We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Good location, on outskirts of Dublin in a nice area.

Reasonable price, and included a good-sized room, excellent shower, choice of toiletries, iron etc

Both breakfast & evening meal good and tasty. Evening meal very rapid serving!

All staff friendly and helpful, particularly Beatrice on reception.

Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main corridors look to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t1metraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Beatrice on Reception is in her 33rd year with us, and is truly a gem.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my 2nd visit to Sandymount Hotel in 6 months.
This hotel is approx a 20 min brisk walk to city centre but is served by the" Dart" which is the commuter train service and takes about 5 mins to city centre.
The hotel is a series of buildings and this accounts for the number of corridors at different levels as you get to your room. It is both quaint and modern but above all it is friendly and clean..
Breakfast is buffet and is very good and again friendly staff are there to assist with anything you require.
Overall it is a good hotel and great value and would recommend.
It is about 5 minutes walk from the very attractive village of Sandymount

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munster2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your second visit, and we look forward to many more.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Group of four were attending a function in Dublin. Wanted to stay in this area in Dublin as it was convenient to the place the function was being held. Lovely hotel. Great location, spacious rooms, delicious meal and breakfast. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Very good value for money and it was nice to be away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. Will certainly go back and recommend. This is a family run hotel with warmth and hospitality in abundance. Met the owner and he was such a lovely gentleman giving advice and travel tips. Thanks John.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank dolores mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Hi Dolores,

My late mother, Rosaleen McConn, was from Downpatrick and always took great pride in anyone visiting from there. Thank you for your kind review.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in the hotel for the weekend to attend a family function in Dublin. The room was perfectly adequate and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a slight smell and was surprised that as it is internal there was no form of extractor fan. We purchased vouchers for breakfast and were disappointed with the food. Breakfast is the one meal which should be easy to produce well. The full Irish was not a good experience. The bacon was undercooked and the scrambled egg appeared to have been made from powdered eggs as it had a gelatinous consistency and was almost in edible.
On the whole it was a pleasant place to stay and the staff were most helpful

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Nigel

Thank you for your review. All our bathrooms should have an external window, or extractor fan, and I will follow up. Your comments regarding breakfast will be brought to the attention of our chefs.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Whenever I'm in Dublin for work or for family trips I always use the Sandymount Hotel. It's ideally located near the city centre but is set in a very peaceful neghbourhood. The value for money is excellent - even though the price is low it still has that big "city hotel" feel.

Rooms are clean, modern, warm and well-lit, whether in the older Victorian or more modern part of the hotel. Breakfast is an good buffet served at garden level.

Service is at just the right level - attentive to your needs without being too much in your face like some of the more expensive hotels. The front-desk staff really look after you well

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine to me - it's not necessary to look for a special room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Martin

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you choose to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Sandymount for a few days during April; this was our fifth or possibly sixth visit to the hotel over the past few years which I think in itself is a personal recommendation. Travelling by car from the UK by car we find that the hotel is perfectly placed only about 30 minutes from both Dun Laoghaire and Dublin Port ferry terminals and has the added bonus of ample free parking, which is extremely unusual in this area. If you feel the need to go out in the evening there are plenty of bars and restaurants a short walk away in Ballsbridge and for days out it is only a five minute walk to the local Dart station and then a ten minute journey into Dublin Centre. The hotel itself is well staffed and everybody is exceedingly helpful, my one gripe though, over the past few years a lot of money has been spent on the hotel, decorating and upgrading so it is a shame that any ongoing maintenance of the rooms seems to be lacking with a few minor problems visibly beginning to surface in quite a few areas but so long as it doesn’t get any worse it certainly will not put us off returning here on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gedb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted you have stayed with us on 5/6 occasions over the past few years. Most rooms have been upgraded over the past three years, and we hope to complete renovation in November 2013.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

i have stayed here a few times both alone on business and with the family the rooms are clean and up to standard, food is good, the location is probably the best feature close to the o2,Ballsbridge,East link bridge and is a nice walk approx 25mins into the City centre also NO parking fees.Staff are friendly although when i called looking for a comercial rate the receptionist was at best abrupt so i now book on line better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Pat

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you have chosen to stay with us on a number of occasions. I will remind my Reception staff that a polite and friendly interaction with the customer is not optional at the desk.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 152 in Dublin
2,536 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
4,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £79 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. Located beside the Aviva Stadium and only a short stroll the RDS. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 169 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Gardens, Meeting Rooms, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing