We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,020)
Filter reviews
3,020 results
Traveller rating
1,525
1,052
301
89
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
1,052
301
89
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aviva stadium dart station city centre mount herbert landsdowne road rugby match lovely hotel minute walk quiet area bar food home from home reception staff enjoyable stay would highly recommend this hotel visiting dublin hotel bar beatrice
Filter
Updating list...
1,976 - 1,981 of 3,020 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 days in April during the week before Easter. We arrived by way of the Dublin port and took the bus into the middle of town. From there you take the #4 or #7 bus and get off just past the ballsbridge stop, next to the AIM banking center on the left. Or the easier route is to take the dart train and get off at the Lansdowne stop. Turn right outside the station and follow the sidewalk and the hotel will be on the right hand side. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helped us with everything from directions into the village of sandymount to get a few groceries to bringing us a washcloth. The room we stayed in was a triple - room 216. Very spacious for a European room and a good size bathroom as well. It was kept very clean each day for us - they brought new towels and everything. It was quiet and just what we needed after long days of travel and sightseeing. You can also buy tickets for the hop on hop off bus at the front desk which picks up at the hotel at 8:50 each morning on a seasonal basis. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant for €10 per person. We loved this hotel and got a great rate for our stay - we will be back on our next visit to Ireland!

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesslikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Jess,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Having visited Tennessee myself, it is wonderful to have the opportunity to host visitors from that warm and friendly part of the U.S.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Sandymount Hotel and once again we were not disappointed. Our room was lovely, very clean and it had everything you needed. The breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and it was very fresh. The staff were very helpful and kind throughout our stay.

On our first day we flew into Dublin very early (7am), however our room was ready by the time we arrived. It was very much appreciated especially when we had been up since 2am and we needed a rest! We did eat in the restarant the first evening we were there and the food was fantastic, although a bit pricey but the portions were generous which made up for it.

Once again, you made our stay in Dublin all the more enjoyable and we can't thank you enough.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EC_2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Eilish,

Thank you for your generous review.

We are delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations on your second visit.

We hope to have you back with us on many occasions in the future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we had an excellent time. The bedroom was perfect, the house keeper came everyday to make the beds and change our towels. The breakfast was very good too, eat all you want. The hotel is near a DART train station and the trains go into town very frequently. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. A stay to repeat.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hugo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is a great boost to staff when their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to your return.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a really pleasant stay here - the location is brilliant. It's in a lovely, safe and atmospheric neighbourhood, and just a few minutes from the city centre. Plenty of great restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood and this place would be ideal if going to the Aviva stadium. Canal is close by and herbert park for walks, though there is a small amount of construction on the canal itself. The hotel was just what I needed on the night, good price considering the location and the standard. Parking was safe and secure too. The room was clean and had all the usual needed, tea/coffee, TV, etc. Staff were all pleasant and unobtrusive. Handy options for food and drink there too if you didn't want to venture beyond the hotel doors. The main downer was that it did get noisy at one point during the night - i think there was a wedding reception that night - and some guests were loud as they returned to their rooms. I also got a telephone call from another guest in error and that woke me too. Overall though I'll definitely be back for a good value and comfortable stay in a really lovely location.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellodiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review.

I apologise for your night’s sleep being disturbed. I am delighted to hear you will definitely be back with us.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and daughter stayed for night. Outstanding service. Fantastic breakfast. 5 min. Walk to rail and 2 stations from the city centre. How a hotel reacts when things go not quite right is a mark of a quality hotel. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Clare,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

While we may not get things right 100% of the time, most guests appreciate where we go out of our way to rectify the situation. Thank you for your recommendation.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews