We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE STAY!”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NICE STAY!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel on our travels back from the South. The hotel appears to have been extended over the years and we had quite a walk through the corridors to our room (224) but the place was clean and tidy and the staff were all lovely and were really helpful with directions and advice. My client booked the hotel so I cant complain about its location as it was handy for their offices but you are a cab or a DART ride from the city centre. That having been said the DART station is only a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

The hotel is adapted from Victorian buildings which leads to an unorthodox layout. It is great for my staff to be acknowledged for their efforts.

We look forward to your next visit to Dublin.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    760
    221
    63
    42
See reviews for
371
746
88
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here the night before the Ireland -v- All Blacks Rugby Match. We were pleasantly surprised. We haven't been in this hotel in many years and has changed for the better. Stephanie, in reception, had a great welcome for us. I thought our room (234) would be noisy as it faced the front of the hotel and was on a busy corridor, but it wasn't. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Although the room wasn't 5 star standard, it was clean and comfortable with all the essentials and plenty of hot water in the bathroom. The bar is lovely and the food superb, the pizza was delicious! There was a good variety of well cooked food for the buffet breakfast and plenty of everything. The best thing about this hotel is its staff - they were friendly and helpful and made us feel as if we were more than just a number on a busy weekend. Of course, the price was good too. The hotel is convenient for town as well as for the Aviva, RDS, Bord Gais Energy Theatre and the O2. I will certainly stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you for your kind review. The beds in the hotel are so comfortable, that I have one at home. It was a wonderful experience to see Ireland going so close to beating the mighty All Blacks. We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Once again, back to my old favourite hotel in Dublin. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough and it's all about the staff interaction, customer service and the ' homely feel'. We had a beautiful meal in warm comfortable surrounds and once again Beatrice ( and she never forgets our names ) was on reception to greet us with a lovely warm welcome and smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneg18063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It gives a great lift to all of us when guests such as yourself return time and again.

We look forward to your continued visits for many years to come.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thanks to the warm and friendly staff and the welcoming and cosy look of Sandymount Hotel I was lucky to experience a pleasant 2-day-stay in Dublin. The place is great and the food served at its restaurant is tremendously delicious. In a nutshell, the Sandymount Hotel is a perfect choice for your trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Carolin

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. It is great when the efforts of my staff are acknowledged.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A pleasant surprise to find this Hotel on the city edge with everything you need and at a very reasonable price considering free parking included.
Reception staff were amazing and even phoned once settled into the room to make sure everything was to your liking. I believe it is family run, and I think this is why you got extra personalised treatment to ensure a happy stay. If you need a Hotel for Aviva Stadium events you are right there.
Dublin city is walkable or just two train stops away. Best value Hotel on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and felt that we were the best value hotel on your trip.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to return to this part of the world where we would look forward to welcoming you.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A short stroll to the banks of the Dodder River and the little village of Sandymount, the enormous Aviva Stadium, the RDS, the O2 concert venue, and the DART, this hotel is a great find in terms of location and high quality of service. I so appreciated the relaxed and very professional greeting at reception (what a refreshing change to be warmly greeting by native Irish at the front desk) and the spacious and comfy room. Not opulent or luxurious but certainly comfortable with adequate cupboard space, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable bed. My room had a bath which was wonderful. The hotel has a homely feel enhanced by a wood fire in the reception room. My request for a double adaptor was met with a gracious smile and one was provided for me to use in my room. Another thoughtful touch is the airport shuttle and there is an airport coach to the airport. Praise to the management and staff on a high standard of service and a sense that you genuinely care. Here I received a warm Irish welcome!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Ingrid,

Thank you for such a positive review.

The Dodder river walk has been recently renovated and is a beautiful stroll. As the only family operated hotel in Dublin, we do genuinely care. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit with us again.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed Friday & Saturday night and we had a great time. We had an executive room which was loevely and clean. It was very spacious and the furnishings modern. The only disappointment was the size of the bed. It was a small double bed and I would have expected a kingsize in an executive room. There was no noise from the outside so it was lovely and quiet.
The food was really nice, Breakfast is nicely presented with hot food, cereals, fruit etc. The service in the restaurant is very good and the staff are really friendly.
Reception is very helpful and they will give you a map and help you get around the city. The Dart train is literally 5 minutes walk away with regular trains into the city and elsewhere. They are very regular on a saturday but there is often 30 mintes wait on a Sunday.
A walk in the other direction takes you to Sandymount village where there are a couple of restaurants and some pubs.
On the nights we stayed, there were matches at the stadium which is right next door. The bar was manic but the atmosphere was great so even if you are not there for the football or rugby (as we weren't) it doesn't effect the quality of your stay.
We had a great time and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: One at the back as it does get a bit noisy at the front on match nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the size of bed. We do have king size in our junior suites.

There are 8 to 10 matches/concerts per year, when there is a festive atmosphere in the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed this. We look forward to your return.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing