We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent re fit and it has paid off”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Rooms are still basic enough but this is a good functional hotel in a very good location . Rooms are clean and the only downer is the warren of rooms ~ you would need a map to get around the place , it's like a series of houses linked together . The food at evening time is quite good and reasonable and the front of house staff were very friendly and welcoming . Rate at €89 room only was comparable if not slightly cheaper than other similar places but the breakfast at €12 we found a bit pricey for what you got .

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank BillybIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are also very pleased to hear that you found our front of house team friendly and that your meal in the evening was enjoyable. With regard to our breakfast price, we have now introduced a price of €10 for a full Irish breakfast and €8 for a continental breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Sandymount Hotel with its welcoming staff is located in a quiet suburb not to far from the airport express bus top, train station, and is not far from the centre of Dublin. It is also located close to some good pubs in Ballsbridge. The rooms are clean, service is good, and overall is good value for money. I have stayed here on two occasions now

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel.

We are very pleased to to hear that you continue to enjoy the service and location and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Our group of three stayed in June for a concert in the O2. The three of us stayed in the same room and found it very spacious and very comfortable. The room itself was spotless and the food in the hotel was beautiful. Their Hotel/theatre deals are also fantastic offers which we will be taking up soon.
Absolutely no negative's on this hotel. Five stars *****

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food offering and that you found our hotel/theatre packages of excellent value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights to attend one of the bruce springsteen concerts at the RDS.
the location was excellent and only 10 - 15 mins walk to the venue .very nice residential area with a great friendly cafe on way to RDS ( patricks ). also just a short walk to sandymount village which was lovely , or to Ballsbridge itself- both places where there were shops, restaurants and pubs.
the room was fine - a bit small for a double as the desk was next to the bed and only left a small gap to walk around , with 2 people one had to stand aside for the other to move around the room , however it was clean. the 2 bedside lights didnt work but someone came quickly and fixed them - one bulb needed replacing and the other had a loose wire . would have been nice to have some biscuits alongside the tea and coffee though!
the staff were all really friendly and helpful so would definitely come back here if visiting the RDS or Aviva stadium.
also , having a couple of computers and a printer was really helpful as we could print off our boarding cards for the return flight

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alchemilla_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our team friendly and the location good.

Our apologies with regard to your bedside lights this was clearly an oversight on our part.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a SuperValu break at the beginning of July. We stayed for two nights B&B. Having the option of a break here was great as we wouldn’t have necessarily heard of the hotel otherwise. The location of the hotel is a real selling point – close to town, yet in a quiet and pretty residential area with Sandymount Village down the road and a very short car trip to Sandymount Strand. The free parking is a big bonus in the city and took the stress out of parking charges etc. The area is also well serviced with public transport, the Sandymount Dart Station just a short walk.

As described by previous reviewers, the hotel is a mish mash of old and new, but we loved that about it! The Reception area is modern and fresh and there a lovely little rooms off this area where you can just sit down and chill out. Our bedroom was fresh, clean and of a good size. I agree that the bathroom is dated, but it wasn’t a deal breaker as it was clean. Bed was comfortable and we both slept well. We ate in the bar on our first evening – personally I found the food nice. The BLT was very tasty and well presented. However, with the exception of one waitress we did find the service to be a bit poor. On the second evening (having just a coffee) we chose to leave the bar and head to one of the rooms off reception as we found the staff to be a bit frantic. Breakfast was very tasty both mornings and staff very helpful. Reception Staff were very pleasant on each occasion we dealt with them – a real gem for the hotel.

All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay here and would most definitely return on another trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to see that you found our hotel and more importantly that you enjoyed your stay.

We are also very pleased to see that you found the amenities great. Your feedback regarding the service in the bar has been taken on board, it is certainly an area that has seen many changes as of late and we are working very hard to improve on the consistency of service .

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sandymount Hotel for the second time from 10th - 12th July. It's a very nice, clean hotel with friendly staff and is well situated in a quiet residential area, right beside the Aviva stadium and close to the RDS. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were on a room only basis but ate in the hotel bar on our first evening. The food was fine - not fabulous but sufficient for our needs after a long journey and not wanting to go out to look for a restaurant. We had breakfast in the hotel the last time we stayed and it was excellent. An added bonus is that there's free parking at the hotel which is great when staying in Dublin.

When I got home, I discovered I'd left a pair of gold earrings behind but a phone call to the hotel sorted it out and I have now received them by post. Thank you to Rose of the Housekeeping staff!

Overall, I'm very happy to recommend the Sandymount Hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable Dublin base with friendly staff and, from our past experience, very good breakfasts. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TootsNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay and found the location and complimentary parking good.

We are also very pleased to see that you found the team friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel for a third time.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in the Sandymount following a wonderful Paul Simon concert in the 02 concert hall. Not an ideal location for the O2 but fine if you are driving. A Sat-Nav will help as it’s a bit tricky to find and also make sure to have €1.75 with you for the tool and. The hotel is located in a quite area very near the Aviva stadium - so great for rugby and soccer matches. The hotel was clean and service fine. Parking is provided and is fine although the spaces are a little tight. The part of the hotel we stayed in has a large number of bedrooms on a ground floor - they are nothing special and felt a bit like being in a cell. We had a very good night’s sleep so no complaints, although the beds are only average and the thick duvets could prove too hot in warm weather Breakfast was good although it needed to be a little warmer. Overall this is a decent hotel if what you need is a place for a night or two but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of main hotel as these should have less of a 'cell' feel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sandymount Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Your feedback regarding breakfast has been passed on to the Food and Beverage Manager culminating in a new procedure and we wish thank you for bringing it to our intention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,685 reviews
3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £78 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing