We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #31 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for the weekend to attend a family function in Dublin. The room was perfectly adequate and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a slight smell and was surprised that as it is internal there was no form of extractor fan. We purchased vouchers for breakfast and were disappointed with the food. Breakfast is the one meal which should be easy to produce well. The full Irish was not a good experience. The bacon was undercooked and the scrambled egg appeared to have been made from powdered eggs as it had a gelatinous consistency and was almost in edible.
On the whole it was a pleasant place to stay and the staff were most helpful

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Nigel

Thank you for your review. All our bathrooms should have an external window, or extractor fan, and I will follow up. Your comments regarding breakfast will be brought to the attention of our chefs.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    727
    214
    63
    42
See reviews for
360
712
84
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whenever I'm in Dublin for work or for family trips I always use the Sandymount Hotel. It's ideally located near the city centre but is set in a very peaceful neghbourhood. The value for money is excellent - even though the price is low it still has that big "city hotel" feel.

Rooms are clean, modern, warm and well-lit, whether in the older Victorian or more modern part of the hotel. Breakfast is an good buffet served at garden level.

Service is at just the right level - attentive to your needs without being too much in your face like some of the more expensive hotels. The front-desk staff really look after you well

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine to me - it's not necessary to look for a special room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Martin

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you choose to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Sandymount for a few days during April; this was our fifth or possibly sixth visit to the hotel over the past few years which I think in itself is a personal recommendation. Travelling by car from the UK by car we find that the hotel is perfectly placed only about 30 minutes from both Dun Laoghaire and Dublin Port ferry terminals and has the added bonus of ample free parking, which is extremely unusual in this area. If you feel the need to go out in the evening there are plenty of bars and restaurants a short walk away in Ballsbridge and for days out it is only a five minute walk to the local Dart station and then a ten minute journey into Dublin Centre. The hotel itself is well staffed and everybody is exceedingly helpful, my one gripe though, over the past few years a lot of money has been spent on the hotel, decorating and upgrading so it is a shame that any ongoing maintenance of the rooms seems to be lacking with a few minor problems visibly beginning to surface in quite a few areas but so long as it doesn’t get any worse it certainly will not put us off returning here on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted you have stayed with us on 5/6 occasions over the past few years. Most rooms have been upgraded over the past three years, and we hope to complete renovation in November 2013.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

i have stayed here a few times both alone on business and with the family the rooms are clean and up to standard, food is good, the location is probably the best feature close to the o2,Ballsbridge,East link bridge and is a nice walk approx 25mins into the City centre also NO parking fees.Staff are friendly although when i called looking for a comercial rate the receptionist was at best abrupt so i now book on line better value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Pat

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you have chosen to stay with us on a number of occasions. I will remind my Reception staff that a polite and friendly interaction with the customer is not optional at the desk.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hotels fine and service is friendly however, suggest you check your room before moving your luggage. I was in a rush when I arrived and just left my bags in the room and ran out for dinner. returned later to room with leaking bathroom ceiling, ground floor room with window opening onto drive through to hotel car park, TV located on top of wardrobe. Also suggest you request top floor rooms, noise from room above..

Room Tip: top floor rooms to avoid noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveg2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Steve

Thank you for your review.

I apologise for the leak and will have my maintenance staff deal with it.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Sandymount has served me well for overnights for quite a few years. Fairly close to the city centre on the South side, it is two minutes from the Aviva Stadium and jam packed on international weekends and big game days. Having said that it, I have always found the staff helpful, if occasionally fraught. Rooms are adequate and breakfast is reasonable and well priced. An upgrade to an Executive room allowed me to appreciate the slightly better quality. Had a basement room once - didn't like it too much. It seems to be favoured by budget conscious travellers and serves that market well.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the bar restaurant area for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you have overnighted for quite a few years, and look forward to your continuing visits.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Spend a night here with my husband as we were going to a show in the O2, the room represented great value for money and the hotel is very nice for what you pay for. Staff are friendly especially the receptionist on duty the day we checked in . Good value for money and includes free car parking which means a lot for Dublin. As the hotel is obvisoulsy an old building and appears several buildings joined up you end up with a bit of a journey to your rooms on uneven floor boards !! The rooms are standard and a bit dated and different parts of the hotel are more modern than others . Location is good and the hotel was quiet with no night time noise , i really could not fault the hotel for what we paid for the room B&B and parking and i would definitely consider staying here again . You do get what you pay for and once you know what to expect - by reading the reviews , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed the show in the O2, and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing