We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, Good Restaurants, Great Location”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, Good Restaurants, Great Location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is the place to stay in Dublin ... walking distance to many attractions - just off the Grafton Street shopping and a few blocks from Trinity College. Catching sightseeing bus is easy and walking to many restaurants as well as beautiful parks. Have stayed in several Hotels in Dublin - this location is the best for shopping and available transportation. Food is the restaurants and service were very good and the lobby desk people were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review following your visit to us.

I am delighted that our location worked for you and that you managed to get out to visit the many hot spots around the hotel plus some retail theraphy. We are blessed to have such a great location with everything within walking distance to the hotel.

I hope that you come back to stay with us on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,837
    741
    197
    67
    41
See reviews for
682
1,699
150
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

In a way I am sad that we stayed at the Westbury as I have now realised what a great hotel could be like and I suspect I am going to be in for total disappointment at every other hotel we stay in from now on. From first booking the hotel (dealing with Gillian who was incredibly helpful) to our arrival with two small children totally jet-lagged, everyone was so friendly, welcoming, and hospitable. The receptionist we spoke to upon arrival took pity on us and magicked up a temporary room until our room was ready so we could crash for a few hours. This made a huge difference as after a few hours of power nap and freshening up we could get out and actually enjoy the city. Someone seeming to be senior welcomed us to the hotel in person giving the kids coloring pencils and coloring pads. The rooms were great. We had interconnecting rooms as promised by Gillian, and the kids room had a couple of Westbury teddies waiting for them on the beds.

The little touches; hot towels and water bottles on arrival, the Butlers chocolate on the bed at turndown (that was actually so delicious we went and bought more of them for gifts!) together with the incredible staff and perfect location are the things that transform a hotel experience and are the things that make this hotel special. This is not a budget choice, but it is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow !what a great review thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts following your visit.

I am incredibly lucky to have such a great team here at The Westbury who will always go the extra mile to make sure that all our guests are comfortable and have a memorable experience. We put great emphasis on maintaining the excellent level of service that our team is so proud to deliver, and I am delighted to learn that we have successfully achieved that during your stay with us thank you again for your review.

I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, excellent facilities and superb service. You may not consider this hotel because it's one of the most expensive ones in Dublin. But the price is not outrageous and it's really well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and I am thrilled that you think we are the Best ! thank you.

I am delighted that you had such a great time while visiting us and that we managed to exceed your expectations.

I hope that you come back to stay with us soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had the most wonderful stay in the Westbury Hotel. Could not fault it. From we stepped in the door until we left we had just one complaint. Beautiful room to the front of the hotel. We stayed 3 nights Bed & Breakfast. We had an evening meal on the Monday night. Staff from waitresses to reception to concierge were excellent & courteous. We found the seating by the window in the front lounge, where we ate our evening meal quite uncomfortable.Otherwise everything was excellent.

Room Tip: Room to the front & floor 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

We have a great team here at The Westbury who take great pride in looking after our guests and I am thrilled that they managed to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your review and I have noted your comments regarding the seating in the Gallery, I will pass these comments to our Design Team as we are passionate about creating the perfect environment for our guests.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just one back from staying two nights here and we were really impressed. We hadn't had the best journey as my eldest had been ill the night before and so we were all really tired when we arrived. When we first arrived we were told that our room wasn't ready yet ( I think something might have happened to the room?) which normally wouldn't have been a problem but we were ready to drop.
The lady who was looking after us ( her name was Louise Doyle we found out later) was really nice and kind. We were offered an adjoining room instead of a room with 2 doubles (2 adults, 2 kids) which was perfect for us and the rooms were beautifully decorated. Immaculate and modern room with nespresso machine, seating area, plenty of room.
She really looked after us and even arranged for the kids to have some cookies and milk which went down a treat! We thought it might have been a bit noisy as we were overlooking the street but this wasn't a problem at all. Comfy beds and air conditioning, no outside noise.
It's 1 minute from Grafton St do right in the centre of things.
We had a rate which included a "light breakfast" which was served in the gallery lounge- this was tea or coffee, fruit juice, yoghurt, fruit salad, a croissant and a "bran" bread with jams. My youngest wasn't keen so they let him get a pastry from the full breakfast restaurant.
Very friendly, bend over backwards, attentive staff.
Very nice hotel, , would dream of staying anywhere else if we go again.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Everywhere we saw was immaculate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review following your two nights stay with us.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay and I very much want to express my appreciation for acknowledging our decisive commitment to superior service. We put a great emphasis on maintaining the excellent level of service that our team is so proud to deliver, and I am delighted to learn that we have successfully achieved that during your stay with us. Louise will be thrilled to read your review and thank you for recognising her

I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family of four recently stayed at the Westbury for 2 nights. It was a wonderful experience and an extremely nice and convenient location. If you can swing the bill we highly recommend it. Loved the chocolates at night!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and tell other travellers about your experience.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that our location was suitable for you to get out and about and visit the many restaurants bars and other attractions which are literally just outside the hotel.

I hope that you come back and visit us soon.

Regards,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My parter and I stayed here for one night . We could not fault anything for our stay. The service is outstanding, the rooms are large and have a beautiful décor.

If your questioning wether it will be money well spent to stay here then I would say don't even question it.
From start to end the experience was fantastic. Worth every cent!!!

The location especially is great, just off the Main Street and very close to restaurants, pubs and shopping.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We could not ask for a better review thank you for sharing with us and others on Tripadvisor.

Outstanding and faultless is just what we like to hear I will pass on your kind comments to the Team here at The Westbury so they can enjoy your review.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon !

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing