure you that this is most certainly not the high standards we set for ourselves in terms of our bedroom product.

Despite the difficulties that you experienced I am delighted that you recommend us and will return and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Very central and within walking distance to most attractions. The room is definitely luxurious with great sheets and pillows - a bonus after travelling over 24 hours. The concierge and housekeeping are great however the staff at checkin weren't overly friendly which was disappointing. Didn't eat at the hotel as a bit pricey. Would stay again if I could get a deal or promotional rate as when travelling solo it can add up. Loved that it was close to the airport bus also, it made it very easy to get from airport to hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing to stay wuth us on your recent visit to Dublin.

I am thrilled you enjoyed the experience and very happy that you found our location ideal for visiting the many hot spots around the area. I am thrilled that the team were courteous, friendly and helpful throughout your stay however I have noted your comments regarding the welcome you received, this I will address as a matter of urgency.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next trip to Dublin.


Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing