We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION IN THE HEART OF DUBLIN!”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“PERFECTION IN THE HEART OF DUBLIN!”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

What can I say other than this is a magnificent gem in the heart of Dublin. After a less than stellar stay in Galway (which I have reviewed) the Westbury was a like a dream come true. From the moment we drove up to entering my charming room loaded with amentities, I knew I was in for a treat. The staff was incredible, the room was spotless and the location in the heart of the action. Nothing snooty about the staff either, they couldn't have been any more professional and friendly. I found this out when I weighed myself on the scale in the room. Knowing I had eaten too much during my stay in Ireland, I called down to the front desk and asked them to convert the KG/stones to dreaded pounds! After great laugh I was informed my fears were coorect and I was totally pudged out! When I came down to go roaming around the area I had a great chat with the staff who thought my phone call was the funniest thing they had encountered and encouraged me to eat drink and be meryy while in Dublin! Friendliness just adds so much to a stay. It can turn a three=star hotel into a five and a five star into perfection. I plan on returning for pleasure and the Westbury will be my destination. Even the baggage handlers and doormen were funny and kind. I felt like I had known them for years. It all conspired to make my short one night stay before flying home a special treat-thank you!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARKSugarLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear ARKsugarland

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,883
    754
    201
    68
    41
See reviews for
703
1,720
151
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I have just returned from an excellent weekend away in Dublin where myself and three of my firends stayed at the Westbury hotel for what was an excellent stay dispite the rugby result. We arrived early and the girl on reception had both rooms ready for us so we had no waiting around for our room. After the disappointing result we returned to the hotel and we decided to try the bar downstairs Cafe Novo which was excellent ,we spent the night there.......... after a late night I recommend the room service breakfast... I have stayed in five star hotels before but none compare to the Westbury for having it all there for you and service to match.... I will be back.......

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear ChrisSoutheast,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.

Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.

I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.

Kind regards,

Rachel McNamara
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullingar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I stayed there with my partner as a treat for his birthday. The hotel is absolutely faultness. Wonderfull staff, beautiful room, even better location. .I absolutely loved my stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear mulgal,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.

Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.

I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.

Kind regards,

Rachel McNamara
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at the westbury to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and the hotel lived up to our expectations in every way. I requested some Champagne on arrival from my Girlfriend and the hotel ensured it was there, she was delighted. The hotel is located just off grafton street so we didnt need the car all weekend. While the coneirge recommened some excellent retaurants for us to try we also tried Cafe Novo downstairs in the hotel and they service and food was amazing the staff are extremely helpfull and the sharing platers to start with are an excellent idea. Our room was really nice and they have some brilliant features, you can plug in you ipod in the room and they have nespresso machines for poeple like me who love coffee this was a great plus.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilIreland07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyGM, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 3 May 2009
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that both yourself and your girlfriend had a most enjoyable stay and trust it was a birthday your girlfriend will remember for many years to come.

The Westbury Hotel has recently completed a major refurbishment programme in an effort to improve both our facilities and service to guests. The programme , which commenced in 2008, covered all areas of the hotel, including all of our guest bedrooms, Wilde The Restaurant, our dedicated meeting rooms, the new look Gallery, Marble Bar and finally Cafe Novo Bar and Brasserie. As one of the Leading Hotels of the World, The Westbury offers a unique experience in standards of hospitality, service and, now more than ever, elegance and style.

It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. Please kindly contact me personally before your next visit to the Westbury Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of the Westbury's renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards
Glenn Valentine - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Myself and my husband recently stayed in this hotel a treat for my birthday and a treat it was! When we were checking in the reception was busy but we were prompty checkd in by very friendly and polite staff, the room was beautiful, very modern and larger than i had expected ,most city clenter hotels i expect smaller rooms than normal as you are paying for location but in the Westbury you get both! the room has great amenities,fantastic big tv , coffee machine and lovely aqua di parma in the bathroom.The rest of our stay was flawless,great bar and restaurant, all the staff are so courtious and friendly - really made the stay and my birthday, will definatly be back, at the very least to sit and relax in the lovely "gallery" area and watch the world go by on grafton street.Cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear niamh2,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor
.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.

Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.

I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.

Kind regards,

Rachel McNamara
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Had a fantastic stay at The Westbury, so much so, we're going back again in May! The hotel's in a great location, close to some fantastic bars, restuarants and shopping. The room was nice, the staff friendly and helpful. They do some fantastic deals, we booked through their website which was the cheapest.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sobio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyGM, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 28 April 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted that you will be returning to us in May and would be delighted if you could contact me prior to your arrival, as I would be delighted to personally extend some of Westbury's well renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards

Glenn Valentine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Visited Dublin for a business meeting (also in the hotel). Reception staff were very attentive & helpful on arrival and my room was clean though a bit small. The meeting room was fine and the service we got was good. We messed around with our lunch arrangements a little but the staff took this in their stride and were really helpful. Even if they were a tiny bit exasperated by this, it didn't show. The food at lunch was very nice too. The Westbury is in a great location and is ideally situated for shopping & sightseeing. I have to say that Dublin is a great City and was looking cleaner and a bit more modern than my last visit a couple of years ago. The Westbury is a bit of an indulgence for a weekend leisure stay, I'd say, but it's certainly a very good hotel.

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SaldeanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyGM, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, 28 April 2009
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Warm Regards

Glenn Valentine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing