We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic experience”
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandymount Hotel
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I recently returned to this hotel for short business trip and was again very impressed. The staff were so friendly, helpful and accomodating to my request for a quiet room. The breakfast and bar food were of a very high standard, with quick and friendly service after a long day at work. I could not recommend it highly enough for the location, right next to the Aviva stadium and Lansdowne Dart station or a quick, cheap taxi to the city centre. It is always my preferred choice in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I believe I have a fantastic staff, and it is a great boost for them when their efforts are acknowledged.

We look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    765
    223
    63
    43
See reviews for
375
753
89
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A friendly greeting awaits you when you enter this family run hotel set right in the heart of Dublin. Set right beside the Aviva stadium and 5 minutes taxi ride;or make use of their courtesy bus; from the O2 we found thatit is central to everything. Our party of 4 had stayed in 2 spacious rooms- each had a double and a single bed on a Friday evening to attend a concert in the O2. (my husband had forgot to bring the tickets- but that another story!) We had our evening meal in the restaurant and I have to say, my duck with noodles in chilli lime dressing was superb! My husband settled for the homemade burger and chips which he promptly devoured. Our friends also enjoyed their meals. After an enjoyable evening at the concert it was back to the hotel for a nightcap in the bar before a comfortable nights sleep and back on the road home. We will definitely be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_gamble44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your kind review.

I hope your husband is back in the good books having forgotten to bring the tickets!

We look forward to having you with us in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is my favourite Hotel in Dublin. The location is excellent, only a step away from the dart station, the Aviva Stadium and very close to The O2 and city centre. But that's only a location and while that is excellent, what I love is the warm welcome, the friendly staff, especially Beatrice who is a gem, beautiful food, ease of parking, the lovely family run feel and best of all a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneg18063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

Beatrice has been with the hotel for 33 years and should be a national treasure.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow,ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel.The staff were very friendly and helpful. A very good base in Dublin for concerts,matches etc. Easy access to the O2,Aviva stadium,or RDS.
I travelled with my elderly parents and my son,my parents enjoyed it so much that they are going back in 2 weeks to visit more of Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanCarlow_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are honoured that your parents are returning so quickly to us.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time. Rooms are a decent size and bathrooms have shower, bath, etc. tea/coffee in rooms and wifi via bitbuzz vouchers, which works just fine.
Across from Aviva stadium and a short walk to Sandymount green (Mulligans great pub and good food) or Ballsbridge.
Nice enough hotel, no frills, but then again you're not paying normal high Dublin prices. Would stay here again for the value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BizClsDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Ciaran Mulligan lives beside the hotel and owns a great pub. He always looks after our guests.

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Dublin.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was able to be pampered by the incredible staff for almost 2 weeks. The hotel is lovely, quaint, charming and quiet. The staff are attentive and so helpful. Delicious meals and drinks and impeccably clean rooms rounded out my experience. It's obvious that this is a family business because everyone is committed to doing their best for the owners and guests. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Because of the quiet neighborhood I think all rooms are fine. Each room seems to have its own perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaGulia1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are proud to be one of the last remaining family hotels in Dublin, and it is a great boost when guests such as yourself take time to acknowledge our efforts.

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Ireland.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on weds night for a concert (we had stayed before for a concert in the O2 and as they offered a free shuttle bus to the venue we chose this hotel again).

Firstly when we arrived to check in we inquired about the shuttle to the O2, this was still an available service, although now not free and cost €3 per person to arrive at the concert 1.5hrs early, so we walked... We got back at about 11.30 that evening and had a drink which was very comfortable and served by friendly staff.

The following morning we were woken by a knock at the door and a member of housekeeping coming in at 8am. When I went to the door after making them aware that we were still in the room I looked down the corridor to see the person trying to hide down the hallway, I asked why she knocked and she just said oh sorry. Then unable to get back to sleep I got ready and called reception asking what time check out was and was there a reason we were being woken to leave early. I was simply apologized to and that's it. Didn't quite make up for the lack of sleep ...

We didn't have breakfast included but went to the restaurant and paid €10 each for a full irish buffet. Unfortunatly it seemed that €10 wouldn't even buy you a slice of toast - after standing at a 6 slice toaster for nearly 10 mins I gave up trying to get my toast, it seems that the couple that I had put mine in were broken with no signage to tell people. So people were using the other slots as I was waiting for mine, there was never a chance to use the working ones. I approached the lady who seemed to be in charge (short blonde hair) and asked her why there wasn't a label or something on it to tell us that it was broken and all I got was a dirty look while she ordered someone else to get something for a sign. No apology.

No sleep, no breakfast without attitude, I don't think we'll bother again for our future dublin trips. And on a side note, the day ahead was to be enjoyed with a little shopping whilst in the capital, unfortunatly due to the lack of rest, it was mostly filled with sitting around resting. Waste of a day....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbutler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise that the service during your stay with us was not as it should have been.

Your comments particularly regarding being woken and breakfast will be brought to the attention of the relevant supervisors.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Property: Sandymount Hotel
Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The Three Arena is less than a 5-minute drive or 20 minute walk from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. Owned and run by the Loughran family for over 60 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and lunch and dinner is served daily in the Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking our private gardens. Sandymount Hotel has recently finished major refurbishments of all 168 bedrooms, Line Out Bar, Whittys Restaurant, Reception & Lobby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing