We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard hotel, bit noisey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beresford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beresford Hotel
Ranked #96 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Standard hotel, bit noisey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good points.The hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and it was within easy walking distance of Temple Bar. The breakfast was standard help-yourself cooked bacon sausage, (overdone) scrambled egg, mushrooms, black and white pudding, beans, hash browns plus a selection of cereals, yoghurts, breads, jams, cold meats, fruit salad, dried fruit and cheese.
Not so good points. It is right next to the tramway and bus station and Garda station so there is quite a bit of noise throughout the night, especially if the windows have to be opened.
If you are tall then I would suggest asking for a longer bed as the standard double was far too short for 6ft4.

Room Tip: rooms on the front suffer from traffic noise. I don't know about rooms on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mousemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mousemen,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We do have quieter rooms available on the back side of the hotel and bigger size of beds and I am sorry you were not made aware of this. I would like to assure you this is not our regular standard and I sincerely apologize for the discomfort this may have caused. I am delighted that the staff was helpful and that the location suited you well. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Beresford Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    366
    243
    107
    72
See reviews for
137
432
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly & helpful, & the food was good. If you are fit, it's an easy walk to the main part of town, as well as most transportation. If you have a room that faces the street, there are tables below them at which people sit & talk from early in the morning till closing time of the pub. Nice for them, but not nice for you, if you are trying to rest. The side rooms face an alley where there are also people hanging out most nights from the pub & on the way to the hostels. Those rooms also face another two story pub next door. If you like to party, you'll love all the noise, esp on Friday night.

Room Tip: Choose a room or suite in the other part of the hotel on the upper floors to put more distance betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Ted150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 73Ted150,

Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I would like to thank you for your nice comments about the hotel staff and food. I apologize for the noise during the night which has deprived you of your sleep and that should definitely not happen in a hotel. If there is any noise which prevents our guests from getting the rest they deserve they are more than welcome to call the Night Manager on duty and the noise issue will be resolved promptly. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here with friends in July. Its about a 10/15 min steady walk from Temple Bar. With some great little proper pubs on the way. The hotel its self is clean and the room we had was great, good size and comfy bed. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast was spot on. I would defiantly book this one again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am glad your experience with us was an enjoyable one. We are very proud of our location as it is within walking distance of all major Dublin sightseeing “hotspots”, restaurants and bars. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights on the Golden Years break ( for over 55s), excellent room rate plus complimentary full Irish breakfast each morning. We asked for a quiet room and were delighted with room 404 on the top floor, the room was clean, spacious and we weren't bothered by noise from trams or blues as can be the case at the front of the hotel according to other reviewers. The complimentary wifi enabled us to book tickets for attractions such as the Guinness Factory at discounted prices. The hotel is well located close to the bus station and the Airlink bus stop is directly opposite the hotel. We had a green sightseeing hop on hop off ticket for the first two days and this helped us familiarise ourselves with Dublin as well as being able to get to some of the attractions further out of the city.

The reception staff were helpful and looked after our luggage when we arrived before our room was ready and again on our last day when we had to vacate the room by 11am but had a late evening flight back to the UK.

The breakfast each morning were excellent and we ate in the restaurant on our last evening before flying home. A special three courses menu for €20 is available before 8.30pm each evening and the food was superb.

We had slight problem one afternoon when returning to our room, the chambermaid had only left one bath towel and no shower gel but a phone call to Reception and the matter was quickly resolved.

All in all, the hotel provided us with everything we needed to enjoy our first visit to Dublin.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a top floor room at the back of the hotel. The view will only be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 62DG,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. Comments such as yours make us love what we do and rest assured they will be passed on to the team. I am delighted that our Italian Restaurant Il Vignardo was the place you had excellent breakfast and dinner, I hope you will be back with us soon to taste them again. I am delighted we helped make your first trip to Dublin a memorable one. The team and I hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A friendly staff greeted us every morning and was always available and helpful. The hotel is in general very clean and quiet. Everything is within walking distance and there's a Luas stop and bus stop right outside the hotel. We would definitely book this hotel later.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Andreas B,

I am delighted to read your lovely review, thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on your recent stay in Beresford Hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and all the staff looked after you well. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon on your next trip to Dublin.

Warm regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beresford hotel has a delightful staff, very kind and helpful. Hotel is clean and charming, rooms could use a little freshening up but for the affordable rate it is not bad. In prime location walking distance to everything you want to see in dublin. And buses, taxis and trains are all right across the st! Also food in the restaurant is affordable and delicious, would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Nikki R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and I will pass on your much appreciated feedback about the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

2nd visit to hotel,keeps getting better,opposite bus station (bit hard to find by car if you don't know where your goin. Within walking distance of all the attractions!Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms. If your wanting a reasonably priced base for your trip to Dublin...this is the one!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iangpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Iangpz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am glad your 2nd experience with us was an enjoyable one. We are very proud of our location as it is within walking distance of all major Dublin sightseeing “hotspots”, restaurants and bars. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Hotel

Property: Beresford Hotel
Address: 21 Store St, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresford Hotel is a superb hotel in the very heart of Dublin City Centre. Overlooking the magnificent Custom House, Beresford Hotel is the perfect location for anyone who wants the city on their doorstep just minutes from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar and opposite the Bus, Luas and Train stations. The O2 Arena, Croke Park and a host of tourist attractions as well as Restaurants, Bars and Shops are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Aviva Stadium, Dublin Mountains and sandy beaches are a short train ride away. So whether you are looking for a city break to Dublin, are attending a special event or fancy a shopping trip to the city, stay with Beresford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing