We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impolite and unhelpful staff”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“impolite and unhelpful staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were a group of singers (a choir) who stayed at the hotel at the beginning and end of our tour in Ireland. Two of us forgot some clothing at our rooms during the first stay but when we came back to the hotel a few days afterwards the people at the reception refused to help us locate the clothes, didn't agree that we look at the lost and found or see the person responsible and in general behaved in very unprofessional and not pleasant manner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We have a system in place for recording lost property, and unfortunately the missing items were not located. I apologise if you feel the Receptionists were uncooperative, and I will bring this to their attention.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    788
    227
    64
    42
See reviews for
384
780
92
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in the Sandymount for 2 nights at the end of April with my boyfriend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a brilliant shuttle bus service which the hotel operates, making travelling into Dublin extremely easy! Had breakfast one morning and there was a great selection. The rooms were extremely clean and sheets/towels were changed every morning! This is an excellent location, right beside the aviva stadium, 5min drive from the O2 and a 12 min drive to the city centre!! The free wifi is also a bonus! Will definately be staying here again :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyns1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

It is a great boost to my staff when efforts are acknowledged.

We look forward to having you back with us.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Recently stayed here 2 different nights in 2 different rooms. The hotel is nice (it's an older hotel), and the rooms are both spacious and comfortable. We ate at the bar one night, and the food was very good.

While the hotel is nice and the price is very affordable, the location puts you far away from a lot of the nightlife action. You will most likely be taking a taxicab to a lot of Dublin's highlights. I knew that before I booked, and it's not a huge problem. The front desk will gladly call you a cab (which arrives in 2 mins), and cabs in Dublin are rather inexpensive. Less than 10 euros gets you almost anywhere around the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimreepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The hotel is indeed in a quiet residential area and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you be returning to Ireland, we would be delighted to have you back with us.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel rooms are a little dated but very clean. Bathroom spotless. Iron/ ironing board and safe in room. Right on the doorstep of the Aviva Stadium, if you were going to a gig there, this is the hotel for you! We stayed on a quiet night, i.e. no gigs on. Hotel was quiet, what we were looking for though, a quiet night away from the hustle and bustle. Grounds are beautiful, food was DIVINE, waiters were friendly. Bar staff not so friendly but you cant win them all! Parking in the hotel is free and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Susanne,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding bar staff have been noted.

We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We - myself, other half and our 6 yr old son - stayed for 2 nights. Cannot fault the hotel at all. From the minute we arrived to the time we left, we were made to feel very very welcome. Beatrice on reception was one of the nicest receptionists I have ever met. Our little boy loved chatting to her about what he had got up to etc. She greeted us with a smile everytime we arrived back to the hotel and was very helpful when we inquired about tours of Dublin.
The hotel is an ideal base for anyone attending the RDS. It is literally a ten minute walk away and about 5 minutes away from Lansdowne Dart station, which is brilliant for travelling into Dublin.
The Dublin Sightseeing tour bus leaves outside the hotel at 8.50am, I think every morning. Tickets for this can be bought at hotel reception for 19 euro each and kids are free. It does not drop back to hotel though so you will need to get the Dart or bus etc.
The food in the hotel is excellent. Portions are big, food is very tasty and restaurant was busy anytime we were in there - both at lunchtime and in the evenings - which is always a great sign.
Breakfast was again excellent. Staff very attentive and great selection of food on offer.
We stayed in room 101 - one of the family rooms. It is right beside the lift but we did not hear any noise at all the 2 nights we stayed. Rooms were very clean and bathrooms also. They have been described as small in previous reviews but in fairness people do not generally stay in a hotel because they have huge bathrooms !!!!
Al the staff seemed genuinely happy in their work and were fantastic with kids. To me that made all the difference.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel as a family base for exploring Dublin and it's sights.
Thank you Beatrice and all the other staff. I'm sure we will see you all again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayGal801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review.

Beatrice has been on Reception for 32 years and everybody loves her. We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed one night, staff were very attentive on arrival and also very helpful during our stay. Rooms are clean, adequate & comfortable, though en suite bathrooms are best described as 'bijou' to be kind. It's a family-run business, so there is a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The location in Dublin 4 is excellent, and close to the Aviva Stadium DART station for quick access to the city. Free parking round the hotel is straight-forward. Wi-fi was free, and easy to log onto. Also, RDS & Herbert Park are nearby, so a nice side of the city to stay in. Overall, we would definitely come back again for another short stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-the-Dartsplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Dublin.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night recently while attending something in the Aviva.

Location cannot be beaten 2 mins walk to the Aviva and 3 mins walk to the dart station.

Staff all very friendly and accommodating. They all seemed happy in their work.

Bar area clean and open, cannot comment on the food as we did not eat bar food when staying.

Room was on minus 1 level at the back of the hotel.

Room was clean and modernized with a flat screen tv, bathroom was slightly old looking with old fixtures and fittings but very clean. Only issue was the temperature. The centrally controlled heating seemed to be turned off in this building at approx 11pm and I was freezing/icy when we returned to the room as a result later that night.

It had been "cosy" earlier. I rang down to reception and the night porter offered to hunt down a portable heater and bring it to the room but I declined as it was very late at night and I would have had to get up out of bed get dressed etc to take the heater into the room. I sorted myself out with some extra blankets that were in the room.

The next day on leaving I did mention it to the girl in reception she was very apologetic about this. We were offered a free upgrade to an executive room on our next stay. I would definitely request this the next time or pay extra to have it.

Breakfast was the usual fare and staff worked well considering the breakfast room was full to capacity. Would love to see some healthier options for breakfast in Ireland. We are far too obsessed with the full Irish. Gluten Free bread/soya/almond milk and more fruit/nut selections would be great.

Will stay here again if I am attending something in the Aviva.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinklesplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding heating have been noted, and will be brought to the attention of my maintenance manager.

We look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,860 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing