We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/consistant”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location/consistant”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

i have stayed here a few times both alone on business and with the family the rooms are clean and up to standard, food is good, the location is probably the best feature close to the o2,Ballsbridge,East link bridge and is a nice walk approx 25mins into the City centre also NO parking fees.Staff are friendly although when i called looking for a comercial rate the receptionist was at best abrupt so i now book on line better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Pat

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you have chosen to stay with us on a number of occasions. I will remind my Reception staff that a polite and friendly interaction with the customer is not optional at the desk.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    793
    227
    64
    42
See reviews for
385
785
93
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hotels fine and service is friendly however, suggest you check your room before moving your luggage. I was in a rush when I arrived and just left my bags in the room and ran out for dinner. returned later to room with leaking bathroom ceiling, ground floor room with window opening onto drive through to hotel car park, TV located on top of wardrobe. Also suggest you request top floor rooms, noise from room above..

Room Tip: top floor rooms to avoid noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveg2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Steve

Thank you for your review.

I apologise for the leak and will have my maintenance staff deal with it.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Sandymount has served me well for overnights for quite a few years. Fairly close to the city centre on the South side, it is two minutes from the Aviva Stadium and jam packed on international weekends and big game days. Having said that it, I have always found the staff helpful, if occasionally fraught. Rooms are adequate and breakfast is reasonable and well priced. An upgrade to an Executive room allowed me to appreciate the slightly better quality. Had a basement room once - didn't like it too much. It seems to be favoured by budget conscious travellers and serves that market well.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the bar restaurant area for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have overnighted for quite a few years, and look forward to your continuing visits.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Spend a night here with my husband as we were going to a show in the O2, the room represented great value for money and the hotel is very nice for what you pay for. Staff are friendly especially the receptionist on duty the day we checked in . Good value for money and includes free car parking which means a lot for Dublin. As the hotel is obvisoulsy an old building and appears several buildings joined up you end up with a bit of a journey to your rooms on uneven floor boards !! The rooms are standard and a bit dated and different parts of the hotel are more modern than others . Location is good and the hotel was quiet with no night time noise , i really could not fault the hotel for what we paid for the room B&B and parking and i would definitely consider staying here again . You do get what you pay for and once you know what to expect - by reading the reviews , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed the show in the O2, and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is a very basic motel/hotel, rooms are pretty small, hardly any room for work. It's clean and does the job on a budget. Stay away on the weekends unless you like to listen to techno dance music all night!

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the reception.. it's a big place so carrying your luggage to the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloonak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

As the hotel does not have a function room or nightclub, many guests choose to stay because of the quietness.

Perhaps there was music in an adjoining guest room, and if this was the case, please accept my sincere apologies.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I took a group to the Notre Dame/Navy football game in September 2012. This hotle managed to exceed expetations on all fronts. Will the hotel was full, they helped you like you were their only customer. I had a problem as one of the travels in my group broke her leg and we need to change romms and dates around plus arrange transportation to the hospital.

I couldn't ask for a better staff.

Room Tip: If you would like a quite room, ask for one at the rear of the hotel. The front rooms are on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Jim

Thank you for your kind review . I hope your group member has recovered from her broken leg. Your comments regarding staff are much appreciated.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Considering we have read all the great comments before, we were expecting a lot from this hotel. Sure, taking into consideration the rates- which are much lower than the average in Dublin- one could argue that you really shouldn't get your hopes up. However, it is not ideally located (reasonable of course, but not in the middle of the action) and having this in our mind we were sure the hotel would be lovely.
I will start with the bad side of our stay there: we had a late arrival and were checked in by a very nice and courteous front desk clerk (Francisco, if I'm not mistaken) in room 504. Now. to get to this 504 you have to walk through a very long hallway, take an elevator (and press 1-how on earth is this possible if the room starts with 5?), pass through another hallway, take another elevator, and finally walk along a third and last corridor (which looks really dated). Room 504 was no reason to get ecstatic either: two really small single beds that looked ancient, walls that clearly needed painting and to top it all: a bathroom that looked worse than one could imagine (a trace of rust in the toilet, hair in the bathtub and dust in the sink).
Next day we asked to be moved to a double as we have actually booked and they actually dealt with our request very professionally: they have explained that they were fully booked but would move our luggage as soon as they will have an available room.
We were moved to 204, which was much better: the furniture was in good state and walls looked . However, still had a major issue with the bathroom as they seem as not having invested a lot in this area. Again, the bathtub was chipped, everything had a yellowish hue and looked cheap and dated (more like the type of bathroom for personal use). I must admit, though, that it was clean.
Another aspect I have disliked is that they re-use toilet paper from previous guests, which is really a shame. As your valued guest I don't want to notice any of the traces left by the ones who stayed in here before. I really don't need three toilet paper rolls, from which two are halved, I'd rather have one that was put there for my use only.
All in all, our experience was not that bad- considering their rates, but that was because accommodation is not a focal point of our vacations. However, if you are interested in a flawless hotel experience, I recommend paying some extra money on staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Ioana

Thank you for your review.

As the hotel is adapted from Victorian buildings, rooms are numbered in blocks as it is not possible to use floor level numbering. Your comments regarding bedroom décor have been noted, and I will ensure they are attended to by maintenance.

Please accept my sincere apology that all was not as it should have been during your stay.


With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,289 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,654 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,454 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,329 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing