We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandymount Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ariel House(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,721)
Filter reviews
2,721 results
Traveller rating
1,352
964
275
79
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,352
964
275
79
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaviva stadiumdart stationmount herbertcity centrelandsdowne roadrugby matchlovely hotelminute walkquiet areahome from homebar foodreception staffenjoyable staywould highly recommend this hotelvisiting dublinbeatricerds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,779 - 1,784 of 2,721 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed in the Sandymount Hotel for two nights this week. Excellent hotel, staff very nice and friendly, breakfast and dinner great. Room and bed very comfortable. Very quite location. Great value and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the quiet residential area around the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay at Sandymount. We were there for New Years and it was probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Friendly greeted upon arrival, even though we only booked a double room, we were given a triple which just meant more space and was really handy. Room service was brilliant, really decent food. Hotel in itself was gorgeous. Reception were incredibly helpful. Little bit out of city centre, 30 minute walk or 10 minutes on the train, but we didn't struggle with this at all, really happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Bethan,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Year’s stay, and are honoured with your glowing tribute. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December when our daughter was returning home from Melbourne for Christmas. As usual the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had 2 rooms and in one of the rooms there was a difficulty with the water but we were instantly moved to another room. We had a little difficulty getting the temperature right - it was too warm. The food in the bar was very tasty and the staff very helpful and good humoured.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget5ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Bridget,

Thank you for your kind review. We did have some difficulties with heat and water but I have been assured by maintenance that these are now resolved. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. It is a great boost to them when their efforts are acknowledged.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and enjoyed our stay so much.For families with active kids who love walking, this is a great hotel as you can stroll into the city centre and you're near a lovely playground in Herbert Park, as well as Sandymount Strand and the Green. The room was spacious, warm and comfy and the brekkie was great! We have stayed here on numerous occasions and at this stage wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when in Dublin. The staff are so friendly and courteous too.All in all, we're looking forward to our next trip already!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted and honoured that you wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else in Dublin. We look forward to having you back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Sandymount Hotel at the end of December. Our room was spacious and clean. Decoration was dull but the greatest problem was the temperature. There was 1 small radiator in it. We left it turned on all the time but it failed miserably to heat the room. Worse still was the bathroom. There was a constant draught coming through the window. Access to WIFI was unnecessarily complicated. We would not stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Decner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologise that our standards did not meet your expectation. We do have supplementary heaters on request, but this is no excuse for inadequate heating.

Our Wi-Fi system was changed and simplified this week.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews