We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for concerts”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Ideal location for concerts in Aviva stadium (round the corner) & the RDS ( 8 min walk).Dart just up the road. Very Comfortable hotel with great prices for bed & breakfast aaaand free parking.Rooms are generally quite spacious but are a few smaller double rooms. But all are clean & modern. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Left our driving license in the room and got a phone call from Rose in housekeeping to let us know and she posted it to us at home which we got the following day. Def stay here again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandymount Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,389)
There are newer reviews for Sandymount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,830 of 2,389 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent ten days at Sandymount in July/August 2012 with ten Suffolk University graduate students. The location is excellent- a five minute walk from the DART which is only three stops from downtown, near the villages of Sandymount and Ballsbridge as well as airport bus.Very nice rooms, great Irish breakfast included, superb internet access, nice bar that stays open late with a good menu. Beatrice and the other staff were very friendly and helpful, attending to the diverse needs of us and our students including getting tix for trips, many good suggestions on places to go. When we were leaving for the bus, it was raining; she used her car to take us to the stop.This is a hotel that has been owned by one family for many years. John the owner was oftern around and very attentive to our needs.

I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickBein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team friendly and helpful. Beatrice in particular was very pleased to receive a mention for her hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sandymount Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is ideally, based on the outskirts of Dublin yet close enough to the City Centre, (20 minutes by bus Nos: 4 & 7). The hotel is just a few minutes from the Aviva Stadium and Lansdown Road train station, and in the opposite direction it is an easy ten minute stroll to Sandymount Village, (buses 1 and 47 also run into the City from the village centre), the beach and the Promenade is just a couple of minutes walk past the village.
The Hotel and staff are warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful, the restaurant is comfortable and the food is reasonably priced; the buffet breakfast is a must.
The executive room we stayed in was spacious, even though it contained: a double and single bed, sofa and coffee table, dresser, table and two chairs. The room was clean, comfortable and although the bathroom was small it was clean, modern and well ventilated.
We are looking forward to a return visit to Dublin and would definitely stay at the Sandymount again

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are a lot bigger than the Standard double rooms and ours was spacious enough for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, General Manager at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandymount Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ruan D'Arcy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A very enjoyable and reasonably priced overnight stay at this Hotel. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. Room very comfortable.
Location excellent in lovely part of Dublin. Close to Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal, The Point and Sandymount Beach..
I will definately stay here again and recommend to friends..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner/Director at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel and for your kind words.

John Loughran
Owner/Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the madonna concert! The hotel location to aviva stadium was fantastic-5 mins tops.
The staff are exceptionally friendly & a credit to the hotel.
The rooms were small but very clean & comfortable. The Walls were pretty thin - I could hear the guests next door being sick!!!!! But I still had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was very tasty & well organised.
My only down side was the evening meal. The hotel had not allowed for the amt of people going to the concert, the bar & restaurant were short staffed. We waited over an hour for fish & chips, in fact we watched another couple receive our order & eat it! The staff were very apologetic but it did tarnish our experience.
However if I had another concert in the area I would book this hotel in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner/Director at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel and for your kind words. You are right in that we misjudged restaurant demand pre concert. Delays were unacceptable and we will ensure a much better service for Ladt Gaga!

John Loughran
Owner/Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night in July 2012. Room with dinner and breakfast was part of package at destinationdublin.ie Lovely place, near to city center, Aviva stadium, theaters etc. Very clean and cosy room, friendly and helpful staff, good food. Would absolutely go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug82_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner/Director at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandymount Hotel and for your kind words. It is a nice vote of confidence that you returned for a second visit. It gives all of us a boost when our efforts are rewarded with guest appreciation.

John Loughran
Owner/Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just spent two nights at the Sandymount and was glad I returned a second time after visiting last year. The staff are friendly and helpful with rooms that are pleasant and clean. They also offer room service and free internet. After a terrible time with another hotel in Belfast, knowing I was coming to Dublin was a relief, as I knew that the Sandymount wouldn't let me down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,590 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,721 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,373 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £87 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing