We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #25 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived 6 hours early for check in but the staff were extremely helpful and more than happy to find us a room so we were able to check in at 9am. The restaurant staff were happy to allow us to stay for breakfast even though we had arrived after the 10.30 finishing time and the manager also came over to greet us. The hotel is a very short walk to the nearest Dart station making getting around very easy. The room was clean and spacious. The only problem was that our room seemed to be situated under a communal area and we could hear loud footsteps late at night and from around 6am above us. However, the staff were so accommodating that I'm sure if we had asked to be moved they would have been happy to do this. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taniab222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would happily return.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited this hotel for a mid-week break very recently. As a regular visitor to Dublin we decided on our last trip to change hotels because we felt that our usual hotel was falling very short of the mark indeed so we decided to trip down the road to the Sandymount Hotel which is very close to the Aviva Stadium. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Beatrice at reception who made us feel very welcome indeed and set to work making sure that all our needs were catered for. Our room was second to none, no expense spared, very comfortable indeed and great attention to detail. The food was scrumptious (I highly recommend the brie and the luxurious seafood chowder) main courses were all equally lovely and tasty, well cooked and nicely presented by probably the best trained restaurant staff I have ever seen. I think this is one aspect (of many) that sets the Sandmount hotel apart from other Dublin hotels; the staff make you feel so special without crowding you out. The bar staff only needed to be given the initial drinks order because they remembered after that so one could stand by the counter and they would ask politely "same again"? this is the true mark of a good barman/woman and apart from our local in Kerry we have only ever seen it in the Sandymount Hotel. I noticed during the time we spent there that the hotel is always busy the restaurant and bar was almost always full with a mixture of business people, passing trade and holiday makers both foreign and Irish and I am not surprised. The staff, however, were more than able to cater for everybody in a professional yet discreet manner and the atmosphere was quiet and calm and comfortable. Sandymount hotel is a healthy walk to Sandymount village which had enough lovely shops to satisfy my insatiable appetite for browsing and also a pharmacy, and at least 2 supermarkets. Further on there is a lovely beach front where we took a walk every day if for no other reason except to justify yet another night of fine dining back in the comfort of our hotel. I could write another couple of paragraphs about this hotel but instead I will recommend to anybody who intends visiting Dublin to give it a try and if you feel like splashing out a little more (not a lot)! treat yourself to a junior suite which is where we stayed however a peek into a double room confirmed to me that the standard was equally good there. Will we be back? most certainly ! and we are both looking forward to meeting all the staff again especially the lovely Beatrice who we would like to thank most sincerely for the attention and for the assistance as we chose a gift from the jewellery stand for a very special occasion!!.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trottertoo-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the local area. Beatrice, who has been with us for 34 years, is an absolute treasure. We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I’ve stayed at the Sandymount a number of times over the past few years, however I’m regularly disappointed and frustrated by the check-in experience which I’ve received.

Overall I do like the Sandymount as a hotel, it is in a good location, the food is generally good and the bar/restaurant staff are very helpful & friendly, however the hotel is currently let down by its reception experience. On my last three stays I’ve had to return to reception each time after check-in, due to issues with the initially allocated room.

On my latest stay, it took me three trips to and from reception (this can be quite a hike), over the course of approximately an hour, to finally get allocated the type of rooms which we had booked. Each time I returned to reception I do not feel that my grievances were taken that seriously or dealt with professionally by the reception staff. Overall this proved to be a very frustrating and time consuming experience which lets the hotel down overall.

When I did eventually get to speak to the Duty Manager at check-out to point out the persistent issues faced, and explaining that I had a future reservation, he did promise me a call back within the next few days after investigating the problems - I still await that call back almost two weeks later……

Therefore if you enjoy returning to reception multiple times at check-in and don’t mind your complaints not being taken seriously, then the Sandymount is a great hotel for you !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRC_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It should not take three trips and an hour to be allocated the type of rooms booked. It is also unacceptable that you feel your grievances were not taken seriously by Reception staff.

I will be raising this with my team to ensure such issues are appropriately handled in future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sandymount. It is a family run hotel (the owner kindly greeting us!) in a very nice location. The dart is only few minutes away, and it takes only 3 stops to reach Tara srteet (Temple Bar).
The irish breakfast was good, but we were surprised to have pay for extra to get our capuccino!!
The room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazminvirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. In future, guests will not pay extra for cappuccinos/special coffees at breakfast.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our choice of the Sandymount Hotel in Dublin for a family (2 adults, 1 child) weekend in Dublin. We originally selected the hotel based on the excellent rate (considering we were were there on a weekend of an International rugby game at the stadium) and the availability of WiFi. We will definitely go back again, though.

Our room was a good size with comfy beds. The bathroom had a shower (GREAT water pressure!) and a bath. The room and bathroom were both very clean and well presented.

Service was outstanding. We were provided with extra towels, a selection of books when I realized I had brought nothing to read within minutes of making a request to the front desk. Papers are provided at the front desk, as well. The breakfast was lovely with a nice selection of fruit, cerels, yogurt, juice as well as hot foods.

And while the location is not the handiest for city centre, it is ideal if you have a car to get around the city or are planning on an event at the Avivia stadium.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Colleen,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you will definitely be back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel in a.great location, next door to Aviva stadium. Looks a bit dull from outside but nice rooms inside. The bar is ideal for a few drinks before heading to match at Aviva. Service was good with quick service.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. As the closest hotel to AVIVA Stadium you can be in your seat minutes after finishing your drink in the bar!

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel and staff were very good the hotel was very close to the Dart station would definitely use again. There are some smaller areas with in walking distance which also have some shops and pubs where you can eat and drink. Worth getting the Dart around Dublin bay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-hotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is a great boost to my staff when their efforts are appreciated.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 152 in Dublin
2,536 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
4,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £79 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandymount Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. Located beside the Aviva Stadium and only a short stroll the RDS. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 169 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Gardens, Meeting Rooms, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing