We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #28 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed one night, staff were very attentive on arrival and also very helpful during our stay. Rooms are clean, adequate & comfortable, though en suite bathrooms are best described as 'bijou' to be kind. It's a family-run business, so there is a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The location in Dublin 4 is excellent, and close to the Aviva Stadium DART station for quick access to the city. Free parking round the hotel is straight-forward. Wi-fi was free, and easy to log onto. Also, RDS & Herbert Park are nearby, so a nice side of the city to stay in. Overall, we would definitely come back again for another short stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-the-Dartsplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Dublin.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    721
    210
    63
    42
See reviews for
353
704
83
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night recently while attending something in the Aviva.

Location cannot be beaten 2 mins walk to the Aviva and 3 mins walk to the dart station.

Staff all very friendly and accommodating. They all seemed happy in their work.

Bar area clean and open, cannot comment on the food as we did not eat bar food when staying.

Room was on minus 1 level at the back of the hotel.

Room was clean and modernized with a flat screen tv, bathroom was slightly old looking with old fixtures and fittings but very clean. Only issue was the temperature. The centrally controlled heating seemed to be turned off in this building at approx 11pm and I was freezing/icy when we returned to the room as a result later that night.

It had been "cosy" earlier. I rang down to reception and the night porter offered to hunt down a portable heater and bring it to the room but I declined as it was very late at night and I would have had to get up out of bed get dressed etc to take the heater into the room. I sorted myself out with some extra blankets that were in the room.

The next day on leaving I did mention it to the girl in reception she was very apologetic about this. We were offered a free upgrade to an executive room on our next stay. I would definitely request this the next time or pay extra to have it.

Breakfast was the usual fare and staff worked well considering the breakfast room was full to capacity. Would love to see some healthier options for breakfast in Ireland. We are far too obsessed with the full Irish. Gluten Free bread/soya/almond milk and more fruit/nut selections would be great.

Will stay here again if I am attending something in the Aviva.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinklesplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding heating have been noted, and will be brought to the attention of my maintenance manager.

We look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not my first stay here, at not my last. This is a venue with assets of a hotel but the informality and relaxed feel of being at home and welcome.
Its just minutes from the city, yet in a peaceful area with its own local restaurants and bar. A place to experience the real Dublin.
As a guest they seem to care, not the case with all hotels in the city where you are just another number. So I recommend you choose the Sandymount.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you for such a kind review.

As one of the last remaining family run hotels in Dublin, we like to think that we genuinely do care for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Clean, convenient and friendly hotel in a good location with reasonable rates. It appears to be recently refurbished. I would recommend for a quiet stay in Dublin or if attending an event at Aviva stadium you couldn't get much closer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newry-Traveller-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

My late mother was from Co. Down and always had a special welcome for those coming from there.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I'm only just home after staying at the Sandymount from Tuesday 22 april 2014 until yesterday. This is my 3rd time staying here and booked again for July 24th and St Patricks for next year.
This hotel is 110% better than any other hotel ive stayed in Dublin.
Its right on the door step to the Aviva Stadium and a couple of minutes walk to Lansdown Road dart station to take you into the city centre. 10 minutes along the water takes you to the o2 for concerts. The hotel does do a mini bus to the o2 but on a lovely night you could walk which I done for the Jeff Dunham show.
Staff are very friendly and give you the best warm welcome you could ask for. They will go out there way to answer any questions.
Beds are the most comfy you could ask for. Housekeeper is very good and would go out of her way to help you with stuff for your room. We had our room cleaned every day and got clean towels everyday
Food is off amazing quality and very reasonable. Bar staff are very pleasant and so is the reception staff. Couldn't fault the hotel in any way and I think that's why we are going back.
I cant wait to stay here again in July for the 4 nights we are over for the Garth Brooks concert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Wilma,

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

It is a great boost to everyone here to have their efforts acknowledged in such a positive fashion. We look forward to singing “Friends in Low Places” with you during your stay for Garth Brooks!

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Easter weekend the hotel was very average. The room was not particularly clean we had what looked blood stains on the carpet and tea stains down the drawers. Location is OK for the train station.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise that the room did not meet your standards, and your comments will be brought to the attention of housekeeping.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed one night after arriving on the ferry. It couldn't have been much better: easy to find on the satnav; welcoming and helpful staff, friendly throughout our stay. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable; breakfast straightforward buffet but fresh and full with fresh and dried fruit. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlthepreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you on your next Dublin visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing